Surfing in The Maldives

in Sports Talk Social2 years ago

Surfing is to me one of the greatest all round sports you can ask for. It provides great strength training especially for your "core". It requires balance, determination, style and focus. It allows you to progress at your own pace and the regular surfer never stops improving. You can combine it with friends and vacations, it puts you in some of the most beautiful places in the world and allows you to humbly offer yourself to the mercy of mother nature. Harnessing the power of the ocean for a few seconds of adrenalin rush is quite simply the most powerful experience I have ever had!

When you think of the Maldives what springs to mind? For most people it's a classic aerial view of a resort island featuring the overwater bungalows. You know the kind I mean. Then you think sea planes and diving. Well all these are quintessential Maldive experiences but what most people don't realize is that the Maldives offers some amazing surfing too. Right now one of my good friends is there and filling his insta feed with just awesome photos of perfect Maldive waves. Here he is on a bomb.....

278348062_10160588404264665_1578814965752267863_n.jpg

It got me thinking of my last trip to Maldives to surf there for the first time at one the Island nation's best known breaks. It's unimaginatively called "Cokes" - because there is a Coca Cola factory there. It's to the north of the capital Male and is reached via 2 - 3 hour speedboat transfer directly from the airport. It's one of the world's great waves and seeing it for the first time is humbling. I don't have any pics of me surfing Cokes but here she is in all her glory....

North-male-cokes.jpeg
Source: https://www.perfectwavetravel.com/surf-trips/maldives/cokes-surf-camp

What makes the waves of the Maldives so special is the clarity and quality of the water. I mean it's just crystal clear and you are sitting in the lineup over healthy reef teeming with life. There's always reef sharks and turtles and dolphins all around you and if you have a mask (which you never have because who surfs with a mask), you can put your face in the water and see all kinds of reef fish under you. It's wild. Here is another photo from my friend who is in Maldives right now. This is taken on the inside of the break....

278354078_10160588404269665_9364224660614087_n.jpg

A short boat ride from the main break of Cokes are four other equally awesome waves. One of them is known as "Jails" - you guessed it, because there's a jail on the island. Actually the jail is now gone but the wave is still known simply as Jails. It was surfing here one day in just perfect conditions that a photographer was plying his trade in the lineup. Basically he was sitting about 40 meters down the wave from the take off point and snapping photos of each rider. He then gave u a little wrist band with his website link so later that evening you could login and look at your photos. Then if you wanted any you could Paypal him some cash and he would release the photos for you at full resolution. Here's some of the pics I bought from him....

Maldives surf.jpg

Maldives surf 01.jpg

Maldives surf 02.jpg

There is one downside to surfing in Maldives though. No alcohol is allowed on any of the actual local islands. And so for us surfers that cant afford to stay in a luxury resort or onboard a charted yacht (me and my pals) we are stuck with the only option available - small local hotel on a true Maldivian island. Ten days without a cold beer after each surf session was pretty tough but I guess ultimately that's not so bad. I sure drank a lot of coffee and sodas though hahaha.

Im jobiker - not the greatest surfer out there but trying my best! Would I go back to the Maldives for a surf trip? 100%!

Maldives surf 03.jpg

Photos of my great friend Aloo surfing Maldives used with permission....

https://www.facebook.com/aleksi.raij

Sort:  

I'd love to try surfing and seeing your photos is awe-inspiring, but I think my body is too old and broken. I'll stick to trying to stay on my paddle board I think 😂

Practice makes perfect!

Really Nice pictures! I wish i can practique surf someday since i been doing skateboarding ir would get a new lvl unlocked on the water. Cheers

Falling off a surfboard certainly hurts less than falling off a skateboard!

The Maldives is on my bucket list and at atop resort and no alcohol free cheapie. Looks amazing and the crystal clear water is what is wanting me to go. Can't submit this one unfortunately as you have reached the max for the week of 2. Great topic yet again and so happy you are here on sports.

Thanks @cryptoandcoffee. Happy to be here in the sports tribe. Planning some new adventures soon so will have some more content for you...:)

There is one downside to surfing in Maldives though. No alcohol is allowed on any of the actual local islands. And so for us surfers that cant afford to stay in a luxury resort or onboard a charted yacht (me and my pals) we are stuck with the only option available - small local hotel on a true Maldivian island. Ten days without a cold beer after each surf session was pretty tough but I guess ultimately that's not so bad. I sure drank a lot of coffee and sodas though hahaha.

Ah no shit, that really sucks!! Ye should have brought a bottle of spirits each.

Great surf shots, I really need to get back in the water again!

Bottle of sneaky spirit can land you in jail in the Maldives! Got to be real careful about that. They are fanatical muslims there...:)

Risk it for a biscuit! 😁

Hahahaha - I like your style bro!

I never would have guessed that the Maldives had great surf. I don't know much about the place but i have always had this idea of clear, placid waters with those bungalows that extend over the sea.

Yeah I know what you mean and to be honest that is for the most part true. But it also is smack in the way of the Indian Ocean swell that starts at the bottom of Africa - the same swell that crashes in Indonesia. Crystal clear water in perfect waves. Paradise!

I'm always fantasizing about finding surf destinations that my wife (who doesn't surf) would also enjoy! My first beautiful daughter was born 8 months ago, and so I think future holidays will have to be family friendly as well - would the Maldives fit the bill? I've definitely heard that the surf is good before!

If you have the budget the Maldives is perfect - but not one of the local islands. You need to head to a surf break that has a resort on it. I can recommend Pasta Point. Little bit pricey but the wave is just perfect and the resort is luxurious and serves booze (kinda important right). Have a look at Pasta Point on Google - let me know if it fits the bill. If not I have multiple other suggestions for you in Indo!

Thanks so much for the reply! Ah yes, the problem is I come from South Africa and earn our rather weak currency!

My friend managed to go to the Maldives just for the cliched Kardashian style resort holiday rather than surfing, but it did sound like a crazy amount of our "Rands". He happens to be a financial advisor who earns big commission.

Luckily, here in South Africa we do have great surf all along our coast line and so a 'Staycation' road trip is actually quite a treat! I hope you come check it out one day.