No Fairytale - Still Giving Opponents Chances.

20211004_183439.jpg


It wasn't a fairytale start for Erik Ten Hag as Manchester United succumbed to a loss at the start of the season in front of the home fans. What a way to perfectly describe the shambles this team has been in ever since Sir Alex Ferguson left. There is no place to hide anymore, there are no excuses to give this team anymore other than to call them out for what they are, which is an average team at best.

Brighton has never won a game at Old Trafford and despite giving so many teams their first break to make history before now, Manchester United continued in that same way by giving Brighton their first win at Old Trafford. This is not to take away from the brilliant effort from Brighton but seeing the gulf in class, it's shameful to see that Manchester United were totally outclassed on their turf and with the quality they have on the pitch compared to Brighton. They couldn't even manage a draw.

I know a lot of people would be talking about the non-existent midfield of Manchester United and rightly so but let's face the facts, even with that midfield, with the chances Manchester United got up front, they should be winning this game. Yes, I know the midfield needs to be worked on but nothing has been done to the central role of late, there is no point murmuring over it again since it's obvious the board would rather waste time on a player that doesn't want to play for us than get a creative and controlling midfield to sort this team out for this long season. So, rather than worry about what they aren't doing, why not let's talk about the things we can do and why we aren't doing them?

See Rashford for instance, if I am not mistaken, that guy wasted three glaring chances and if at this level, with his wealth of experience and playing for such a team as Manchester United, he doesn't understand that you don't always have to be at your best to dominate proceedings but at least, be ready to take chances, then Rashford shouldn't be starting for Manchester United.

I am not just pained but disappointed to see them start the season like this. I know the first game of the season doesn't really matter that much as I said in the last post I shared because there are still a lot of grounds to cover but that's for a team that always has good reactions. We know Manchester United doesn't have a good reaction and this is driving away the sense of optimism that the fans would have going into the season while also giving the opposition the ground to always have a go at us since they are being reminded of how we were last season.

There are no excuses for this team anymore and I think most people would have been tired of complaining about the same thing over the seasons and now they just wouldn't bother anymore. I am afraid we are losing the thrill and dedication from the fans. This is not a good way to start the season but it wouldn't matter if only they can have a good reaction in the next game.

Now, Erik Ten Hag would understand that winning those Pre-season games didn't matter that much because it's all about understanding gameplay and building up fitness. I mentioned that also in the series I ended a few weeks ago when I spoke about how each top team fared in their Pre-season games. Erik Ten Hag would now understand the magnitude of the job he has been given because no coach wants to start his new regime in front of the home fans with a loss, especially with the way we played in the first half.

I don't understand how we needed goals and the backline were still passing to each other rather than time a good run. I don't know why the front guys weren't making runs to be picked out also. I don't understand De Gea's distribution too even though we know he isn't the best passer of the ball but when the occasion calls for it as it was required against Brighton, I expected everyone to show some level of urgency and drive the ball forward.

The only thing that came to my head when Brighton went 2 goals up was, "Here we go again... Another season of ups and down with so much uncertainty" and that's the way I am feeling right now with this team. I would just keep watching their games to see how we play each game but it's only the first game, yes, but I am not dreaming of anything magical with this team this season. Let them surprise me in a good way for the first time in a long time.

We go again...


Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love's chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor's order.

Sort:  

I don give up on this team abeg. I don't understand how one team can be this disastrous and frustrating. The reaction from the Brighton coach was even more damning. He just gave the vibe thay beating Utd is usual business, nothing special.

Maguire in a high line is a disaster, McFred are clueless, Fernandes just falls for fun, Rashford and Sancho are nonexistent. Abeg make Elanga no near that team again.

I remember when I told a Utd fan that I'd rather watch Savage and Iqbal in thay midfield than McFred and his argument was that McFred have more experience. I hope he watched his experienced players. ManUtd needs a total overhaul cos even if you have Pep, Mou, Ancelotti, and Klopp combined managing these players, they'd still be woeful.

Only a magician can get this team to compete

🤣🤣😂😂🤣😂 I swear, you spoke the truth and my mind there. I prefer to have those young players there with their energy than two CDMs that cannot even protect the backline. This team is a disaster and it has stopped hurting because I've accepted them like that. They can't even win their first game of the season 😂😂🤣😂😂🤣 what is their business in the league?

See how Eriksen was pulling the strings. If only Fernandes can live up to it at least we would have a bit more threat. Rashford wasted too many chances. I felt we don't need Ronaldo again with his actions and it's sad that I have to backtrack. See how Brighton feared when he came in and that was when we should have taken advantage but does certain Rashford, we couldn't.

Eriksen is a joy, the only thing that was missing was someone doing the dirty work for him. And it got me wondering, where is the high press we noticed during preseason? Did it disappear with Martial or what?

Abi them perform factory reset for the players head? It's just annoying that it seems we the fans see the problems and possible solutions, but the management doesn't.

I go just dey watch their match now like say na Bournemouth I dey watch, no expectations.

🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣🤣😂😂😂🤣 they wanted to impress the coach and fool us and they did. I can't see the team that won Liverpool in that Pre-season. It's so disheartening because I can't understand what the players and even the board are doing. They enjoy subjecting us to this. I don't know their end game.

I watch just for watching. I've prepared my heart and their loss won't hurt anymore...at least not as deep as it used to be.

😂😂😂😂
Heart where we dey manage, dem want come break am give us.

I remember I made a post after that first preseason game telling utd fans not to get carried away because I've seen this "impress the coach" movie before

🤣🤣😂🤣😂 don't mind them. Whatever they like, make dem play. My tired is tired. I won't even be thrilled when they win because they can act up the next game.

😂 😂 😂 😂
The emotions wey I dey use for my life sef remain very small, I no fit waste am

Yesterday's performance was a complete disasterclass. Not in this world i will bet that Brighton will beat this united team in their first game of the season. At least play well in the first few games before showing your true colour.

The worst part is i don't even know if Ronaldo is the problem, he came on and performed well but that Rashford just choose to be useless in front of goal yesterday , next thing i heard is that the club is going after Rabiot and Arnautovic. Omo! I don't even know what to say.

This club is confused. They lacked purpose and they are acting in panic. You read my mind there. I even supported that Ronaldo should go but after he came on, he didn't complain which is strange on the pitch and he even played so well. Rashford is a waste. I don't know what he's doing in the line up. I would have preferred even Elanga in that position.

I don't know what they need Arnautovic for o and even Rabiot...

Rabiot is even manageable, the Arnautovic that's 33 years is what I don't understand

They are not serious, that team. Rabiot is a PSG and Juventus reject. Why would they even want to do business with Juventus with the nonsense Pogba debacle? Man Utd is just unserious.

Even Rabiot is not a good signing to me. He is well past his peak. Since PSG condemned him to the second team when he wanted to force himself away, he hasn't been himself. Just check his performance in Juve you'll see that he isn't the player he used to be.

I wish ten hag well, but these transfers aren't looking good at all, though i understand the fact that lack of UCL football might be the reason why he's going for such players. Who won't want to play for United?...

Marcos Rashford need to be loaned out of the team, to learn outside, maybe his mentality would have change before he come back.

As of the player that want to go, Even Ten Hag has made it clear that Ronaldo can't be a starter for him and I hope this won't affect him because Martial is injured now and I don't see what's wrong in using Ronaldo.

Things can still change, it's just a matter of time, some players still need to be changed, Ten Hag can do it but it would take him time.

You are right. That guy need to leave. Now, we have no choice than to use Ronaldo because he is the only one that can give us that threat upfront. I hope to see what they do in the second game but I have lost hope on anything magical from this team.

Sometimes it's time to move on, and watch those Liverpool games. At least to avoid forgetting what good football looks like.

The rivalry this season will be again between them and the blue neighbors.

!PIZZA

- EvM

Yes, I will just watch football and enjoy the good ones. Let's throw Tottenham into the mix because they will give us good football this season too.

Up the Seagulls! Hehehe

I'm not actually a Brighton fan but I did live there a year while I did my teacher training back in the day so it's nice to see them start the season well.

They sure started the season well at our expense hahaha. I heard it's a beautiful place too. Hoping to visit one day.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@elyelma(2/5) tipped @olawalium (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Thank you so much.

Manchester United started their new season as they finished last season.

I didn't find anything good or new that I could talk about in this team....even the most obvious things in the strongest league in the world are missing...Physically the team fell in the last third of the game....
The Dutch coach must be patient for a very difficult attempt to change the shape of the team ....

This team is too hard to change and he needs patience. I can't even say anything nice about this team too. My tired is tired.