#2 Michigan vs #15 Iowa tonight for the 2021 Big Ten Conference Football Championship! 🏈

in Sports Talk Social β€’ 2 years ago (edited)

Well, man I am getting excited! I have started following Michigan like two weeks ago thanks to my big bro being a big fan and suggesting I join him in the Wolverine fandom. They beat arch rival Ohio State last week to qualify for the Big 10 Conference Championship. That win was also huge because now Michigan is ranked #2 in the country and can clinch a College Football Playoff berth, which means they can battle for the National Championship!

It's been a real treat becoming a fan of a college team finally. I think it's a really good fit LOL. I grew up playing and LOVING the NCAA College football games on PS2. Those games were so well made! So many amazing memories. I miss them so much, I heard the games will be returning on PS5! I will have to do more research there.

While growing up playing those games, I guess a part of me always wanted to like a team. Now many years later I finally got my team to follow.

  • My bro is a big fan of Michigan
  • Michigan uniforms are iconic
  • I was always a fan of Hugh Jackman's Wolverine movies
  • My favorite NCAA Football game was 'NCAA Football '06' and who was on the cover but a legendary Heisman trophy winning Wolverine in Desmond Howard...

My bro, the legendary game, and the cinematic/comic Wolverine Hugh Jackman LOL.
imgonline-com-ua-collage-sI8wyAV3j76zp8B.jpg
Src Src

I like my reasons behind this fandom! My big bro, that iconic game, and those legendary underrated Wolverine movies! Man I played NCAA '06 non-stop!! Just looking at that cover makes me smile. I'm such a very late 90's/2000's kid LOL.

It's an odd, but really fun task to try and preview a game based on liking a team like, literally a week ago.

So frankly, I'm not going to! Nope, rather I am going to look up a little history about Michigan and share some facts! I think it will be fun to sort of blog my fandom from birth to becoming a bigger, more knowledgeable fan.

I actually had no idea Michigan was such an OG historical college. I mean I know as a college, Michigan is pretty big and everything but I never knew that their football traditions were epic as they are.

I think I want to blog more about their history so I am not going to like write an entire book but I will mention some cool facts.

I think I'll just list some. I love lists.

  • Michigan has had a football team since 1879 DANG!
  • Michigan has won 9 College Football National Championships
  • Michigan has had three Heisman Trophy Winners: Tom Harmon, Desmond Howard, and Charles Woodson
  • Michigan has won 42 Conference Championships

Tonight at 8:00 EST in Indianapolis, Indiana, Michigan takes on Iowa for the Big 10 Championship! I remember always playing that Conference Championship in NCAA Football '06 in that Lucas Oil Stadium Dome, it will be trippy to watch it live in real life in 2021.

I'm sure it will be a tough test, I'm sure Iowa is #15 for a reason. Michigan is looking for it's first big 10 Championship since 2004! My big bro was younger than me when that happened last!!! Before NCAA '06 even existed.

Not only could that drought end tonight, but Michigan has not won a National Title since 1997. A year after our dad passed away. Damn! That puts things in perspective really. My bro has been liking this team for a long time, it's special that I get to join him in the Wolverine fandom.

I'm now a fan of a college team with a rich deep history, and an NFL team with a sort of young history. I like it.

I love that there is blue in Michigan's colors too.

I guess I'm now a bigger fan of Taylor Lewan, the Titans star LT. Also, the literal football GOAT Tom Brady was a Wolverine...

Brady on the left, Lewan on the right.
imgonline-com-ua-twotoone-KCJivapzCDnRUg.jpg
Src Src

Michigan really does have a great, fun history the more I learn/remember.

Let's go Blue!

4637c96ef2c5447383ed0e7be3a43cf9.png