Vegan scalloped potatoes with rosemary - Hive top chef

in Qurator3 years ago

This week rosemary is the topic of Hive top chef
DSC_3099.jpg

When I think of rosemary I always think of potatoes. I also associate it with some kind of meat roast but I don't eat meat or animal products. I have made a scallop potato dish primarily on the stove and finished off under the oven broiler.

DSC_3002.jpg

Scalloped Potatoes with rosemary
Four large potatoes (I used baking potatoes)
2 cups vegan cheese sauce
1/4 cup sundried tomatoes(optional)
3 tablespoons tomato confit for garnishing (optional)
3 tablespoons caramelized onion for garnishing (optional)
Fresh or dried rosemary (used dry Sicilian rosemary)

Vegan cheese sauce
1 small carrot
1 onion sliced
3 tablespoons rice flour
3 tablespoons tapioca flour
1 tablespoon butter (I used vegan butter)
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
3 tablespoons nutritional yeast
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
2 cups milk (used soy)
Salt and pepper
Salt and pepper

DSC_3026.jpg

Saute the cooked carrots and onions in butter.

DSC_3037.jpg

Add dry ingredients and mix well.

DSC_3041.jpg

Add milk, cook down until thickened and puree.
DSC_3051.jpg

I blanched the scalloped potatoes quickly in boiling water because it was going to be cooked on top of the stove. My oven has a broken lower element.

DSC_3050.jpg

Spread sliced potatoes in a large non stick pan or skillet that is oiled or buttered.

DSC_3054.jpg
Pour cheese sauce on top.

DSC_3060.jpg

DSC_3071.jpg

Add rosemary, sundried tomatoes and black pepper. Simmer covered until the potatoes are tender.

DSC_3075.jpg

Since my top element on the oven still works, I transferred the potatoes to a couple of mini cast iron skillets. I garnished with tomato confit and caramelized onions and put under the broiler to crisp up the top.

DSC_3098.jpg
Tomato confit
seven to ten plum tomatoes fresh or canned
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon sugar or maple syrup or agave nectar (I used maple).
2 cloves minced garlic
1/2 teaspoon thyme
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar or balsamic

Caramelized onion
1 sliced onion
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 teaspoon sweetener (I used agave nectar)

Saute onions in hot oil in a pan and add the other ingredients. Cook down until browned.

Cook garlic in oil then add the rest of the ingredients simmering until moisture is evaporated.

DSC_3103.jpg

Most scallop potatoes are usually a side dish on a table with a protein and other items.

DSC_3084.jpg

With a salad and some buttered peas it was a perfect brunch for us.

DSC_3095.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

Looks super yummy @carolynstahl ! 😋
I love rosemary potatoes (with my own rosemary😀)...
I gotta try that Vegan cheese sauce!
Also the peas & salad fit perfect as sides.👍

Thanks @luca1777 the cheese sauce is easy and really does the job. I need more now for some pasta.

Buon appetito!
I will warm up some pasta now, too..haha 😉

Definitely going to try this sauce. Looks easy and tasty.

Yes it really is and the combo of nutritional yeast and cider give it a little cheesy taste.

This food is so many ingredients, that looks so delicious and very beautiful dish made me hungry now 😋. I have never eaten food like this, I will try it someday. Thank you, my friend. Good luck!!!

Thank you. This is a very Northern or American kind of dish. It's an herb that you find growing in colder climates I think my friend.

😍😍😍😍

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I never know this one and I don't even know what are rosemary. It looks good and I would love to try it someday (if I can).

Rosemary is not used much in tropical cooking I think but I don't know if you would like it after eating coriander and basil.

This looks so good. And I love rosemary. It's one of the few things I can grow myself in my apartment. Thanks for sharing!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Yeah I love how strong this plant is. I've seen it thrive even after a frost. Thanks for the window idea. I live in an apartment with no balcony.

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

This is a dish I loathed as a kid, but your preparation is nothing like the dish that haunts my memories. I love everything about it, especially those cast-iron skillets. This is indeed well-suited for the addition on nutritional yeast, which I'm sure completes this dish and makes the flavors pop. Nice work chef!


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I also was not a fan go figure haha, I hated creamy cheesy stuff like that. Thank you.

Congratulations @carolynstahl!
Your post is featured in our latest Plant Power curation post -
Scalloped Potatoes, Dragonfruit Cakes, Bear Flapjacks, Crispy Corn, Carob Balls, & More!!.

image.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Delegate II Community II NaturalMedicine.io II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io