My Favorite Sports! - What Are Yours?

in Sports Talk Social2 years ago

thumb.jpg

I think we have a lot of different sport enthusiastic people here. This is why I thought that I share my most favorite sports disciplines and I encourage you to do the same. I will talk about what I most like about these sports and whether or not I have done it myself. As you know it is always two different things to paly the sport yourself or just to watch it. With that being said, I am aware that there are tons of different interesting sports out there that I have not tried yet but I am more than willing to try them out.

European Football

Let’s start with probably the most obvious one. I am sure that the majority of people in this tribe like this European Football or Soccer as many would call it in the US. Why am I thinking that? Well, judging off the amount of football posts I only assume that the majority here is somehow involved in the biggest sport on the planet!

Myself, I was playing a long time as goalkeeper at my local club. This did not only help me to stay fit but also helped me to make a bunch of friends outside of my regular life. It is always nice to meet each other after all those years battling together for points and talk about the most intense moments. Not only that, but football helped me a lot career wise as well!

Because we live in a society where sports is often a topic there is immediately something to talk about and relate to. This helps even introverted people like me to make connections in the working world. Furthermore, it also showed me the side of criticism and not to take everything personal as well as being able to take a joke. It is insane how many people that were not in a sports environment can not take a joke at work!

Racing – Formula One

Another one of my favorites is Racing, more specifically Formula One! By the amount of articles I am posting about this race series you probably already figured out that I am a regular watcher! But this is not the only thing I am doing. Obviously I am not racing in F1 cars, I think my body would not be able to handle all of the G’s but I am always happy to be on a cart track! It is almost a regular thing to go every once in a while and race with my buddies for the win.

Furthermore, I have some racetrack experience with regular cars as well. Nothing special, just a few BMW M performance cars as there are some cool trainings offered by the BMW academy. Things such as ideal race line or drifting are always nice to be able to do and to master. All in all, I would not say I am a crazy motor sport person that has oil running through his veins but the occasional adrenaline rush is always welcome!

Volleyball

Another sport that I was heavily involved in during my high school time was volleyball! It all started with regular 6 vs 6 volleyball but in the past years merged towards a 2 vs 2 beach volleyball setting. I was always very good with hands-eye coordination which also why I became a goalie in the football branch. But I also like the pace and explosiveness of this game. I was never the tallest so I have always played in the backline but that’s where I shined the most!

With dives and quick feet I was always able to get difficult balls and set up attacks. Now on the beach volleyball field I am able to run a lot. Obviously I am not able to block the opponent’s shots but this is why I always prefer playing with a tall partner so that we can divide our responsibilities on the field. I really like that this sport can not be influenced too much by the referee and that you are basically responsible for your own performance. This is how it should always be!

American Football

Another great sport that I discovered for me lately is the American Football, and more specifically the NFL. I can understand why this league draws so many people to watch it. There is a very interesting mechanism to keep the league always competitive and very equalized. There are very little periods where one team is dominating all of the other ones which means that you can always hope for your team to win or at least go to the Play-Offs.

What’s more is that there is almost no chance of time wasting in this sport. If there is, it is designed to be this way. Unlike soccer where you can really get annoyed and stressed by the other teams time wasting, this sport has a clock that does not lie. Not only that but the players that are playing this sports are men like beasts that were specifically trained to participate in this sport. I always envy those athletes!

Chess

Last but not least I want to talk about a different kind of sport that hardly anyone talks about: Chess! I remember when I was little, my grandfather always used to paly chess with me. And I also remember the first time I was able to get a draw from him! It was one of my biggest accomplishments as a ten year old! This sport is all about strategy and thinking forward. As a little kid I was always focused on one plan and never understood why I was never able to win these matches. But as I grew older I understood the principles of the game. How to be able to control the center of the field and how to get every piece involved.

To be honest, I am not familiar with all the different opening strategies and end game match plans but this is not what this sport was about for me. For me this sport was about to adjust your strategy according to your opponent. Always figure out what the opponent is planning and act accordingly. And the most important thing: To never be blindsided by your greed. It took me very long time that chess is also a game of patience and that there is no perfect set up. You need to take your time to insure your move but never make senseless moves as this might give your opponent exactly the room to breathe.

Conclusion

Now I am very curious to know your most favorite sports! What do you like to watch or to participate in? I know that some of you love Rugby and others like the Martial Arts sports. What is it that drew your attention to these sports? 😊

Published by ga38jem on
Sports Talk Social
On 18th September 2022

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ga38jem ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.