HALE & HEARTY 4 in 1 VEGETABLE SOUP

in Qurator4 years ago (edited)

What is better than a Cool and Chilled Soup on a hot summer's day?
20200322_145001.jpg

I would say a Hale and Hearty steaming bowl of homemade soup on a cold winter's night, as we'll be experiencing a cold front come the morrow when those icy winds from the southernmost tip of Africa blows all the way up the eastern coast.

Check out my friend @papilloncharity's BLOG and you'll see what I mean! Those stormy clouds look really ominous!

HALE & HEARTY SOUPS
Never mind, come on in as I'll be serving a steaming bowl of Hale & Hearty Veg 4 in 1 Vegetable Soup at the end of the cold day; just what the doctor ordered, as my dear Dad used to say.

The base of my soup is a 4 in 1 soup mix - dried Green Split Peas, Brown and Red Lentils and Barley.

20200609_204634.jpg

One can simmer this slowly for a couple of hours and add vegetables and noodles towards the end of the cooking time.

Or if in a hurry, use your instant pot and soup will be done in an hour, but it will be a thinner soup!

20200504_103224.jpg

Beef shin, Lamb Knuckles or Chicken pieces can be added in the beginning for a richer soup but I'm making a Vegetable Soup today - thick, nourishing and very satisfying!

20200322_132337.jpg
GARNISHES & ACCOMPANIMENTS
Soup can be garnished with Croutons, chopped Fresh herbs, super thinly sliced Onion Rings, Yogurt, Sour Cream, finely grated Cheese and crispy fried Bacon; whatever takes your fancy and goes well with the soup!

One of our favourite accompaniments are hot homemade Scones or homemade Bread or even better a homemade pie.
scones bread.jpg

Chef line break.png

SOUP RECIPE/METHOD
20200504_103224.jpg

  • 1 cup 4 in 1 soup mix
    Cook slowly in about 3 litres of Vegetable stock, topping up with boiling water as it evaporates

20200504_111142.jpg

Grate and add:

  • 1 Onion
  • 2 Potatoes
  • 2 Carrots
  • 2 Leeks
  • Couple of Celery sticks & leaves
  • Couple of Comfrey leaves
  • Fresh garden herbs & chili
  • Freshly grated Turmeric

Add:

  • 1/2 cup Noodles

Simmer for about 45 mintures longer and season to taste

Serve with accompaniment of choice.

20200322_132317.jpg

BON APPETIT FRIENDS
Qurator page break.png

I'm dying to see what other soups have been brought to the table of Qurator's Hive Top Chef - Soup, look forward to seeing you there!

Heart page break.png
Original Content by @lizelle

Thank you for stopping by

Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved


Banner created by @derangedvisions

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you so much for the wonderful support to us foodies:)

Guess what we had tonight on this southernmost tip of Africa Lady Lizelle.
Barley, lentil and chunky vegetable soup. What a coincidence.
Marian says it is very weird and I say yes, but we didn't have some nice meat pies lol.

Now if we has some nice meat pies, I would have gone to book in at an asylum, as I would think some people up on the Eastern coast could read my mind hahaha.

Now at 10pm, the wind has just picked up some gears and it's starting to howl outside.

Thank you for the kind mention and stay warm when the cold front arrives.

That is a coincidence but the perfect meal for those icy and fierce Cape winds! Wrap up warm and stay inside, you have to be careful of those viruses that the wind blows around;) Well, that's what my mind tells me could be partly to blame for the high numbers down in the Cape;)

Been to the beach today in between the storm clouds my friend.
Problem that I have since I had my nose fixed a few years ago.
It was broken and the bones blocked my nostrils over time.
All of a sudden now I can smell again and I don't know if I like it very much. Bucket loads of pollens enter and I sneeze so much that my cap falls off lol.
Maybe I should have it broken again hahaha.

Promoting Hive on Twitter

Looks very great for healthy and delicious!

This is how you would revive someone, if they were lost in the cold and you took them in to your inn. Looks delicious and those scones hmmmm!

I made another pot today as that chilly weather's hit us, it's really cold! Those scones are really good!