Introducing - dCity Legends

in 1UP2 years ago

I was amazed last night at my discovery of a post by @jelly13 that almost slipped past me, I would encourage everyone interested to give it a read. dCity is basically the game that made me give up all other games, I only have limited time in my life - am I going to play a game that gives me nothing, or play a 'portfolio management game' that pays me money everyday?

It seems that dCity is not for everyone, but it is a fun enough as an adult (maturity, not sexy) game that I can recommend it without hesitation, frequently and on my blog.

@jelly13's strategy for newcomers interested in the game is by far the best pitch I have heard so far, let me quote it here modified oh so slightly:

If you want to start the game treating it as a gamified investment fund (that's what dCity really is), you should just deposit at Hive Engine (using HIVE token, you can save a lot on fees whenever BeeSwap has some liquidity - other cryptos can be deposited at TribalDEX) and grab a handful of SIM. That alone currently entitles you to 65%-ish APR. Then you can mint a dozen or two random cards and play around (preferably in the Simulation Tab) to balance the population with your jobs. Once you understand how things work, the market is there for you to buy up what you need to reach the city size that matches your budget. Your APR can then go up or down compared to holding SIM depending on your performance.

But that is not the point of this post. I want to talk about the dCity Legends.

These are the masters of dCity, the top players and those with the most creative strategies demonstrating a deep understanding of the game theory behind the cards. I frequently keep tabs on many of them, both through the dcity Rankings, as well as through the market and block explorer. What most amazes me is that many make use their own unique strategies in a game with an evolving meta, with levers that 'change the game' frequently. Not everyone is even playing the same game!

Surely over the years some have played the game better than others, but most participants have likely had fun doing it, even if it was momentary. This is the nature of games, even math based, spreadsheet, token games like dCity.

image.png

dCity Legends

This summer I want to host an event, an event that will highlight and celebrate the best and most creative players of dCity. We may be able to learn something from their strategies and styles of play as well, as much as they are willing to reveal or can be revealed by others about them.

The ways to participate will be the following:

  1. Self-nominate, or get nominated by another person, as a dCity Legends. Those that make the list of legends will be eligible for the Grand Prize (in the works).

  2. Nominate another player as a Legend. Nomination posts will be eligible for upvotes and further curation, as well as HIVE SBI prizes provided by me @ecoinstant.

  3. Participate in the ongoing discussion about what it takes to be a dCity Legend, and which of the nominees do or don't fit that definition. Particularly apt participation in this category will be eligible for upvotes and HIVE SBI prizes.

What nomination posts should look like:

Nomination posts, self- or otherwise, should include at least the following - account's history with dCity, strategy or strategies employed, unique contribution if any to the dCity culture, and a justification for the inclusion on the list of dCity legends.

I don't know the results yet, because I don't really know the qualifications yet, but I hope that together we can express our opinions. As this is the first post of the contest, we can start the discussion here:

Active Discussion: What characteristics make a 'Legend' in terms of dCity gaming?

Go ahead in the comments formulating your thesis about this important topic.

I will go ahead and declare, that I am pretty familiar with the top 4 players in the game. I think there is no doubt that these top four players are legends, although in what order they may appear on any list is not nearly as clear.

These players are @d-pend, @steemshiro, @jelly13 and, well, me - @ecoinstant.

I have previously declared myself to be the 'best dCity player in the world', maybe if only to see if anyone would disagree with me. Nobody did, so I guess this contest is in part my egotistical way to continue my quest to see if that claim is actually true, or maybe more accurately - how true is it?

How long with this last? Deadlines?

I am not great with deadlines, get used to it. I plan on hosting dCity legends as a 'series of smaller contests' within the overarching contest throughout this summer 2022. I hope that anyone interested in this topic feels free to not just participate but to write their own posts about the topic and start their own discussions of the relevant details that are sure to surface as we work our way through this project.

dCity is not my game, its just my favorite game. Its 'our' game in many senses, and I hope you dear reader will take that seriously, along with all the invitations within this post.

untitled.gif

Let the games begin!

Freedom and Friendship

Sort:  

OMG! i feel like a 16 year old girl again!

This will be my first post for a long time that i´ll actually be making an effort to make coherant sense! I´m so psyched, i am thinking since the Top 4 DOGZ have already been mentioned, that i´ll be nominating some nice longtime players i´ve done buisness with @mary-jane , @gamsam , @nervi , @mervinthepogi , myself even as well as @amanda.yrr ...

This is by no means a complete list, just my racing thoughts as i ponder on this amazing idea my man @ecoinstant .

Your friend and mayoral colleague.

MrEythorphoto

I play the game casually, but if I'd have to nominate someone I'd probably go for a past President.

@desyfit would come to mind first, but if I am allowed to nominate multiple then I'd also add in @luca-legend.

Lastly, I think @sketching plays a rather interesting strategy, which seems very Creativity-based ;).

Personally I don't know if I'm playing very smart, but at least I have 11 our of the 229 University Campuses and go a whopping 454 students during the airdrop ;).

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am one of the players that use to focus 100% on #Dcity.
I think you can easily keep your nomination.
I did learn quite a few times from your ways of playing the game.
I am still learning since the change of UI and bring myself back to the top.

I participated in the LP and it is paying steadily.
Great game and I am waiting to see how the nomination goes.

!BEER

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 108 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
14


Hey @ecoinstant, here is a little bit of BEER from @pouchon for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Only dCity...

💥dCITYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY💥

Very exciting

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

No matter how much I vote you, rep stays at -14.34 - this makes me think I don't understand HIVE reputation.

To your point, I agree - I hope to see some participation from you!