You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Belenenses v Benfica - Where football lost it's color.

I am so glad someone brought this up. Like WTF. I remember the highlights showing up in YT recommended and saw a goal or two before realizing the other team was down by a player or two, I figured it was odd the highlights missed it so then I searched it, and Wow. Like, you scored two goals, that's it. Make it three just to kill the chance of a comeback, I could understand that. But that was like like a UFC fight with the other fighter forced to play with his arms tied behind his back. Such an ugly scene.

Sort:  

It's not about a comeback. It's about showing respect to the opponents. Benfica literally disrespected Beleneses here.

I agree. I was just saying that even if they use fear of comeback as an excuse it still doesn't justify the way they did things. I remember the news of Klopp telling his players to move the ball around and not aim to score more against Manchester United, also seeing Casillas asking the ref to end the game at the Euro final in 2012 when Spain was winning by four. This is just disgusting.

Indeed. What they did isn't fair. They shouldn't have done that. Football is a beautiful game. We saw how the world got together after Chapecoense FC lost almost all of their footballer.