Mushroom Eggplant Pate Hive Top Chef

in Qurator3 years ago


DSC_2461.jpg

This is my entry to Hivetopchef This weeks theme is vegetarian.

As a child I hated liver like most children I knew but somewhere in my young adulthood I was introduced to liver pate. I had always enjoyed it at a party when it was served with crackers or bread. Usually it was accompanied with a glass of wine.

After I stopped eating meat and poultry I discovered veggie pates in almost every grocery store. Even my meat eating friends liked it.

When I first made one myself, I realized I liked it more than the store bought and was a lot less expensive.

DSC_2293.jpg

There are many ingredients you can choose but for this one I chose a mix of mushrooms, eggplant, onion, garlic, cashews and walnuts.

DSC_2300.jpg

I roasted everything except the walnuts in the oven first. I could have roasted the walnuts for maximum flavor but I didn't think about it until it was too late.

DSC_2333.jpg

Veggie pate
1 eggplant roasted
1 onion roasted
1 portobello mushroom roasted
2 cup cremini mushrooms roasted
1 cup shitake mushrooms roasted
3 or 4 cloves garlic
2 cups walnuts
1/2 cup cashews soaked
1 teaspoon dried sage leaves
1/2 teaspoon thyme
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 tablespoon maple syrup
1/4 teaspoon liquid smoke
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
salt and pepper to taste
juice of half a lemon
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

1 tablespoon vegan butter melted

Grind all of the ingredients together in a food processor except for the butter

DSC_2352.jpg

I melted butter to pour on top to kind of simulate a foie gras which is something I have never consumed.
DSC_2341.jpg

Not great for the waistline but it adds to the flavor especially when you spread it on hot toasted bread.

DSC_2382.jpg
I had a jar of capers in the fridge so I added those on top to get a little French flair going. Shh don't tell a French culinary expert, they may not approve. Sometimes there is no rhyme or reason to the things I do in the kitchen.

DSC_2489.jpg

I toasted some awesome multigrain bread in the oven. I don't have a toaster but I really like oven toast better.

DSC_2493.jpg

I couldn't help but smother it with extra black pepper.

DSC_2491.jpg

I made a snack plate for myself and Marc had the rest.

DSC_2499.jpg

Sort:  

This is very good recipe! I will have to try this one day!

Cheers.

Thank you and cheers to you too!

This recipe looks amazing!! I am going to give it a whirl this weekend! I don't have a toaster either. LOL People think I am weird. I live oven toast better.

Thanks for the recipe and good luck with the contest!

Thank you @dswigle! Toaster ovens are definitely over rated haha!

This is delicious again!! You are a great chef my friend 👍. !wine


Cheers, @sreypov You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @carolynstahl.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 0.000 HIVE

Thank you. I think the same of you dear!

Wow - looks great! Funny, I've been reading SOOO many recipes that call for walnuts and my husband can't eat them. I wonder if pecans would be an adequate subsitute.

Thanks @riverflows! I've made this with lentils and sunflower seeds. I just switch it up sometimes. Pecans are even better but more expensive in our neck of the woods.

Hello @ carolynstahl your recipe looks very delicious and the photos are very beautiful!!!

I really appreciate your lovely comment thank you @adonisr!

This pate looks and sounds absolutely delish! I know I keep on saying it, but your Marc is a lucky man indeed, your food ALWAYS looks amazing!

Haha thanks @lizelle, I think Marc takes it for granted. Your family are also lucky.

Thank you my friend.