Salt, sweet, and spiced popcorn - Hive top chef

in Qurator3 years ago

One of the things I'm addicted to is popcorn so I couldn't pass up this week
of Hive top chef which has a theme of popcorn.

DSC_6329.jpg

I haven't eaten popcorn in years that I didn't put seasonings on since I last went to a movie theatre. That is the only reason I ever went. I ate the popcorn then fell asleep. Mostly when Marc dragged me to see Star Wars. Great movie to nap to. Well Lord Of the Rings was pretty good for napping as well.

I have learned to eat popcorn spiced up from going to Mexico and staying there for six months the last time I was there. I never passed up the opportunity to buy a bag of popcorn from the popcorn person on the beach. When you get this popcorn you're always asked if you want chilly on it. I always wanted it.

I usually use hot sauce and vegan butter, or olive oil but this time I decided to go into a South Asian kind of taste because of their tendency to blend sweet and savory along with hot chilies which I love. Why not try this with a popcorn base.

DSC_6238.jpg

Part of the mix was a pinch of garlic powder, onion powder, ginger powder, ground up dried chilies, ground up roasted peanuts and cane sugar, three tablespoons plantbased butter (you could use oil instead), a splash of lime juice, a splash of rice wine vinegar, a tablespoon of Braggs liquid aminos. I started with a couple of teaspoons of sugar then added a bit more later. When everything was well combined I added a pinch of baking soda and stirred then pour it on the popcorn.

DSC_6244.jpg

I let the sugar melt first not stirring then added the rest of the ingredients. Then the baking soda.

DSC_6248.jpg

The popcorn was done in a big pot. I used to have an air popper which I loved so much. It always made perfect popcorn but I gave it away when we went to Mexico years ago. I never got a new one.

The basic way I do it is to heat up a pot with oil on the bottom then add one kernel. I've seen people adding all of the kernels at once but it's best to make sure the oil is hot enough.

DSC_6257.jpg

Add the kernels when the one pops and close the lid. I like to hold it about an inch above the element when it is popping. Some say you should remove it from the heat a while. That's my way of doing it. It always works out.

DSC_6279.jpg

When it's done put it in a big bowl and pour the mix on top.

DSC_6282.jpg

Mix well and get all the kernels coated.

DSC_6284.jpg

After they're coated sprinkle the peanuts on top and toss it again.

DSC_6288.jpg

Try to keep the hands off of it until the photos are done.

DSC_6324.jpg

This would be spicy for most people. Not us. You could omit the chilies and go for paprika or just the other ingredients.

DSC_6305.jpg

The problem with having popcorn as a snack for me is that I don't want to make dinner after. I have eaten popcorn for dinner before.

DSC_6312.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

Hello @carolynstahl, I love the combination of flavors in your recipe, next time I'll try your recipe.
Have a wonderful day!!! 💖

Thank you I think you would like it if you like spicy.😊

Oh, it’s yummy yummy 😋. I would like some of your popcorn.

Thank you I think you had some yummy Justin corn already hahahah!

Yes, but its taste not the same! Your popcorn looks delicious more than.

That looks so good. I wish I can taste your popcorn but I am 100% sure that it is tasty. Have a good day.

You are the sweetest! Thank you my dear and have a good day!

I definitely wouldn't compare this to movie popcorn, your popcorn is poppin' with flavor! I've never added some of these flavors before, good ideas chef, and that's coming from a guy who grew up on a popcorn farm in Indiana, 100 yards from Orville Redenbacher's house.