Vegan black bean pumpkin chili

in Qurator3 years ago

DSC_6923.jpg


I had roasted a whole pumpkin the other day and put portions of it in the freezer. For a while they were a very good price. Most people buy them to carve into Jack o lanterns.

I took advantage of getting one for the purpose of cooking. This is the first time I purchase one of these orange Halloween pumpkins. Usually this time of year I just get a butternut or acorn squash.

I do like pumpkin sweets, however I wanted something savory so with the weather being cold rainy and miserable here in Montreal and the work hours cut right down to a scary amount, due to the new no dining laws, I had time to make a pot of one of my favorite comfort foods, Chili.

I feel that pumpkin and black beans somehow go together so I did a black bean pumpkin chili instead of the usual red bean chili that I often do.

Untitled1.jpg

The base of the soup was made with around 3 cups of pumpkin puree, 5 diced Roma tomatoes, 2 cups of previously made tomato sauce that was frozen, one diced onion, 4 cloves garlic minced , 1 jalapeno pepper and spices. The spices were ground cumin and coriander which was toasted first in seed form, 2 tablespoons Mexican chili powder, 3 tablespoons of maple syrup, 1 cup of vegetable soup broth, juice of half a lime, 1 teaspoon smoked paprika, 1 teaspoon black pepper, and salt.

First saute onion then add garlic and jalapeno. I don't have big enough pots so I transferred the onion, garlic, jalapeno to a pot adding the tomatoes, tomato sauce, pumpkin and at the last minute I decided to crumble up a brick of tofu in it as well.

chili.jpg
I added two cans of black beans and 2 cups of frozen peaches and cream corn. Fresh corn would be the best but I didn't feel like running down the street to get it.

DSC_6918.jpg

I garnished it with pumpkin seeds and fresh coriander.
DSC_6934.jpg

DSC_6938.jpg

DSC_6925.jpg

It was accompanied it with toasted gluten free quinoa bread.

DSC_6928.jpg

It would also be nice with some homemade corn bread. I will have to do that on another day.

DSC_6919.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

You could turn anything into a meal fit for a king, looks and sounds absolutely delicious @carolynstahl! Absolutely yumm!

Thank you @lizelle! That means so much coming from you!

That’s looks very tasty food and good for the health! My husband and I sometimes talked about you, you are a good chef and all your photos are perfect. I love your photos of all posts.

Really you and your husband inspire me so much with your knowledge of cooking and spices. I really hope I will dine in your restaurant someday when they let us free. Thank you my friend!

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4250 replies. Your next target is to reach 4500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz support the Papillon Foundation Charity project

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @justinparke.

Well......you've done it again. I can honestly say I've never paired pumpkin with chili, but now that you've opened my eyes, it makes perfect sense. Awesome chili!!

Thanks @carolynstahl for sharing this lovely recipe with us.

Your post is featured in our latest #plantbased curation post, Beans And Beans, Beet Soup, Health Bars, Move-Over Nutella Spread, Cambodian Snacks, And More!!.

Did you know it's World Mental Health Month? Or that you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz for posting about #mentalhealthawareness? Read more details here!

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and reblogs.

Thank you @justinparke for understanding the pumpkin and your support!