Pumpkin, peanut, chickpea quesadillas with spicy tomatillo sauce - Hive top chef

in Qurator2 years ago

DSC_8756.jpg

This week for Hive top chef we have the theme unusual.

As someone who doesn't consume animal products, many of the things I make may be unusual anyway.

Today I made use of what was already in my fridge and pantry. I decided to use some pumpkin that my manager was throwing out after Halloween. It was huge and used as a decoration.

When I asked her why she would throw it out she said she never used a fresh orange pumpkin before. After I said I wanted it, she asked for some. I chopped it up and took several pieces home.

DSC_8631.jpg

I peeled it and diced it before I boiled it until it was tender.

DSC_8685.jpg

At this point I wasn't sure where I was going with it. This had to be an unusual thing that even I haven't done before. I do the odd crazy concoction now and then.

My idea was coming together. I was making quesadillas.

Pumpkin mixture
4 or 5 cups cooked pumpkin
1 chopped onion
4 cloves minced garlic
1 teaspoon toasted cumin powder
1/2 teaspoon toasted ground coriander powder
1 teaspoon paprika
Squeeze of lime juice
1 teaspoon agave nectar
Salt to taste

DSC_8696.jpg

After browning the onions and garlic add pumpkin and mash roughly.

I still had to make it unusual, as pumpkin is often used in a quesadilla. In my cupboard were raw peanuts. These jumped out at me so I toasted them to prepare another addition to the filling.

DSC_8675.jpg

After toasting them in the pan, I put them in my mini chopper and blended roughly adding the juice of a lime and a tiny bit of water to get things moving in my really bad processor.

Peanut mixture
2 or 3 cups roasted peanuts
Salt to taste
Squeeze of lime juice

DSC_8795.jpg

I was going to stop there with the fillings but I had some left over chickpeas in the fridge so this would be added as well.

DSC_8686.jpg

I roughly mashed them then cooked them in a pan.

Chickpea mash
2 cups cooked chickpeas
2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
4 cloves minced garlic
Juice of a lime
Salt and pepper

DSC_8702.jpg

The fillings were now complete so I got out some flour and made some tortillas. I am not a fan of store bought tortillas, although I don't dislike them. For convenience those are perfect. I happened to have a day off from work so I went for it.

DSC_8710.jpg

Flour tortillas
4 cups all purpose flour plus more for rolling
1 1/2 water
2 tablespoons vegetable shortening or oil
1 tablespoon salt

DSC_8714.jpg

I rolled it out as thin as possible then used a bowl to cut out circles. I chose a bowl that was the size I was going for. If I was better at rolling perfect circles I wouldn't have used a bowl. A Mexican cook would probably laugh at me. Oh well it got the job done.

DSC_8722.jpg

I stacked them up dusting with flour so they didn't stick.

DSC_8727.jpg

They were cooked in a non stick skillet on medium high heat. I covered them for a few seconds then flipped them.

DSC_8734.jpg

On to the sauce. I had a bunch of serrano peppers that I added to the tomatillos to make a spicy salsa. This required all fans going and the window open.

DSC_8671.jpg

Tomatillos are not always easy to find but I have a Mexican grocer down the street from me that has all of these items.

Tomatillo pepper sauce
5 tomatillos
4 cloves garlic
1 shallot
7 or 8 serrano peppers (jalapenos or problanos would do)
Juice of a lime
1/4 cup cider vinager
Salt
1 sprig of green onion

If I had fresh coriander I would have added that as well.

DSC_8679.jpg

Brown the garlic, shallot, tomatillos and peppers in oil then blend. I added a couple of spoons of vegan mayo to a portion of it to make it a little creamy.

DSC_8749.jpg

Now that all of the items were complete the quesadillas would be filled.

DSC_8744.jpg

After spreading all three fillings on the tortillas, I folded and put back in a medium heated pan to warm.

DSC_8746.jpg

To me the unusual part of this is adding the peanuts. If you are a peanut lover like me, it really seals the deal.

DSC_8750.jpg

The chickpea addition in combination of the pumpkin was all I needed as a cheese replacement.

DSC_8762.jpg

DSC_8766.jpg

This was supposed to be a share plate but Marc thought the whole plate was for him so he ate it all. Fortunately I didn't put all of them on the plate. Haha!

DSC_8753.jpg

DSC_8787.jpg

DSC_8778.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

You are so creative Carolyn! I wish I had this for dinner right now! Looks delicious. Great job 🧡😋🧡

Thanks so much Lena. Coming from you is extra special. If we were artist you would be Michelangelo with pristine masterpieces and I would be Picasso disorganized and a little insane haha.❤️

Oh my goodness, you are too funny Carolyn! Although you are making good point and the main thing is that they were both masters 🧡😍🧡

Hi my friend from Amsterdam Airport. There I can’t find a good vegan food, I eat only bread now. I hope I could eat your food right now because it looks really delicious!

Wow you are in Amsterdam. That's amazing. I guess you are not there anymore. I can't wait to hear about your arrival. I hope you will feast on some amazing food soon.

I a good trip my friend!!!❤️

I am intrigued. So many unique flavours, but yet I can taste them in my head and find them all so complementary to each other.

Bookmarked to try on my next day off thank you @carolynstahl !

Thank you. You will like it I'm sure.

Yes! I've been thinking about it at work...the seed has been planted, it will be cooked! lolll...

Wow yummy wish I could have a taste of it, it looks really amazing

Thank you very much!

It looks so good. I want some but I can’t. Long time no see.