Sort:  

Thanks for the recipe! I've put up a batch that I'm calling pineapple wine, and I do not like it one bit at this point, one week in. I'll try again with your recipe, you make it sound pretty good!

Well I must say this tasted more like a cider and I apparently didn't let it ferment long enough so it hardly had any kick;) Some say they let it ferment for up to 6 weeks! But it may then end up tasting like vinegar;);)
Our alcohol ban is over from tomorrow but I'd hate to go near any bottle store as I can just imagine the queues!
There's been some really funny memes doing the rounds on that already:)

I thoroughly enjoyed your fantastic post and recipe on how to make homemade pineapple beer along with the humor!😎

Congratulations on the well deserved Qurator contest win! @Lizelle🍍🍺🍍

Upv & RSD

Oh thank you @ninahaskin, so glad you enjoyed reading it, funny enough there were no other contenders this week;)

I saw this recipe on BBC a couple of days ago. There was documentary about South Africa, people making pineapple beer to earn some money. And now I came across your post :)
I'm wondering how it tastes. I would try it but the pineapples you can get in Romania are far from suitable for the job as are not ripe.

How interesting, I must see if I can find that documentary online!
I don't think I will be making this again soon as it's quite a bit of work and although refreshing, the flavour is quite 'tart' but it is an easy and inexpensive way to make one's own alcohol;)
Thank you so much for the comment!

If it's 'tart', then it's not for me. I don't really like alcohol, but making my own is always a lot of fun. I'v been planning to make martini and maybe I'll stick to that :)

I think a martini woul be my choice as well ;)

"Lady Lizelle" says the judge; "Can you please tell this court what made you drive at top speed in reverse on a national highway"?
She whispers; "Pineapple beer your honor"!

😂😂😂 Good one! @papilloncharity

Blame it on that darn bee that got in your bonnet but whatever you do, do not mention ZOL! @Lizelle 🐝🐝 🌬🚬💨

Hahaha Lady Nina, ZOL will certainly add a LOT of havoc to the party!

😅😅😅 I also enjoyed that comment

HAHAHA, you are so funny @papilloncharity, can you just imagine this old gal having to appear in court on such a charge:):)
But I believe it I wanted this homebrew to have a real kick, I should have let it ferment much longer;)
Thank for the chuckle, I really enjoyed your comment:):)

Waiting for the news headlines when you crack those bottles open my friend Lol. "Huismoles" it is called hahaha.

It seems I didn't let it ferment long enough as the first bottle didn't result in any Huismoles my friend, was like drinking alcohol free cider 🤣🤣🤣

Oh? I thought you were going to combine that first bottle with Zols???

My imagination was working overtime about the fun that you guys were having Lol.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Congratulations @lizelle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 17000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 18000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you so much @hivebuzz!

You're welcome @lizelle🙂👍❤️
cheers, liz

Here in my country we call it Chicha Andina, we have a variant in the preparation, since we leave the shell to soak for several days to ferment, and then we make it, the more days I spent soaking its fermentation is stronger and you have a drink very rich, it is so rich that in my community we have been asked to make it for sale.

That's interesting to hear it's made elsewhere too! I think mine will not have such a high alcohol content as I only let it ferment for 3 days, so that's the secret then for those wanting a strong hooch;);) Some of my fellow countrymen are selling their brew I hear as @erikah saw on BBC, I'm not surprised as so many people have lost their jobs here! Thank you for the visit @truelovemom:)

I would love to try this! It sounds delicious. I, naively, thought the yeast was flying off the shelves because people were baking bread but I bet they were brewing instead. : )

I think if one did not allow it to ferment and uses less water, it would be a delicious pineapple drink, but the fermentation changes the flavour. It is quite tart, not sweet at all, more like a cider. I also learnt from @truelovemom that they make it in Venezuela but leave it to ferment for up to 6 days, I guess that's what my fellow countrymen who want a strong hooch, are doing as well;)
We move to Level 3 lockdown from 1 June when alcohol sales will be open so I'm hoping there'll be more yeast on the shelves for us bread bakers again;)
Take care my friend and enjoy the warmer weather, it's quite chilly here already!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @sajannair on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you for the curation, really appreciate it @sajannair and @foodiesunite!

Promoting Hive on Twitter

Hi @lizelle! It was so cool to see this post! My daughter has made this pineapple cider and it is so easy and taste delicious! 💖

It was real easy @deerjay, glad you enjoyed the post, thank you!

You're very welcome!

Always love your posts Lizelle - and your photographs are so appealing - ooh would love a glass of that pineapple beer now.

Haha @pandamama, if you like a tart drink, then this is for you, think I'll stick to cider made by a seasoned brewer;)
Thank you for visiting!

I've given your recipe to Lesley - so I'm sure she'll try it - will let you know

Pity you live just that wee bit too far, that pineapple beer looks super good.

My Mom used to make ginger beer, 5 x 5 liter glass bottles with cork tops that banged off periodically, I have never tried these beers will wait for tomorrow!

Not being able to purchase tobacco has been a slam dunk, since I prefer a pipe, tobacco then filtered through charcoal filters making a much cleaner smoking pleasure, so..... I'll eat the daisies 😁