Filming with a pop covers band

in Filmmakers2 years ago

My job filming stuff is pretty diverse.

I visit all kind of places, shooting all kinds of subjects.

Heavy metal festivals ✅
Corporate events ✅
Filming studio interviews ✅
Racecars and racehorses ✅
Musicians in the studio ✅
Music videos ✅
Greenscreen studio ✅
Wild animals and children ✅
Sky diving ❌ (hell no)

But I must admit I do really enjoy making these little performance videos for event bands.

img_0144.png

img_0160.png

They’re usually a pretty quick turnaround and tend to be a pleasant time during the filming process.

The bands are always super professional and very talented too. I have shot with probably about 15 event/function hire bands over the years and they all bring their own take on the music, and add a twist. No two are ever alike.

img_0142.png

Bands like these work hard to make private events go off with a bang and I hope my work in shooting/cutting these promos helps them bag some more (and bigger) gigs.

I want to share my latest work, which is this pop medley video!

(Video tracks include Dua Lipa, The Weeknd, SFA, Faith Evans and Sister Sledge)

In this shoot I experimented with new lighting and staging, which I documented previously in this post a couple of months back.

I hope for future projects to enable me to work with LED ‘neon’ style lighting like this. I really like it, I think it’s effective.
Maybe even some more interesting camera movements too.

These videos tend to be quite formulaic though, as they need to easily and without confusion, convey the bands style and ability to potential bookers.
So I guess there will always be a template that works to do that. But a bit of flair doesn’t hurt, right?

Shout out to these chaps who engaged with the original behind-the-scenes post.. hope you like the final result!

@edprivat @distantsignal @bil.prag @victorbz @steevc

Cheers for checking out my work as ever!

Hopefully there will be some Hive promo video content coming soon! ✌🏻

Sort:  

Nice to have that variety in your work. That sort of video much be valuable marketing material for these bands. How they look can matter as well as how they sound to clients. A video that stands out will get them noticed.

My band is starting to get more gigs, but it's mostly for fun. We will have to see how serious it gets.

!PIZZA !LUV

Thanks for the comment @steevc.

The agency I do these videos for are great and they always say that if there’s a video accompanying a band on their website they always see a huge increase in bookings.
He once told me a statistic (although I can’t remember it) about a video I made for a 3 piece indie band. It was quite staggering the amount of bookings they secured after the video went out!

It really does make a difference it seems.
Either way, I’m happy to keep making them 😀

Great work my friend. thank you for the mention.
i will watch the video later after the workday.
here is a series of photographs I photographed during the 3 days of The Great Machine band birthday party in their studio.
https://photos.app.goo.gl/VaaCNBMSzLEF6toX9
very different kind of photography suitable for the genre of the music all these band playing :-)

Awesome man! Have a good day, cheers for the comment

my pleasure :-)

That's pretty awesome! It must really be both enjoyable and satisfying to be able to create work like this, even if you're not jumping out of a plane to do it.

😆 you got me 100%
I’ll always avoid the plane thanks

And thanks for the comment @wwwiebe!

Nice one man, looks like everything went smoothly 👍

Thanks dude, yeah it went well! Pleased with the edit

Your post has been manually curated by the Stick Up Boys Curation team!
Because we love your content we've upvoted and reblogged it!
Keep on creating great quality content!


Follow @stickupcurator for great music and art content!
Have some !PIZZA because...

Hi @ashtv,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Video looks great again - awesome work and thanks for sharing!

!PIZZA !ALIVE !BEER

@ashtv! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @tdctunes. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
tdctunes tipped ashtv (x1)
@steevc(2/9) tipped @ashtv (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Awesome work! Love the LED's matching the outfit of the singer.

If I understand it right, the room in which the video is recorded is yours?

Hey @chrislybear, thanks for the comment! Yeah I think the LED colour scheme works well. I'm going to buy more of those LED light strips, they're so useful.

Sadly the room where it's filmed isn't my studio, but I shoot there an awful lot!

led neon is looking good.

how many takes did you do? i always struggle with covering everyone. probably broken because of the no cut full take that i did when i started filming :D

Cheers man!
I do two takes focussing on each person from an angle that suits them, and two takes of both extra wide and wide full band shots.
Plenty of coverage that way.

I start with the wides then work my forward through the band; so singer/vocals, then guitar, then bass then drums. I always make sure there are relevant band members in shot around whoever I'm focussing on.
Inevitably the singer always gets to finish first. Singer luxuries, eh?
Where as the drummer are in 99% of shots; so they need to be on their game and not missing strokes the whole time!

One takes are super fun. You must have plenty of experience!