Cooking taro root tofu curry at the park

in Qurator4 years ago

DSC_1991.jpg

It was a tense day in the household. A day after we walked out the night before because of mother in-law crabbiness. We were determined to cook something that I had purchased a few days prior. It was taro root. I had never cooked taro ever before although I have eaten it a few times. I've had taro chips and plainly cooked taro a couple of times so this would be an experimental concoction.

We didn't quite know where we were going with this so we took everything out of the fridge that I had purchased, along with a chayote from the same store as the taro. We took tofu and all of the spices.

There were quite a bit of things to haul including our camping stove and a few tools.

Taro root is very slimy after it's peeled, so I rinsed it with some water that I brought along.

DSC_1978.jpg

I used a steak knife to chop everything. I chopped up one onion, 2 roma tomatoes, five cloves of garlic, around a teaspoon of ginger, some hot pepper fresh and dried, and some cilantro.

DSC_1983.jpg

The tofu, taro , carrot and chayote were cubed and I since I only had a small pot and a small pan I first boiled the taro, carrot, and chayote until everything was tender then I took it off the burner to saute the other items.

DSC_1984.jpg

DSC_1987.jpg

DSC_1988.jpg

I threw in some shredded cabbage, and the spices I chose were paprika, toasted cumin and coriander. I happened to have my Jamaican curry with me so I added around a tablespoon of that along with 1 tablespoon of soy sauce, and a tablespoon of vegetable soup broth powder. The pan was full but I managed to fold in a portion of the taro,and chayote. Then it simmered for a while and turned off the stove to let it sit.

We were in a bacci ball court and a couple of old guys were in there so we hoped they would leave before we started eating. They didn't.

DSC_1989.jpg

DSC_2001.jpg

We felt pretty weird cooking in a park which is why we waited but eventually we turned the stove back on which was kind of hidden on the seat attached to the table.

Finally we ate. Since there was some taro and chayote left in the boiling pot we just added it to each plate.

DSC_2002.jpg

I happened to have peanuts with me so they went on top with a squeeze of lime.

DSC_2005.jpg

It was a shame to eat something so delicious on plastic plates. I now am a new huge fan of taro root. I have missed out all of my life and when I have an urge for potatoes I will consider taro root as a replacement. There is something about it.

Well I have to go now to my first day on the job. I have to walk two hours to get there. It's the vegan restaurant that I worked at before I quit and went to Asia for four month.

Sort:  

Upvote

Thank you very much!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @sajannair on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png