The Pile Of Cow Corpses!

in Sports Talk Social2 years ago (edited)

Im off to Indonesia with my bro for an awesome month of surfing as I wrote about on the last post. All week has been spent getting organised, checking the boards, getting suncream, buying wax, checking leashes and fins. Then there is all the bullshit paperwork around travel these days, covid insurance, PCR tests, vaccine certificates, proof of funds, onward tickets, hotel bookings and stupid location tracking apps to download and register with. God what a total pain in the ass.

But anyway now all is sorted and I'm safely on my way. Stuck in Bangkok for a night due to poor flight connectivity between Phuket and Jakarta (the Indo capital) Little bit of time on my hands so thought a quick hive post would be a good way to while away an hour with a cold beer! Last few days were hectic but I did find time for a final bike ride with my bro Lee lee.

lee 01.jpg

I love riding with Lee as his attitude is just like mine. We don't have fancy bikes or fancy gear. We don't really give a crap about techie bike details, gear ratios, wheel size, tyre pressure etc etc, except having fun, talking shit and then drinking loads of beer after the ride hence negating any of the calories we burned on the ride. On this occasion we combined a final ride with a farewell drink so ended up getting trashed on god knows how many cheap cans of Leo.

lee 02.jpg

As I have said before it seems no matter how many trails I explore on the mountains of Phuket the island just keeps on giving. We explored a whole new area that opened up into some cool views and different perspectives of the island below us. On this ride we found something pretty weird and kind of unsettling - a pile of cow skeletons that had obviously been burned in a giant fire. They were all heaped together as if in some kind of sacrificial ceremony. It was in a very remote part of the mountains up some steep trails that I'm pretty sure not even a motorcycle could get up. As usual we had to get off and push.

lee 03.jpg

Lee in true form said cmon bro - get a photo of me next to the rotting carcasses. He is such a dick hahaha. They absolutely stunk and I just wanted to get the hell out of there. Lee was like dude let's take some bones home. He is a weird friend! Except for that weird find we had a great ride and discovered whole new trails. No more biking for the next few weeks but I will be sure to update you all with surf stories as often as I can over the next month. Pouring rain here in Bangkok and hoping our pilot knows how to drive a plane in the rain.

lee 04.jpg

lee 05.jpg

Heading out to explore the night time offerings of Bangkok but leaving my wallet in the room. Bangkok has a habit of getting me drunk and spending all my money. So I got 100$ in my pocket and thats all I'm spending!

I'm jobiker and I'm vegetarian, I'm going surfing and cant wait! Peace!

Sort:  

Another really cool post and don't blame you for leaving your wallet behind as that is something we all do as overspending is easy when you have had a few.

Thanks @cryptoandcoffee . Leaving the wallet behind is a regular trick for me. You know what they say - one is too many and ten's not enough hahaha.

Love the title! Thx for sharing. Love seeing different walks of life especially when exercise is involved

Thanks wolfman! Hope u dont mind that nickname - I had a dear Austrian friend years ago called Wolfgang - we all called him Wolfie or Wolfman. Exercise is the key to longevity right! For me I cant just exercise for the sake of it though, like going to the gym. I need to be doing something fun, like riding or hiking or surfing etc etc.