"I Just Want To Go Home" - Alexander Zverev After Indian Wells Defeat

in Sports Talk Social3 years ago (edited)

Indian wells happens to be a tournament filled with upsets as Zverev joined the list.
Alexander Zverev has failed to add a third Masters 1000 title to his 2021 prize bureau in the wake of losing to Taylor Fritz at Indian Wells.

images (36).jpeg
Image source

The German drove 5-2 in the last set of the quarter-last, however failed to convert over his two match points as Taylor Fritz discovered a way far beyond the world number four 4-6 6-3 7-6(3).

Zverev, who as of now has two Masters titles to his name this year in Cincinnati and Madrid, would have been floated by Stefanos Tsitsipas' previous misfortune to Nikoloz Basilashvili, however neglected to benefit from the open draw.

Zverev told journalists

Today was simply not actually my day, frankly. I was near winning, yet the degree of tennis was simply not exactly there for me," .

Today intellectually is difficult for me. My next competition is (in) Vienna. Trusting I can manage it well there, however at the present time I simply need to return home.
It was an extremely long season. I have played well. Yet, this one damages since I realized that after Stefanos lost today, I was somewhat the top pick to win this competition, however my tennis wasn't there yet."

Zverev entered the match in solid structure subsequent to winning 20 of his keep going 21 matches on hard courts, remembering a dazzling Olympic gold in Tokyo recently.
I was having a chat with @erikah on his comment section in his Indian Wells R16 Analysis and he said nobody is consistent in the game and Zverev losing what could have been his easiest road confirms the difficulties in being consistent in high level tennis. You can catch some of the highlights on ATP tv on Youtube.

Written by @Samostically

Sort:  

Congratulations @samostically! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 comments.
Your next target is to reach 800 comments.
You got more than 700 replies.
Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!