3d remixed + printed cable clips for my 15m hdmi cables

in ThreeD (3D) Printing3 years ago (edited)

Situation / Problem

I am going to record my PS4 gameplay + voiceover with obs. For this task I have purchased a capture card and everything is working fine in theory. The only issue I have here is that my PS4 is located in another room around 10 meters away from my computer.

Since I dont want to move any part of this setup at any time I purchased 2x15m HDMI and 1x15m USB A-B cable. This solution is nothing that I wanna mount on the walls or something so all of the cables have to be storable inside of a drawer or somewhere else. I use the capture card also for recording the hdmi output of my mirrorless camera when I'm at my desktop doing @dtube hangouts or recording videos - so it have to be a switchable solution. If I wanna record something from my PS4 / Nintendo Switch then I simply change the cables and when I'm done I reconnect my camera again.

That whole solution results in a very messy corridor. Unfortunately I forgot to take a picture of my corridor but I assume you can imagine how messy it looks when 3 long and twisted cables laying around on the floor. I had to come up with a nice "cable management solution".

temporary workaround

I taped the cables together with some gaffer. But because of the movement of the cables and the poor quality of my gaffer tape this solution lasted not very long. So I had to come up with long lasting 3d printed solution.

Research

Everytime I wanna print something I search for solutions of other creators on thingiverse. And of course I have found a very elegant design: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1320948
This is supposed to work with ethernet cables and I had to change the design / scale to fit my specific hdmi and usb cables.

Design

So I took the original design and started to tweak a 1st interation on https://tinkercad.com, printed it and tried the fit. image.png

It broke easily because the walls have been too thin. Since I am using DLP printing instead of FDM printing I have to take more care about the sturdiness of the design. I simply added a thicker connection to the individual clips and that worked pretty well. The piece is a combination of multiple clips and the round shaped connector. ->

Print

After some test prints to check the correct diameter of my cables I have printed 9 pieces in one run. Next to the simple maintenance of DLP printers there is on important aspect of dlp printing:
No matter how pany parts you print - the printing time is equal. DLP is printing layer by layer in one go and I printed 9 of those connectors in 45 minutes.

I use chitubox (https://www.chitubox.com/en) to slice my models - it's simple and quick. I barely touch any parameters of my slicer these days. When I had a FDM printer the most time have gone into maintenance and slicer settings. Now I have more time to make than to adjust ;)

image.png

The print took 45 minutes and came out well:

120210104_125029.jpg120210104_124732.jpg120210104_124754.jpg

The next step is to release the clips from the build plate & to cure them. I use biodegradable resin so my curing is with soap water and UV light only. After 15 minutes of laying in the curing solution the final results look like that:

120210104_132447.jpg

Assembly

Assembly is pretty self explainatory so I will only share 2 pictures of the setup:

image.pngimage.png

Conclusion

I am pretty happy with the result and how quick I was able to design, print and assemble everything. The costs are around 6$ for all 27 connectors and that's also really okay. With FDM printing the costs would be much lower in theory... But: You need to consider failed prints, mainenance time and all that so I would assume that DLP is even cheaper.

If you are in the exact same situation you can find the remixed design on my thingiverse page. Otherwise you can remix the original design from above pretty easily on your own.

Here you can download my remix: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:4709552

Thanks for your attention and have a good day!

Sort:  

Thanks for posting again about 3d printing, ive been mildly interested in this stuff for a while...it looks like the prices for printers is pretty reasonable, i saw them for 150-300 usd $ on ebay just quickly checking. Any recommendations on what to look for or avoid? Perhaps it would be cool to make a post or video on this?

Hey! Thanks for reading and commenting :)

There are many things to consider before buying one but on the internet you will find all informations :)

The most important decision you need to make:

what kind of things do you wanna print? Functional strong parts (then go for FDM printer like the Creality Ender series for example) or nice looking detailed ones (then go for a DLP printer like the anycubic photon)? FDM is much stronger because of the material and process FDM is using.

I have a DLP printer and missuse it most of the time by printing more functional things with it. After some months I know how to design/customize things that they dont break quickly but for the beginning I would defintely recommend you to buy a FDM printer :)

Perhaps I will make a video on that topic but I'm not sure ^^ Thanks for the suggestion ;)