Tales of the Urban Explorer: Cow Dyke Farm

I do need to get writing these up. 47 is the new count I have of ‘Tales’ stories to get out and my recent trip to Wales increased that number thanks to @grindle sharing some locations.

Watch for those around February 2021 with the rate I'm churning them out.

31_IMG_3901_31.jpg

This one is from very early July and once again based in deepest Yorkshire, the veritable land of dereliction.

Cow Dyke Farm has been the victim of two suspected arson attacks in recent years. There was a fire at the farm in late 2017, which started in one of the derelict outbuildings on the site. The fire destroyed the shed and spread to a hedge, but was extinguished by fire-fighters quickly.

On Sunday 31st January 2018, another fire tore through the farm, which started when a small amount of rubbish was deliberately set alight in a kitchen inside one of the buildings.

Officers from North Yorkshire Fire and Rescue said the fire had caused damage to around 70% of the complex. As of January 2020, Rowan Green Developments are constructing a 180-home housing estate on the 21.7 acres of land around the farm.

Was there going to be anything left? @dizzydiscovery and I parked on the nearby housing estate, located the farm, and started walking up the hill looking cautiously at a bunch of drunken revellers in a nearby garden, ignoring the social distancing rules placed down by our illustrious prime minister.

34_IMG_3904_34.jpg

Getting pissed appeared to be more important than a couple of blokes approaching one of two buildings, the first looking severely burnt.

It looked like a bungalow and some distance from the main farm, so why the arson attack on it?

14_IMG_3884_14.jpg

13_IMG_3883_13.jpg

Sliding through extremely prickly thorn bushes we got to the house and not surprisingly straight in, the front door looking a little charred.

2_IMG_3872_2.jpg

Well, at least there was some evidence of civilisation here, the rusty washing machine in the corner being just that.

3_IMG_3873_3.jpg

I figure sheep live here now, the extra moulting type who like to jump on the cupboards.

4_IMG_3874_4.jpg

I had a moment in this room where my foot went through the burnt floor; fortunately, there was no deep cellar to fall into.

5_IMG_3875_5.jpg

6_IMG_3876_6.jpg

Some words of wisdom, that’s if you can read it.

7_IMG_3877_7.jpg

8_IMG_3878_8.jpg

I fear there is little hope for this one, as burnt out as you get.

10_IMG_3880_10.jpg

11_IMG_3881_11.jpg

12_IMG_3882_12.jpg

The bathwater did not look too appealing, it was a hot day and we were both struggling but there are limits as to where to cool off.

33_IMG_3903_33.jpg

We made for the big farm and hoped for a little more than a burnt-out shell.

32_IMG_3902_32.jpg

From a distance, it looked nicely sealed up, but we all know there are weaknesses in every castle's armour.

Ignoring the barns, outhouses and corresponding animal shit we focused on the house and had a good walk around the perimeter.

This main farm was out of the way of the local pissheads still making lots of noise and partying in the distance.

15_IMG_3885_15.jpg

Does the shape of that house look wrong? I could have been pissed, or maybe the camera was too but the stonework looks warped.

First impressions looked like only one section was open, and that meant climbing through a window with some broken glass attached.

Hmmm, I peered through and saw... COWSHIT!. Fuck that.

30_IMG_3900_30.jpg

The back of the house was better and it looked long, I mean much longer than from the front and yes… there was a way in!

18_IMG_3888_18.jpg

19_IMG_3889_19.jpg

20_IMG_3890_20.jpg

Burnt out just like the bungalow but I could see it was nice once.

21_IMG_3891_21.jpg

22_IMG_3892_22.jpg

The problem with fire is that it destroys almost everything and the lower ground area revealed little.

17_IMG_3887_17.jpg

I told @dizzydiscovery I was going upstairs, burnt or not. He reluctantly followed after my fake allegations, with plenty of 'oooh's' and 'aaah's' of the sheer nothingness I saw.

Well, you have to do something to get him into action!

23_IMG_3893_23.jpg

24_IMG_3894_24.jpg

Nice Jacuzzi in the corner and even a Bidet next to the shitter. That is quite unusual for the UK.

25_IMG_3895_25.jpg

26_IMG_3896_26.jpg

I was tentatively creeping around on the second storey. I am quite daring but you don't go prancing around like an elephant when a building has been firebombed.

29_IMG_3899_29.jpg

Nice fireplace, could this ever be saved or too far gone? That wonky brickwork on the front of the house tells me probably not.

27_IMG_3897_27.jpg

28_IMG_3898_28.jpg

Another one crossed off the list. They are all fun to visit, even firebombed wrecks like this.

RedLine.png

Do you like posting your Urbex content and photography for FREE on Facebook and YouTube? I like to get some form of reward for my work and every time I create I do just that. Take a look at The Urbex Community on HIVE.

If you want to keep creating for FREE then ignore what you are reading. If you want to be like me and gain something other than BUGGER ALL for your work then click here and learn about posting on the HIVE blockchain.

RedLine.png

  • Earn FREE EOS from Coinbase by taking partaking in a simple quiz here
  • Earn currency while you play brewing virtual beer with CryptoBrewMaster
  • Earn currency while you play and become a global Rock Star with Rising Star


CurieCurator.jpg

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, rehive, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #991.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Bit of a charred ruin. Some of the images are not downloading for me. Hive is limping a bit lately, so I hope the witnesses can sort it out to get this HF over and done.

Stay safe mate.

It seems better today, on the blocktrades node.

Yeah, working okay so far. Having the system messed up will put people off. I appreciate that the whales are concentrating on the HF, but stability is essential. I saw some people have the same post multiple times yesterday. Actions can appear to fair, but then go through later. I think this was causing Rising Star some issues too. Very few people really understand how the whole thing works.

Looks like a pretty grim explore, seems quite close to lived in houses!

That bath, reminded me of SAW!

It's been a while since I saw SAW (the original), but I remember it hitting home quite well. Yeah, it's the housing estate, but nobody seemed to give a damn.

The teenagers must be pretty well behaved if that's the worst they can do to a nearby empty property!

Because you have a backlog it's quite nice as we descend into winter to see these eternally summery pics. It almost always seems to be sunny :0)
Insert images by dragging & dropping, pasting from the clipboard, or by selecting them.

I'm gonna need this backlog if and when Boris tells us we can't go out again, and I figure it's gonna happen. I use peakd.com to author these but hive.blog as I can select multiple images (5), and then copy the code across.

It's a fucked up way of doing things, but that's just me...

EDIT:

Insert images by dragging & dropping, pasting from the clipboard, or by selecting them.

Is this because the chain is knackered at the mo? For a mo.. I thought you were asking me how I upload images!

I agree, I think a lockdown, even if it's only a short one is incoming!!

Oh dear, that must be the fork shit. I never put that in!! The show is doing my head in, this is the worst it has been pre-fork. Good knows what will happen on Tuesday after it

Yeah, I am constantly switching nodes trying to find one that works.

Me too. It doesn't help that I mostly use my mobile and hive signer is struggling too at times so it has been a general 'mare

The clowns in the Welsh Senedd have put Wrexham county into local lockdown. It ain't stopping me, I'm off out and about as normal. Currently there are 64/100,000 cases in Wrexham. The total population of Wrexham county is 136,000. Means less than 70 individuals allegedly have “the Covid”. And the fucktards want to tell me what to do?
#IStandWithPiersCorbyn

Covid power, that's what they are suffering from!

Dang, you better get writing if you have that many stacked up that you need to do! It really sucks that people feel the need to torch all of these places. Some of them could have some new life if it weren't for that I think.

I feel like I follow the arsonists around at times, there's always something getting burnt down.

Some great decay love how one side of the stair case is burnt the other isn’t, first time I’ve ever seen a spa bath in a farm! 😂

I hardly see these baths anywhere, even in all all these 'mansions'. Someone mentioned on Facebook that even the smallest house is now a mansion, tickled me hehe...

😂 as in “ a mansion I discovered” or “ I found this theme park it’s awesome” for places that even the tour bus now diverts from

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Because you have a backlog it's quite nice as we descend into winter to see these eternally summery pics. It almost always seems to be sunny :0)

The jacuzzi looks nice. I wonder how the sheeps missed that. And the bidet... Oh quite a catch for a a wrecked building