OCD Sportstalk Curation Incubation Update

Hello and welcome to another update for the OCD Curation Program. We are fortunate as a tribe to have the backing and support of the OCD community which is really a special opportunity for everyone to grow. OCD for those that don't know is a curation account that is supported by the community through delegations of Hive Power. This is one reason why posts that are selected meet certain requirements not only with original content but the users put forward also need to be active in the community.

Capture.PNG

Looking at the figures this week the sportstalk tribe has grown by another 34 members. Sadly the interactions are down in a week where we should be trying to do more and more. 205 active users with only 1109 interactions tells us that the average person is doing 4 or 5 comments/replies per week which is not very good. As a tribe we have to do better as there are only a handful who are busy.

This week we submitted only 8 posts for curation with one rejected for having too many rewards already. At the moment I am finding less posts to curate due to so many being illegible for a vote. I still can't believe users posting daily or multiple times whilst not engaging with others. The posts are decent enough to qualify for extra rewards, but the user doesn't. I do struggle with that type of thinking as it makes no sense as $$$ are being thrown away by an attitude of entitlement.

Sportstalk is dominated by football match reports with very little personal input or in other words originality. I find it difficult to submit a post that has no personal input and is describing something 99% of us have all seen. I am here to help you earn and if you don't read the hints I cannot help you any further. Photos need to be sourced correctly without the use of Getty Images and it can take hours to check as there are no shortcuts. Many of you fail the first steps as 99.9% of football images belong to Getty as they are that dominant. Every Premier match they take 1000's of photographs and if you don't believe me go look at their site.

This week there were 2 posts that were worthy of extra curation but the grammar was shoddy with the lack of using capital letters. How does it look if something is highly rewarded with basic grammar errors to an outsider looking in? It tells me whoever is writing these posts is not taking the care and time to offer their best effort and is slap dash. This may sound petty to some but as a tribe we cannot look like simpletons and must keep our standards high.

Over the last week we had @edprivat run a contest that was well received attracting new users to the tribe. This is what we need to be doing by trying different things. If you have some ideas please share them as there is no such thing as a bad idea unless it is really bad lol.

As a tribe we need the older users to step up again please and start writing more frequently. You know who you are as many of you have gone quiet over the last month as 8 posts being submitted in 1 week when we have a target of 35 is not very good.

I am still looking for someone to help me with curation as posts will be missed as we have a time limit these days. Posts need to be submitted within the first 24 hours plus enough time allowed for curation to take place. Even if you can only spare 1 hour per day it is something and would appreciate someone stepping up. If that is you then please drop a comment.

Sort:  

You know what it is that many people don't read this and don't realize what errors they have in their posts. They don't read this weekly summary

I am thinking you are right as what else can you do to help them? If they don't read any other posts as it is all about them then it is their loss.

Engaging with comments some times can be quite difficult as I personally see sport posts where I can even relate with because I know nothing about the sport in question.

That is understandable but we are talking about comments on Hive in general and not just sports. If you comment in POB or Leofinance that still counts as a comment or reply. Many aren't commenting at all which is the problem and why they cannot be upvoted with extra rewards. Just this last week 2 users missed out as the one made 2 comments last month and the next comment was back in January yet they post regularly.

Wow... That's quite far apart. I guess people just create time to post and then go find something else to do offline.

Alright, I have to admit, there aren't some good posts to read this week. I see what you're saying, I think we're still a bit young to create a curation team and a discord, channel, but I think it would be a step forward for communication, we could share quicker a post that needs curation.

Not here to toot my own horn, but I was head of curation for @artzone for an entire year, we disbanded it in 2019 I think, we had a team of curators, doing a day each, but we had soooo much content to choose from, and it was a different time, we didn't have tribes and community yet, but my point is, it might be interesting to have a few dedicated people I would suggest to find few lower rank reps that have the time to spend on the curation, and find a way to pay them as time is money.

Maybe a percentage of the curation post can be a solution, then they copy and paste their posts to you on discord, you're the only one in charge of the posting keys and should stay that way (I can tell you more about that on discord).

Discord can also help us having brainstorm sessions for those interested in challenges, engagement posts, announcements, that bring attraction to the community.

  • Challenges proposed so far: handstand challenge, dancing challenge, yoga pose challenge, show us your daily sport routine, a walk challenge could be good partnered with another tribe.

  • Engagement posts: @cryptoandcoffee creates a post, when he talks about a personal experience, and ask people to talk about a particular experience in the comments, people get rewarded a certain amount of SPORTS for engaging and sharing their stories.

Also keep in mind, that nobody is a journalist, so it's really hard for people to write about sport, everyone has an idea how to write, but then fail when it's time to go through the process of writing, so one suggestion, is giving a tutorial on how to write a good sport article, @ablaze always has a very good article structure, otherwise I don't mind trying to think of something.

Good job oak; it's clear you love this community and are very passionate about it!

Whoever joins the curation team does get rewarded for their efforts and is one perk. WE do have a sports discord already and have had one form the first day. Must look on how to send you an invite and been meaning to do that. I think we are seeing some users returning to the fold as we had another mad Irishmen pop up this week.

It's the first time that I see this kind of report and sounds interesting, I'm trying to look for time to publish here, cause I wanna share what I thing about sports an football player who are in a good moment. I would like to know what do you think of my posts and what could I get better. Thank you so much and have a good day!

I am happy to contribute in anyway :)

Disappointing to see engagement drop down and I must admit, I have been quite here the last few weeks, so will try to redouble my efforts and contribute at least one sportstalksocial post per week and engage with others posts.

An idea would be to share a link to the curation incubation post in comments below posts that fall down in certain areas like Getty images, grammar issues etc..

Hi, I will be really honored to be a part of the curation team. Let me know what to do about that. I'm always ready to work.

Thanks. I will look into it as we are also looking for moderators for the tribe.

I will be honoured to be a part of it and to work with the tribe. Thank You.