Weekly Challenge! Why I miss Centaur from the starter cards?

in 1UP2 years ago

Centaur Weekly Challenge

Official Post: https://peakd.com/hive-13323/@splinterlands/share-your-battle-weekly-challenge-centaur
My Battle Link: https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_21834b10d35d82bfce9d3a520bd161f0&ref=koodies

Lineup

Due to the ruleset, melee can attack from any position. I have chosen Zintar as my summoner just in case my opponent has chosen a team with lots of melee. Next, I placed my optimal damage dealer which is my lv 2 twisted jester at the last position, with lv 2 haunted spirit with healing tanking most of the damage at the front. But what is the compelling reason, I have chosen centaur in this situation? Cause my main damage dealer is a sniper!

filter.PNG

As you have seen from the filtered table from my https://koodies.github.io/splinterlands-tools/. Here’s are some of the choices I can have in my team for my 2nd sniper.

Dwarven Wizard and Magi Necrosi are out as both of them are epic rarity and I do not own them. Therefore I am left with the choice of Death Elemental, Centaur & Mantoid.

First I compare Centaur & Mantoid as both of them are ranged. The main reason why centaur was picked out of these 2 is due to its speed advantage and it’s definitely not worth my 2 mana just to have extra health and attack but lesser speed.

Lastly, I did a quick comparison between death elemental and centaur. Death element is a magic dealer that’s a plus but Centaur is a better option due to the speed & health, choosing between Death Element who is 1 mana difference, is worth it.

Therefore I concluded that Centaur can be use a tank as it got health and speed, in the situation where my first few cards are wiped. Centaur is the best option to absorb the damage before my Twisted Jester is exposed.

lineup.PNG

What I did not expect!

Welp! The lv 3 Centaur having a higher speed than lv 2 Twisted Jester allowed my team to deal more damage. If I had an lv 1 Centaur, which has a similar speed as my Twisted Jester, it probably will not be able to clear the shields to allow my jester to fully damage the opponent cards.

Replacement for Centaur?

None; there is no replacement for Centaur. The only way is to not utilize centaur and change my strategy to using sneak with an lv 1 Silent Sha-vi couple with my lv 3 Undead Badger which will have a higher speed and include a total of 3 mana replacement to protect my undead badger.

If you will like to try out the game here’s my referral: Koodies

Link to my slight tweak on kiokizz splinter tool: Splinterlands Tools