NFL Recap Week 3: Lions being Lions

Football.png


I honestly don't know why I bother half the time anymore. I was all excited to lay on my couch and watch some football this weekend and then they Lions basically did what Lions do. I was really hoping for something better given how poorly my Michigan State Spartans had done against that other team from Minnesota the day before.

In the early part of the game, it almost felt like the Lions were going to have a chance... They jumped into the lead with two fairly quick touchdowns and then it was like they just basically gave up.

IMG20220925141547.jpg


Things started to go downhill and Cousins hit pass after pass and run after run equaled a first down for the Vikings. I eventually turned the channel and instead watched my niece's softball team make a run for the championship in the tournament they played.

Check out my post from yesterday for more info on that.

It is actually a miracle the Lions lost by as little as they did. Four points. They were just four points away from taking home another victory. Instead, they drop to 1 and 2 in what is likely going to be another very disappointing season for Detroit fans.

In other games, The Bears barely scraped out a win over Houston in Chicago. Likewise, Vegas and Tennessee had a close game with the Titans only winning by two points. Will the Titans make another deep run like they did last year? I'm not so sure given how horrible the Raiders have been so far.

Patrick Mahomes was handed a loss in Indy as the Colts beat the Chiefs by three points. That has to hurt a little bit.

Meanwhile, the close games continued as the Dolphins just edged out Buffalo by two points. Buffalo has a lot of hype this year, so losing to a team like the Dolphins that has kind of been a joke for the last couple of years has to sting.

Not that I am one to talk. I am a Lions fan after all. Talk about a team being the butt of the joke....

The Patriots continue to struggle and lost their game against the Ravens by 11 points.

Along with Buffalo, I think Carolina and Jacksonville have a bit of hype this season as well. They both won their games this weekend. Maybe it was the adrenaline from those hurricanes that are heading their way...

Green Bay had a close game over Tampa Bay that was decided by just two points. I will likely write more about that tomorrow when I do my fantasy football recap.

The closest game by far this weekend was Denver over San Francisco. The Broncos won against the 49ers 11 to 10. Talk about a defense heavy game! I didn't watch it, but that had to be a slow rumble of a game. I know the Broncos did pretty well for my fantasy team on defense.

Again, I will cover that more tomorrow.

Anyway, that is all I have for my NFL recap.

The Lions need to get their crap together if they have any hope of doing basically anything this season. There is a bit of talent there, but it just needs to come together in some kind of cohesive form. I am not holding my breath...


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

Sort:  

Have the teams changed much since last season or are the squads similar? Still early days though and any team can go on a run of form with a little luck thrown in to the mix.

You have some players that are injured and new rookies coming in pretty much every year. Sometimes you get a standout rookie, but other times they ride the bench for a couple of years first.