My last few days, including a literal nightmare.

in Qurator3 years ago

DSC_0008a.JPG
Late last week, I had two fellows, one a friend the other an acquaintance (friend of the friend) help me (read they did the most of it) get the larger things from my apartment.

PXL_20201217_144309472.jpg

The acquaintance,(on the right) seemed to have had something happen to him since they helped me move in 2018; he was slower, and shuffled his feet, especially the one shoe which was always untied, it seemed he was walking on the SIDE of his foot somehow. 😨
But we got it done.
I believe last Friday was my first night in my new home.
My bedroom windows are just about 24 inches above the ground, if that.
New house, windows with no blinds, car headlights from the street, all made it an uneasy sleep. Then a couple of nights later (progress on getting windows covered had been made) I had this

Nightmare

So, I'm in bed trying to get to sleep, and I heard someone walking outside my windows.
I'm alone in the house, there are no outdoor lights, I have no weapons.
What am I gonna do?
There is a window over the kitchen sink which is about 7 ft above the ground, so in the dream, I went, without turning on any inside lights, and looked out.
There was a man wearing a one piece coverall, walking on the side of one foot, almost dragging it in the mud.
I was scared 💩less, and then I woke up.

ongoing issues

So between trash in the washing machine that is still coming out when I wash clothes, to the smell of sewer coming from my NEW bathroom, to there being an OLD USED toilet installed in said bathroom,

image.png

that required me to make TWO trips to the hardware store to purchase a new seat (the first one was broken, I noticed AFTER I'd installed it) practically no usable space in that bathroom, to the closet door that will not close

image.png

(bi-fold door that is too large or just not trimmed enough)I'm having a time of it.
I AM sleeping better now.

TODAY

I went back to the apartment (I am paid through Dec 31st) got the rest of my shoes,

image.png
Empty Bedroom

threw out a LOT of trash from the floors,

image.png
Empty bathroom
image.png

image.png
I KNOW... there is more work to be done

and got my WATER FILTER from under the sink. It will be installed here as soon as I can get to it.
I bought it last Oct 2019, it is a 3 yr filter.
image.png
Now I just have two file cabinets and a chair, then some pieces of wood to dispose of.
I had a Dickens of a time with the lady whose cleaning service cleaned for me back in April or May, her three girls cleaned AROUND everything, and I stopped them from dusting my living room and computer stuff.
Now they won't have to clean around anything, no dusting etc.
I asked her to clean the kitchen (stove and fridge), bathroom, (tub and toilet) and vacuum. All that was done last time, only I stopped them from doing the tub as I did that myself.
I paid her $60 before, but now she was wanting to add stuff like "clean the blinds, wipe the baseboards"
I said no, I had to do all that when I moved in, I want the apartment back like I found it (only I replaced the kitchen faucet set, so that is an IMPROVEMENT )
As you can see, there is soot or dust or something coming through and settling evenly on the carpet, that I've been breathing all this time.
So we agreed, and she said if I would "leave her the key" then she and her crew could do the job over the weekend.
When I first moved in, I made copies of both my door and mailbox keys.
She lives in the same complex, so said I could just leave the key under her door mat, so I did. Sent her this:

image.png
I turned and went back to my apartment, and COULDN'T FIND THE EXTRA KEY TO LOCK UP!!!
I mean to tell you, I searched my car (now loaded down with stuff) and my pockets (also loaded)... I went back, got my key, went to a local hardware and had another copy made, went BACK to my apartment, made sure it worked, then went and put THAT new copy under her door mat.

image.png
All the missing keys were here at the house. So now she has a copy, I have two copies, and the world turns as it should.

Well, that is it for today. I may go back tomorrow, but beginning tonight we are supposed to have some stormy weather.
I may FINALLY take a day off.

Events of the last few days

by
Jerry E Smith
©12/23/2020
all images are mine.

These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks



cyktlq.png

Sort:  

You certainly have had your hands full Jerry, but it looks like it is all coming together finally! xxx

I've felt like I was being rushed through this entire process @jaynie , first the rush to close on the property before 2021 to avoid 2020 property taxes, then the rush to get moved from the apartment before my last paid month was up, now, I'm trying to be sure the apartment is cleaned enough for me to get my $400 security deposit.

I may go over there to get a few things after 3 pm when the rain is supposed to end.

You've had a lot of work! But it's for your new, your property, a great accomplishment that you got this year 2020.
Congratulations!

Merry Christmas!

I don't know @eugelys , sometimes I wonder if it is all worth the effort.
That is my "Nihilistic" side, coming from depression and PTSD.
One of the biggest draws here is to give me options and
Actions that I hope will help me to stay out of those
Deep wells of despair. I've spent so many years
Looking up from down in a well, feeling
Helpless, it is like home and moving
Out from there can be frightening.
image.png

I hope you keep making your house a cozy place, your home,
I hope to see more pictures of the progress :)
Merry Christmas! <3

I just cooked my first meal and made a post about it @eugelys

So good!

Thanks, it was, still is, and will be for another day or so @eugelys
Merry Christmas again.

It always seems to be something unexpected when moving.

Glad to see you are nearing the end of the moving part and getting along on the settling in.

I know you know about Murphy's Law,
"Anything that can go wrong will go wrong". and it's corollary

at the worst possible time

or... if you drop your bread, the buttered side will always land face down

Merry Christmas Eve @jacey.boldart

Merry Christmas Eve Jerry !

And to you dear friend

image.png

Slow, forward progress is certainly better than no forward progress at all!

I don't know Victor, sometimes I wonder if it is all worth the effort.
That is my "Nihilistic" side, coming from depression and PTSD.
One of the biggest draws here is to give me options and
Actions that I hope will help me to stay out of those
Deep wells of despair. I've spent so many years
Looking up from down in a well, feeling
Helpless, it is like home and moving
Out from there can be frightening.

image.png

Jerry what a journey but a day of Is needed aswell

Yes, it has been and continues to be stressful, mainly because every time I turn around I find something that NEEDS to be done @brittandjosie or MUST be done, or (the best part) I see something I WANT to get done, and with each event such as that, I see $dollar$ signs flying out the window.
I've always heard and now know it to be true, "A house is a hole in the ground into which you pour money"
But it IS my house and it IS my money!

And maybe do the things that are needed now and the other some what later that’s less stressful