Basic tomato sauce and pasta with mushrooms and spinach

in Qurator4 years ago

DSC_4269.jpg

It's tomato season in Canada and the north areas. I am always inspired at this time to cook basic tomato sauce for pasta.

The thing is that I left a garden full of tomatoes behind, when we moved from Marc's parents and they don't use them. I have no time to get them and it's too far to go when I work six days a week.

I have used canned tomatoes for this sauce even though the market has fresh tomatoes, I bought canned from the store across the street.

If you are like me and need convenience, you can still make a good base sauce with canned tomatoes.

I started with browning some onion, garlic celery, carrots and parsley. You can just roughly chop them or like myself, grind them up.

DSC_4052.jpg

Once they are cooked add the tomatoes. I used three large cans.

DSC_4054.jpg
After the sauce has simmered blend it. I used a hand held emulsion blender

Basic tomato sauce

Canned or fresh tomatoes equaling around three litres
1 large carrot
2 stalks celery
1 large onion
5 cloves garlic
1/2 bunch parsley
1 tablespoon oregano
1 teaspoon thyme
pepper
salt to taste
1 tablespoon sweetener

From this sauce you can make other sauces by adding other items.

DSC_4095.jpg

DSC_4252.jpg

I don't often eat wheat pasta but I do sometimes and this time it was made with the tomato sauce. I added mushrooms, and spinach which were cooked separately in a pan with onions and garlic.

DSC_4257.jpg

The tomato sauce is heated separately then the spaghetti is tossed and coated in it.

DSC_4261.jpg

When the noodles are coated add the mushroom and spinach.

DSC_4263.jpg

This is vegan so there was no cheese in it. I could have added vegan parmesean which can be made with ground almonds, salt, and nutritional yeast.You can purchase this in stores these days. I am not a fan of vegan cheese so I do without. I added a little basil pesto to the plate.

I love basil so I often make pesto from it. The garden that I left behind had some rather horrible basil plants so even if I could get to that garden, I wouldn't get anything from it.

That's when store bought basil does the trick. It is such a simple thing to whiz up in a blender.

Basil pesto
2 bunches basil
1 cup of walnuts or pine nuts or cashews
4 or 5 cloves garlic
juice of 1 lemon
1 cup olive oil or more to blend to a desired consistency
salt to taste

If you want a oil free pesto you can use soft tofu or just more lemon, nuts and some water.

DSC_4058.jpg

DSC_4061.jpg

DSC_4267.jpg

Have a good week everyone!

Sort:  

Wonderful!! Lucky I just had my dinner!

Cheers.

I am sure you had something so much more tasty!
Cheers to you too!

Not really! I eat very bland food as I cannot take chili nor salty food!

And I am not good at cooking!! My attention was elsewhere! Bad habit!

Bella, la Pasta!
You would make this half Italiano eat them Spaghetti ;)
Also the tomato sauce looks very yummy...oh my food is ready, let's eat..haha ;)
Greetings!

Hello hello! I am thrilled that this is, half Italian approved haha.😃
Thank you my friend!

You're welcome Carolyn ;)

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @ashikstd & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Yummy food my friend!

Thank you my dear!!!😊

A basic tomato sauce is a must have in any vegan cookbook. It was the first thing I taught my son when he was learning, as it's the base for so many recipes.

I love to layer different sorts of tomatoey flavour as I go - sundried tomatoes, tomato paste, fresh tomato, tinned tomato, smoked paprika, roast capsicum - but that's when I'm really taking my time. Plus a generous dollop of red wine, some for me, some for the pan :P

this looks delish - you always present your meals so beautifully.