The Last Butterfly Hatched by Sunscape

butterfly.jpg

Monarch Butterfly


The Monarch Butterflies never arrived to feast on my flowers until the third week of July. I finally started to see them laying eggs on my Milkweed so I started checking the underside of the leaves daily.

I finally found my first eggs and got excited to start rearing the caterpillars for another season. This year was my third season caring for these little creatures as I found that other insects feast on the baby caterpillars. So, I decided to give them a fighting chance to survive which has been really fun for me.

Young Caterpillars


monarch-7.jpg

Above is a lineup of some that hatched within a week of each other. It was amazing to watch how quickly they all grew in just a few days. They sure can eat a lot for their size. I give them each a new leaf to feast on every morning and put them into the floral tubes to keep them fresh.

Chubby Caterpillars


monarch-caterpillar-collage-1.jpg

As you can see, they are getting quite large and will soon be going into the chrysalis stage. The photo of the caterpillar shedding its skin was the first time I had ever captured the process. It was something to see as it wiggled its body out of the layer of skin.

Final Stages


monarch-caterpillar-collage-2.jpg

Hatched




This butterfly hatched and is pumping fluid into its wings. The caterpillar that has gone into the J formation next to it is not pleased with being disturbed.

Triplets


monarch-2.jpg

I had three butterflies hatch this day which was awesome to experience while another one was going to hatch the following day. All of the caterpillars have now gone into the Chrysallis stage and now it is a waiting game to see who hatches first.

It is well into September now and the days are much cooler with a lot of rain also. Thankfully, I have a hanging Coleus plant that is sheltered on the porch that I place them onto while they dry their wings.

Male Monarch


monarch-4.jpg

If you look closely at the lower wings you will notice the black dots which identify the males from the females. Interestingly, I only had two males out of 15 butterflies this year.

Female Monarch


monarch-6.jpg

This was the last butterfly to hatch and it was a female. She hung on the Coleus plant for about five hours before taking her first flight. It was bittersweet to see her leave as she was the final one. At least I get to enjoy seeing them flit here and there throughout my butterfly gardens. Perhaps next year I will be able to gather even more eggs to raise and release back into the wild.

Sunning Butterflies


butterfly.jpg

butterfly-2.jpg

The last two photos are a pair that I released into my Zinnia garden a couple of years ago. They certainly are stunning creatures, aren't they?

Well, my friends, I hope you have enjoyed seeing another post about my butterfly hobby. I will share more with you all next season, lord willing.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

Superb photography documenting every stage, how wonderful they look prior flight in fresh wings, well done!

@tipu curate 2

Thank you, Joan, for the very nice compliment. I do enjoy raising them every summer and they are so interesting as they go through all the stages. Be well my friend.

Gorgeous to see them again, I did remember you have helping hand toward butterflies in your area 😅

Trust the family are all well, I do see them from time to time when travelling around, they look happy! Obviously you and hubby miss the little one, hope you get to see them all again soon, more travel makes life interesting when young.

You know I love to help out the butterflies every year. I just enjoy it so much! Yes, we do miss the family but we video chat every other day so it is kinda like being with them. We are thankful that we can do that. All is well with us but our new puppy is sure keeping us on our toes. lol I hope all is well with you as well.

Technology makes it easier to keep contact in most places which helps, puppy sounds adorable to have keeping you company in the garden and home.

Butterflies nurtured, set free then enjoy pollinating your garden a sanctuary all of it's own.

Returned after a week away hence late reply, apologies 🤗

Muy lindas imágenes 🙂

Thank you very much!

Wow this is really amazing.

Hi Jason, thank you so much for stopping in to see them today.

you're we;come.

What an incredible experience! The Monarch is a beauty. And now you have wonderful photos to remember

It sure is a great experience that I truly enjoy and I have tons of pictures of them from over the years. Monarchs are so beautiful.

Hi Sunscape

Oh such beautiful butterflies. I love that you care for them as a hobby, that's so awesome. Butterflies always make me smile, but the monarchs are one of my favourites.

Thanks for sharing these with us.

You are so welcome, Emma, I love raising the butterflies and hopefully can have plenty of more years to do so.

What a very cool thing to do! We had a few monarchs and I left the milkweed, but so far haven't found any chrysalis on the barn, which is where we usually find them.

That is great that you can find them, I have to find the eggs and nurture them as I have never seen the chrysalis in nature.

Congratulations @sunscape! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 20500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 21000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022
Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear @sunscape,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

😱 oh! That's amazing! You grow those caterpillars till they'll turn unto beautiful butterflies 🦋 I would like to be able to do that. Thanks for sharing, I loved your post 💚

Thank you so much, hopefully, you can raise them yourself someday.