My old baby Holden Commodore SV6 Z Series 2013

in Hive Motors3 years ago

img_0.17068167297768633.jpg

Good evening @hivemotors hope your having a wonderful day, another fine day to talk motors and all things cars and beyond. I recently shared a few images and spoke of my previous love whom was sadly taken from me in a T-bone accident that wrote it off.

The image above is of my former 2013 Holden Commodore SV6 Z Series and oh what a beauty it was. I loved this car, reverse cameras, front and rear sensors, bucket seats sports body kit the whole 9 yards. It was a beautiful ride and a great drive. Unfortunately the above image and the one of the crash are the only ones I have. I literally only owned this car for 6 weeks before it was ridden off.

img_0.9984236624452463.jpg

All images sourced

The interior was and still is a dream, I loved the red. My current Wagon also has red lights but not at this level. The dash had a touch screen HUD and you could also access engine information and change settings via it. With only a V6 Engine the fine tuning and fuel injection system ensured the car pulled 210kW at the rear wheels. A little more advanced than my current wagon which due to the weight the engine is still marketed at 210kW but most likely will sit at the 190kW if not maybe less.

img_0.16929576571712981.jpg

One of the things I love about Commodores is the engine bay, plenty of room to tinker and replace or upgrade parts. Makes it easier for people like me with fat fingers 🤣 with the amount of power these V6 engines pull you're bound to have to replace things from time to time. Although a great sturdy engine built for Australian standards but I'm sure GM says the same about making them in America or any other country the engines are sold in.

img_0.9246455423014016.jpg

The arse, oh wow! I loved it. Nothing is more attractive than a nice rear end on a machine like the commodores. They tend to pull it off nice, sporty and sleek with a small spoiler on the back end for the added flair. Although I can't decide if I like it with the spoiler or without. Sometimes just a clean finish looks nicer.

The rear tail lights are also something to admire, beautifully designed and look like they fit right in with the car. Everything about the arse end of this model is on point.

img_0.4302651390119181.jpg

A side glance the car continues to impress with a beautifully shaped body. Hard lines followed by smooth blends giving it both an aerodynamic design and a look of power. I love it!

The car comes with Air Conditioning

Adjustable Steering Wheel - Tilt & Telescopic

19 Inch Alloy Wheels

Body Kit

Leather Accented Upholstery

Multi Function Steering Wheel

Rear Spoiler

Reversing Camera

Sports Suspension

Nothing too major but it provides all the additions for a beautiful ride. One thing Holden doesn't do well is interior fabrics, in an attempt to keep cars affordable they tend to opt for fabric over leather mainly because this car base model would have been a minimum of $35,000 brand new.

img_0.5918271132576662.jpg

For a 5 seater home made car it's a really good price range. Unfortunately these models are no longer being made in Australia, cheap imports have destroyed the local car manufacturing industry and Asia undercut the domestic market offering brand new cars for less than $15,000.

The engines were smaller, the power is gone but the car gets you from A - Z. Now that the Australian market has dried up Asian markets are producing higher performance vehicles and selling them for $30,000 - $35,000 which was my core complaint when the government announced they were pulling support from the car industry.

Aussie made will be replaced by cheaper markets with higher profits, lack of competition leads to consumers losing out.

Either way I'm glad I got to own one of these even if it was only for a short period of time. I still have my sports wagon so I'm pretty pumped.

Do you have a favourite car or ride you've ever owned? Feel free to share it in the comments section below. I'd love to know your favourite car.

Sort:  

Nice car mate, though not 210kw at the wheel's that's at the engine.

Ah yea, my bad. Apologies. Ment engine I think it's like 190 at the wheels?