Ernesto Valverde Has Transformed This Athletic Club Team

in Sports Talk Social2 years ago

E1A95EA2-B2FF-4BA5-8FB3-96988E930A8D.jpegscreenshot from sofascore

Well, I usually don’t watch athletic clubs matches unless it’s against Real Madrid. But today someone pinched me and then I decided to have a look at their match. Man I was impressed. I usually watch viva laliga and I listen to the pundits hyping Ernesto Valverde for the work he has done at the club and with the players. They were not bad but they were playing too defensively and even though it helped them most of the time against big teams, it sometimes killed them.

Today I saw something different and I was very much impressed at the way they played the ball out from the back and picked out their passes too. At the back they were solid and they hardly let their keeper face any shots. In the whole match their keeper came up against 2 shots, one in the first half and the other was in the second half.

This goes to show that the loss of Sadick to Real Sociedad has really hurt Almeria in the scoring department. Infact they have not been able to score a goal in their last 4 matches. Atletic club on the other hand have been kicking things off quite well. They are the third best attacking team with 16 goals, which is behind Barcelona at first place and Real Madrid.

The game started quite well with Almeria and possession, they moved the ball quite well and within 6 to 8 passes they were in the oppositions box, Atletic club did well to defend that attack. They took the ball back and within 5 to 6 passes Inaki Williams had a shot which went narrowly wide of the right post. Well, am not surprised Inaki had a shot but boy I was shocked how easily they moved the ball forward. It didn’t take up to 5 seconds to move the ball from the box to the opponents box. When I saw that I knew and then I finally believed Valverde has really done something to change the way these players play.

A combination of Inaki Williams, Nico Williams and Iker Munian can break any team in Laliga. Even though I think they are far from winning laliga, I still think they are close to winning something outside laliga this season. They can even make it to the top 4 by the end of the season. With atletico madrid fucking up and loosing games they can kiss that top 4 spot good buy. Sevilla too is not doing good and I don’t see them being a real contender for that position either.

This is the best ever start that Atletic club are having in 27 years and boy they are enjoying it. I will love to see them cause am upset against Barcelona. They have always been a thorn in their flesh but with the attacking minded football they are playing am afraid Barcelona can open them up within seconds. Well, Valverde is a brilliant manager and am sure he knows his opponents well and won’t try playing the fool by risking it.




This post was authored by rubilu. Get to know more about me from my introduction post hereI am a computer science student attending a university in Ghana. I am a crypto currency trader. I do well with ghe charts, I Iove football; I am a real Madrid fan. I love to blog about football, crypto analysis and anything interesting.

*** I hope you enjoyed reading my post and I will wanna hear what you think in the comments section ***

Have a nice hive experience

Sort:  

Congratulations @rubilu! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Ernesto Valverde is one of the most underrated managers he did a great job during his time at Barcelona. I remember Barcelona only lost a game in one season in Laliga when he was still in charge. He might give Athletic club a chance to play champions league football next season.

Bilbao is different this season...
Bilbao, led by Ernesto Valverde in La Liga this season, is a team that has personality and is able to book a position at the top...