Nothing on the printer so its upgrade time.

this time it's an SKR Mini E3 thirty-two-bit board. I have had a Creality silent board in my Printer for some time but I have seen a lot of good things about the BigTreetech board so I thought I'd give it a go the big pluses are it's cheap only 21 quid from Banggood runs 2209 stepper drivers so it's quiet being exactly the same form factor as the ender 3 board but with better processor, stepper drivers, and mofets its easy to fit finally there is a lot opportunity for expansion.

CREALITY B0ARD
2021-05-06 16.00.46.jpg

SKR BOARD
2021-04-29 16.09.36.jpg

It's not a difficult upgrade the SKR is exactly the same footprint as a standard Creality board some of the plug positions are different but the instructions on what goes where are clear and there is a lot of info online.

2021-04-29 16.10.57.jpg

All of the wires from the stepper motors limit switches are tagged so it's easy to see where things go the only ones that aren't for some reason are white ones for the two thermisters from the bed heater and the hot end so once the cover is off the first job is to label these two then its just a case of unplugging everything. Removing the wires from the power supply hot end fan and bed heater then undoing 3 screws to take the board out.
2021-04-29 16.12.16.jpg

Once the old board is out it's not long before the new board is in place one thing I did learn is that it is a lot easier to attach the power supply wires before you put the board back.

2021-04-29 16.45.47.jpg

The upgrade is all done and a quick test run, Everything works so I must have plugged everything in ok no software issues. So well worth doing.

Sort:  

I upgraded my Ender 3 Pro's board to the SKR 1.3 and was very pleased.

I also changed over from running Marlin firmware to Klipper running on a Raspberry Pi 4 (also running Octoprint).

It is much faster, smoother and quieter now.

ill take a look but I wasn't planning on getting a Pi just yet