You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPORTS TODAY 25th August - 1 HIVE + 200 SPORTS givewaway

At first, I thought it was just the full name for Europa League but it is indeed different. It's a new competition under the Champions League and Europa League. I am not sure exactly who gets to play there. I just know that some teams eliminated from the Europa League qualifiers drop to this one. Possibly national League cup winners also I believe. I'll have to check the details. Anyways, just a third tier European competition.

Sort:  

Oh. Cool. Sounds like a third tier tournament from the European competition. It is really a nice from UEFA introducing this. Guess we will have of interesting sports fixtures this time around and there will games week. Yet to be seen which day of the week they will be played has UEFA champions league occupies Tuesday and Wednesday while Europa are played on Thursday. Would be nice to see how all this is combined and managed.

Matches for this new competition will also be played on Thursdays. I don't know, I think it gets to be a bit too much. Some teams now ranked 6th or 7th in their domestic leagues will be able to play in this tournament. If it keeps going this way, soon, all European teams will have to play their domestic league on week ends, and some kind of european competition mid-week, then their league cup, domestic national cup, etc... Big teams can afford plenty of players for lots of games, but not the mid-range teams I think.

Matches for this new competition will also be played on Thursdays. I don't know, I think it gets to be a bit too much. Some teams now ranked 6th or 7th in their domestic leagues will be able to play in this tournament

Meaning it will be sharing same dates with the Europa league. I feel it is too much too has we will be having lots of fixtures to follow. As expected the other club below the Europa spot. Only make sense that it should be that. It think so too has mid week league games will have to have be shifted. The football management will have to find a way to balance the calendar has other clubs happen to play in local cups tournaments too.

Big teams can afford plenty of players for lots of games, but not the mid-range teams I think.

Yeah, the bigger teams seem to have depth. This will somehow affect other clubs in their performance in the league. I guess they will have to place priority to the most important games