Vegan Greek Salad

in Qurator4 years ago

DSC_3500.jpg

If a traditional proud Greek chef heard that there was no feta cheese in a Greek salad, they would declare that it is indeed not a Greek salad.

In my experience what makes a typical Greek salad are the combinations of feta, peppers, cucumbers, kalamata olives and tomatoes. The dressing is a vinaigrette with oregano.

Since I don't consume animal products I have omitted the feta cheese and added marinated tofu instead. The marinade was kept simple. I coated the tofu with tamari and lemon juice.

DSC_3468.jpg

I decided that today would be the day that I picked the one and only pepper that grew from the one pepper plant. I don't know why it didn't grow another pepper. The one was very large and perfect so I enjoyed every minute of it.

I was fortunate to have some cucumbers left on the vine. They taste great but there are very many. The cherry tomatoes are ripening one by one so I had that from the garden as well.

The chives have grown big and have a tiny bulb so I plucked a few out to chop into the dressing instead of onions on the salad.

I know it's unheard of to put cabbage and kale in a Greek salad but I had a cabbage that hadn't gotten bad like the other two so I cut it down and used it.The kale never got very big but I love it when it's leaves are still young so I chopped all of those things along with the rest of the leaf lettuce and put that into the salad.

Most Greek salads don't have lettuce in them but I am the boss of this one so I decided that it would.

DSC_3465.jpg

DSC_3470.jpg

We rarely have use of the kitchen so when we have time off we go to the park to eat. We have an almost disposable barbecue that we used to grill the tofu.

DSC_3478.jpg

DSC_3474.jpg

For the dressing I chopped fresh oregano, basil, 3 cloves minced garlic and chives from the garden and added it to 1/4 cup of olive oil, juice of a lemon and 3 tablespoons white balsamic.

DSC_3466.jpg

The dressing was poured on the cucumbers and peppers to marinate while the tofu cooked.

DSC_3475.jpg

DSC_3497.jpg

We try not to eat gluten bread too often but this was the day when we would make croutons out of a multigrain that we got from the supermarket.

DSC_3484.jpg

I had grown some nasturtiums and they just went crazy in the garden flourishing and taking over. The flowers are so pretty. I found out recently that the entire plant is edible. I add it to my salads for extra nutrients. I have to admit. I'm not crazy about the taste even though it resembles watercress but it's suppose to have a lot of healing properties so I eat a few when I can.

DSC_3495.jpg
I finished it off with a drizzle of balsamic glaze for a little extra something.

DSC_3485.jpg

Sort:  

Oh My Goddess - that looks sooooo appetizing, healthy and more-ish! Thank you for continuing to inspire and show us the how-tos of your great meal ideas.

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @artemislives.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus. We're also partnered with another amazing healing group, @adiwathrive - follow for dual language curation (English and Spanish), spiritual, musical and heart centred wellness!

Thank you for a very lovely and appreciated compliment!!!!

Looks delicious. I saw someone post about vegan fetta here once - recently. Let me check my bookmarks - I wonder if it was @amygoodrich?

Cool. I never was a huge fan of cheese so fake cheese is not really important to me. I just put the tofu for the visuals haha. Thanks @riverflows

Hah yeah, I'm not a massive fan, but do like it occasionally. There's some great vegan fetta out there that tastes amazing!

Wow, this looks really tasty. I will try to cook it someday. My cooking usually sucks, I only know how to make a sandwich.😄

Haha, there's hardly any cooking involved. You can do it!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @kaerpediem & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!