You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will Hive stay a niche blockchain & cryptocurrency?

in Hive Improvement4 years ago (edited)

Ok. Maybe you're right. I don't fully understand how autovotes work, presumably they are done using a bot. I'm still not convinced though.

I wonder how things would work out if the amount of rewards paid were based partly upon reputation?

Sort:  

Sorry, my response is incorrect. I thought that you were referring to selfvotes not autovotes. The reason that you cannot ban autovotes is that there is no way to enforce it. The blockchain nodes have no way of knowing if a vote was done by a human or a script. They only check if the data is valid. Some people have suggested to use captcha but that only works on websites that control access in a centralized way but anyone can send transactions to a blockchain using any interface or build their own (that is how decentralized networks work).