You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Foxon's Home Automation Hardware List

in Smart Home4 years ago

I like your distinction between Smart Home and Home Automation. I do not have anything in the SH category at this time and the only HA device came with the house a smart WiFi thermostat and have not dug into if I can control in locally instead of the cloud. I do have a number of Raspberry Pi's doing temperature monitoring to a database which could eventually be part of HA.

Sort:  

From your Pi posts, I kind of assumed you would already have a sweet home automation setup 😄

If you get into it, I def recommend having a Pi to act as the home automation server. Having as much control as possible locally is a big convenience, and programming in something like OpenHAB is a blast

Thanks, for checking out my channel. Yes, I might get there and would definitely run the server on a Raspberry Pi. Would probably start with HA, but being currently unemployed money is short for learning(playing).