Mushroom blackbean tamales with mole sauce-Hive top chef

in Qurator2 years ago

DSC_7743.jpg
This weeks topic on Hive Top Chef we have the topic of Steamed which reminded me of what I have wanted lately which are tamales.

I had first heard of tamales when I was on a road trip to the Texas many years ago. I saw signs all over saying "tamales" and wondered what this was. I had only had candy that was called tamales.

On this trip, I never had tamales, even though we crossed the border to Mexico for the day. We did not eat there. It wasn't until a few years later when I went to Mexico for a real vacation, that I tried a tamale. I believe it was chicken. It was love at first taste.

I have had tamales a few times in Mexico since then, and have made them two times myself.

This is the first time I have used a special flour made for tamales. I have only used masa for tortillas which worked well. This was at the Mexican grocer so I thought I would use this instead.

DSC_7677.jpg

Tamale dough
3 cups masa for tamales
3 1/2 cup water or vegetable btoth
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 cup vegetable shortening (or oil)
1 teaspoon salt

DSC_7680.jpg

I don't have a stand mixer so I used a whisk to beat the vegetable shortening first.

DSC_7684.jpg

I added the vegetable broth little at a time until it formed a soft dough. There are different preferences to the consistency of the dough. I just went for softer than bread and stiffer than cookie.

DSC_7700.jpg

Let it sit for a while then form a ball on the banana leaves. I just chose a size and went with it.

DSC_7702.jpg

Some people use their hands to flatten the dough before filling and some use a tortilla press. I don't have a tortilla press so I used a plate gently pressing down with plastic on top of the dough. You could use parchment paper as well.

DSC_7709.jpg

I had already prepared the filling which was mushroom and black bean.

Filling
3 large portobellos
1 small onion diced
4 or 5 cloves garlic minced
2 jalapeno peppers
2 serrano peppers
Handful chopped cilantro
Juice of a lime
Salt and pepper to taste

I was given portobellos which are not my favourite but they were a gift from my partner's mother. She's a senior and always likes to give a parting gift when we visit. I decided to add them to the filling.

DSC_7621.jpg

I threw them in the processor to roughly grind.

DSC_7636.jpg

This was going to be simple because of the sauce that I would add later.

DSC_7626.jpg

The black beans were from a can. I often soak and cook them but not this time.

DSC_7637.jpg

I love spice so I chose jalapenos and serranos to give it some heat. It had a nice kick for us but some folks I know wouldn't be able to handle it. It was not too spicy for us. Serrano peppers are more spicy than jalapenos so if you don't like the heat from peppers you could omit those or all of them.

DSC_7640.jpg

I started by cooking the onions and garlic then peppers in a hot oiled pan.

DSC_7647.jpg

I chopped up some coriander and threw that in. There are some herbs that are popular in Mexican cooking. One is epazote and hoja santa which I don't like. I like almost every herb but not those. I used cilantro which was quite satisfactory.

DSC_7668.jpg

I added tomato paste at the last minute to thicken and add a little extra flavor and acid.

DSC_7673.jpg

I applied the mix to the pressed down masa dough.

DSC_7715.jpg

Usually tamales are steamed in corn husks but the Mexican grocer was out of them. I chose banana leaves instead. I have no experience with those but the Mexican grocery guy said he prefers banana leaves for tamales.

DSC_7719.jpg

I went by feel when I packaged these. I am no expert at this but I figured as long as it's held together that's all that matters. I know many Hive chefs here know exactly what to do with banana leaf package cooking.

DSC_7725.jpg

I have a bamboo steamer, an electric steamer and a cheap folding metal steamer like this which is what I chose for simplicity. I cooked them for over an hour.

DSC_7729.jpg

I chose to make a Mexican inspired mole sauce This was made before the tamales.

There are many kinds of mole sauces from Mexico. They can be really complex. The ingredients can go over 5o items. Each region and family can have their own style. It can take days to make for some who have time and tradition, and good cooking facilities. Mine is in the style of a Canadian cook with a studio apartment.

I have chosen what may be called a red mole. Like a black mole, it contains a magic ingredient. Chocolate.

Mole sauce
2 guajillo peppers
3 ancho peppers
2 pasillo peppers
4 tomatoes
10 small tomatillos
1 onion
7 or 8 cloves garlic
1 plantain
1 teaspoon cumin seeds
1/2 teaspoon whole coriander
1 teaspoon peppercorn
2 whole cloves
5 allspice berries
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon thyme
1 cup almonds
1 cup pumpkin seeds
1 cup sesame seeds
1 cup raisins
1/4 cup cane sugar
75 grams dark chocolate
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1 litre vegetable stock
Salt to taste

DSC_7558.jpg

One of the key ingredients to this mole is the dried peppers. I have chose popular peppers for mole sauce, which are not really spicy. They have a nice deep smokey flavor.

For the whole spices I toasted them in a hot pan then ground them with a mortar and pestle.

DSC_7561.jpg

The green tomatillos are very much like a tomato that looks just like a green tomato. It has a husk on it when it grows. I bought these without the husk. They do have a different flavor then an actual unripe green tomato. It's not easy to find but I have a Mexican grocer down the street. I also have a few little stores that sell exotic imports.

DSC_7546.jpg

I have chosen a few nuts and seeds often used in mole sauces. These help to not only flavor but to thicken the sauce.

DSC_7551.jpg

Mole sauce is not only savoury but also sweet without being obvious. It shouldn't taste like a desert. I have used raisins in addition to plantains.

DSC_7566.jpg

I put the tomatoes in a hot oiled pan to roast with half the onion.

DSC_7575.jpg

When it was cooked I removed the skin.

DSC_7581.jpg

I did the same with the tomatillos but didn't remove the skin which doesn't loosen.

DSC_7578.jpg

I separately toasted in oil, first the nuts, then the seeds and plantains and raisins.

DSC_7602.jpg

The traditional mole sauce can often have tortillas, animal crackers or Mexican bread bread. I just used a slice of bread. This is to thicken the sauce.

DSC_7605.jpg

I don't have a big blender so I started grinding the ingredients in a processor.

DSC_7607.jpg

After I used a small blender a bit at a time. It should be nice and smooth so you can add water or broth, adjusting the seasonings as you go.

DSC_7612.jpg

After its blended add it to a hot pan covered in oil. This splatters so have a cloth ready.

DSC_7613.jpg

I added more cocoa powder, sugar, and salt as it cooked.

DSC_7604.jpg

Then I added the chocolate. It was cooked down by simmering for a while until thicker.

DSC_7615.jpg

Before I added it to the dish I blended it again for extra smoothness.

DSC_7751.jpg

This was the sauce I chose because I really like it but any salsa would do.

DSC_7736.jpg

I don't eat dairy so I made a vegan cream from soaked cashews, lemon juice, nutritional yeast, and salt. This is simple but a nice addition.

DSC_7745.jpg

Sesame seeds are a nice addition to the tamales when they are smothered with mole sauce.

DSC_7756.jpg

Mole sauce is not a requirement for tamales but I decided to do this because I really like it. If you don't feel like doing so much work for a mole sauce, there are really good ready made ones that you add liquid to. Many households in Mexico use them.

DSC_7771.jpg

Thanks for dropping by.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

I have a bone to pick with you. Can you NOT post mouth watering recipes just before I'm about to cook dinner? Here i am thinking we'd just do rice and some gingery bok choy, something simple for tea - and now you have me wanting to source ingredients for mole. I've never made it and I'm 100 percent going to research all this now. I think the only time I had mole was on my 21st with a hangover and that was a very very very long time ago. Let alone this steamed wonder tamale that I've also never tried. Damn you.

Hahaha!!!! I really right now would do anything for some of that gingery bok choy. Just came home from work and starving but too tired to cook. Rice and bok choy is perfect so I'll trade you for some leftovers haha.

Yeah it was a case of no food and wanting something quick and simple!

It's past my bedtime here and now you've made me feel like a midnight snack, except I don't have anything like this dish, it looks soooo good Carolyn!

Haha but you have many delicious things I know that! Thanks though😊

Wow! I am hungry now! Also sleepy! LoL

You are very creative with food!

Thank you. I am sleepy too and hungry but I have to go to work soon😗

Oh! I hope you could manage to eat something nutritious before going to work! You are working too hard!

Have a mini holiday soon!
Come to Thailand!

I had a lettuce salad and leftover soup. Yes I'm working too hard so today life slowed me down with an accident. I stood on a crate to grab something above the shelf and it slipped out from under my foot and I hit the sink with my ribs. I lost my breath for a few seconds. It's like someone hit me in the ribs with a baseball bat. I don't go to doctors so I just kept going with my shift. Anyone else would have gone to the hospital but I trust in the healing power of my body.

Yes I will go on a mini holiday on my days off. How did you know? We are going camping. I can get away from downtown finally after years.😌

Oh! Goodness! That was a drastic accident to slow you down! You’ve probably fracture some ribs! But they will heal so please don’t lift anything heavy for a while. No strenuous bending, no pressure on your shoulders! No laughing too! Just smiling would be okay!

I don’t know how the psychic ability works, the mechanics are beyond my understanding. But all my inner circle of friends was quite scared by my spot on predictions and ability to read their mind. I think they were exaggerating things quite a bit as it’s a natural part of my being. I don’t have to intend to be psychic; I just know and see things from the past and future at times. They would come when I need the knowledge, to survive and avoid danger.

There’s a purpose to this gift and other hidden abilities which an old healer told me years ago that when the time came I would know what to do. So I should just live my life normally. My friend said I could have made a lot of money from rich people and became famous. That sounded very distasteful to me! I just wait for the final chapter of my destiny in this lifetime.

Have a wonderful holiday!
Enjoy life while we still can!

Yes I have to not lift anything and it does hurt when I laugh or cough or breath deeply but I am finished tonight and leaving tomorrow to connect with the tree spirits.

Your philosophy is perfect.🙏

My word, that sounds so delicious!
Interesting combination of flavors, especially with the addition of chocolate. Nice ❤️🤗💕🤗🤗❤️

The chocolate in Mexican cooking is very common for these things. Thank you so much!😌


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Super yummy!😋

Thank's a million!😊

You're welcome!😉

These tamales look SO beautiful and yummy! I love all the ingredients and Your photos look stunning! 😀

Ahh thank you so much. It's a once in a while thing so I try haha.😌

As always your dishes never fail. This time, this one, so full of color, I love it. after seeing this post I had to go to the kitchen to prepare myself some breakfast hahaha

Haha that's what happens to me when I look at Hiver's food. You're too kind thank you.

Hi @carolynstahl, you are working so much on preparing this recipe with so many ingredients. sure it tastes delicious. good work friend.❤️

On my days off I like to make something special instead of a quick plate of cold leftovers after work haha.

Thanks so much my friend.

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 8750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 9000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you!

You're welcome @carolynstahl! Have a nice day 😊👍🌹

My goodness Carolyn dear, you made another masterpiece again!!!.. I am extremely interested about that tamales and the mole sauce since I haven't eaten those yet. Thank you for sharing.

I have spent much time in Mexico and ate those kinds of foods so I have an understanding for them. Most people in Canada have never tried these or the sauce so you're not alone.

Thank you so much my friend!

OMG! I loved this version of tamales!!! It is a very typical food from the city where I was born, instead we wrap it in corn husks. But this souce! how original!!! I have to try this recipe!!!
Thanks and congratulations!!

Thank you but the sauce is not original at all. It's eaten all over Mexico and the tamales are usually in corn husks but they ran out at the Mexican store. I am fairly new at making tamales. I would love to try the ones you had in your birth city. Veganized of course hahah.😊

I had no clue how involved the process is to make mole sauce! Your final plated tamales look wonderful, though! You definitely have a gift with making presentations! Bravo! 💜