Pickled grapes on vegetable pate crostinis Hive Top Chef

in Qurator4 years ago

Untitled1.jpg


When I saw that this weeks theme for @qurator's #hivetopchef was pickled I was inspired to do something that I don't do in the kitchen. I have never been a canning pickling person. I've always admired people who did.

When most people think about pickles in North America they usually picture the cucumber, which is usually called a dill pickle. The old fashion bread and butter pickles are fun in a burger or a sandwich.

I decided to pickle some grapes and give fruits a chance, in a sweet pickle brine.

DSC_6355.jpg

Pickled grapes
1 pound seedless grapes
1 cup red wine vinegar
1 cup cane sugar
1 teaspoon mustard seeds
1 teaspoon black peppercorns
1 cinnamon stick
1 piece whole clove
1 bay leaf
1 dried chili
1 teaspoon coarse salt

Cut the ends off the grapes. This is something that is probably not necessary but I wanted to make sure the brine was absorbed. Boil the ingredients together to make sure the sugar is dissolved and the flavors of the spices are seeped into the brine.

DSC_6360.jpg

DSC_6389.jpg

DSC_6413.jpg

Place the grapes in a jar and pour over the liquid.

DSC_6414.jpg

I let them cool then put them in the fridge overnight. It was my intention to make a veggie pate out of portobello mushrooms, red pepper, eggplant, sundried tomatoes and walnuts, and put the pickled grapes on top.

grapes.jpg

Vegetable pate

4 portobellini mushrooms roasted
1 red pepper roasted
1 eggplant roasted
2 tablespoons sundried tomato puree
1 cup walnuts
4 cloves garlic roasted
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon sage
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon thyme
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
Salt to taste.

After roasting the eggplant, pepper, mushroom and garlic bulb (I didn't use the whole thing), add sundried tomatoes and put in a food processor until it looks like a spreadable pate. I blended the walnuts separately first.

I had some whole grain bread that I turned into crostini. I decided to make them round by cutting them out, then putting them in the oven to toast and get crunchy.

DSC_6496.jpg

When they were done they were spread with the pate then garnished with the grapes and some tomatoes.

DSC_6552.jpg

DSC_6558.jpg

This was supposed to be an appetizer but we kept eating them until we were full.

DSC_6538.jpg

It was drizzled with balsamic glaze and topped also with cherry tomatoes.

DSC_6533.jpg

The pickled grapes would even be good on there own or on a salad which will be my next use for them.

Thanks for dropping by.

Sort:  

Wow! Very complicated menu! Very interesting too! You are very creative in the kitchen!!

Thank you but really it wasn't complicated. A vegan diet can force the creativity in people haha.

Oh yummm @carolynstahl, so clever to pickle grapes, sounds and looks absolutely delicious! I can just imagine the sweet and sour combo and serving it with your vegetable pate on crostinis is the cherry on top!
Congratulations on a well deserved win as well;)

Thank you kindly @lizelle!