Tales of the Urban Explorer: John Wyatt

Ever since seeing the Hell on Earth video of this familiar, yet unrecognisable venue I was intrigued.

I discussed it with @anidiotexplorers. Where is that place? Manchester? It looked suspiciously so and yet we could not place it.

36_IMG_0838_36.jpg

It was a shock that I came across it by accident with @goblinknackers. This disused business is in Leeds and I recognised it right away by way of the Hell on Earth video.

Getting through the hole looked quite a challenge. The Hell on Earth blokes are a lot younger than me and likely a lot more supple.


HOE.JPG
...'this Hell on Earth bloke is not exactly slim but makes easier work of the window than me'...
Source

The surrounding area was deadly quiet. Did humankind exist in this part of town? It suited me as I could see getting through that hole was going to place me in an uncompressing situation.

Gone are the days of elegant climbing, it’s more like a fucking marathon today.

“Are you going in?”, I asked @goblinknackers.

“If I can find something to stand on”, he retorted.

35_IMG_0837_35.jpg

There was a plastic receptacle close by that immediately collapsed under my weight.

...well that's the end of that one, I am solo in here...

Forcing my body up, I tried to gain some traction. It was a case of wriggling through a few inches at a time while waving my legs wildly.

"Fuck man, you almost booted me in the head", cried a muffled @goblinknackers from somewhere behind me.

He had managed to film part of my struggle, and thankfully the latter half. My embarrassment had been saved.


image.png
…’if you’re going in... then do it in style… preferably head first’…

I had spotted a handy large table within and figured some handstand practice may be a good idea. @goblinknackers did contemplate following me but after a few attempts, thought better of it.

“Won't be long", I cheerily called through the hole. He did seem a little miffed about missing out, but shit happens.

1_IMG_0802_1.jpg

It appeared to be an old industrial unit, dark dusty, musty as well as dirty. @goblinknackers had handed me the light so I could see everything clearly.

2_IMG_0803_2.jpg

3_IMG_0804_3.jpg

There were some odd things in there that I couldn’t place.

4_IMG_0805_4.jpg

5_IMG_0806_5.jpg

6_IMG_0807_6.jpg

This I did recognise. An old-fashioned wringer device of sorts and it looked freshly painted or refurbished.

7_IMG_0808_7.jpg

Through the red doors of 'John Wyatt' revealed a large room with a very sticky carpet.

8_IMG_0809_8.jpg

...what the fuck is this shit I am standing in?...

It was pure squelch and like some sort of glue. The room was teeming with stuff of all kinds.

9_IMG_0810_9.jpg

10_IMG_0811_10.jpg

Old newspapers of various types, as well as books from a certain Scottish author.

11_IMG_0812_11.jpg

It looked industrial; the shelves were full of parts, some very rusty.

12_IMG_0813_12.jpg

I’m sure they probably are the finest bolts in the world, just like Carlsberg is probably the finest lager (but is far from it).

13_IMG_0814_13.jpg

14_IMG_0815_14.jpg

If you are mechanically minded then the room would have been fascinating. I am more of a tech geek.

15_IMG_0816_15.jpg

16_IMG_0817_16.jpg

It was tough to read as someone had barfed all over it, but the demand was clear to see. Pay up or we will take your stuff.

17_IMG_0818_17.jpg

A scale to hook things on to; not the most efficient method of determining weight.

18_IMG_0819_18.jpg

If John Wyatt has been empty for 4 years, it gives a little time for the spiders to settle in and mark their existence.

19_IMG_0820_19.jpg

The door opened to a large outdoor area with goods. I didn't feel good about entering as the cameras looked new.

20_IMG_0821_20.jpg

21_IMG_0822_21.jpg

Doing a one-eighty I climbed the stairs and entered pigeon-shit heaven.

22_IMG_0823_22.jpg

It somehow looks like farming equipment but I know that's unlikely.

23_IMG_0824_23.jpg

Relics of the past, this has got to be 19th century created.

24_IMG_0825_24.jpg

The area on the left with the tables and chairs could have been a tea-break place. All pretty grim.

25_IMG_0827_25.jpg

26_IMG_0828_26.jpg

The yard I wouldn't enter. Piles of pallets stacked up with goods with new-looking CCTV equipment. That's not what I was here for.

27_IMG_0829_27.jpg

Climbing up a little more revealed even more pigeon shit. My feet were now caked in the stuff.

28_IMG_0830_28.jpg

I did not feel the urge whatsoever to walk down there.

29_IMG_0831_29.jpg

The floor beyond those barrels looked ready to collapse. Someone had attempted to bar the way; most considerate.

30_IMG_0832_30.jpg

31_IMG_0833_31.jpg

The door could tell some stories, mostly about all the rust it has acquired over the decades.

32_IMG_0834_32.jpg

No Smoking? I can guarantee that everyone smoked 40 years ago at John Wyatt.

33_IMG_0835_33.jpg

34_IMG_0836_34.jpg

You can just make out the dial, the top half has been encased in pure rust.

I figured it was time to leave and yelled out to @goblinknackers.

...no response...

Struggling with the hole I saw no signs of him. He had got bored and wandered off for a stroll.

37_IMG_0839_37.jpg

Here we go again. I decided legs first might be a brighter idea as landing head first on that squashy dirty plastic thing was a truly terrible idea.

39_IMG_0841_39.jpg

One foot at a time, I struggled to escape from John Wyatt and lived to tell the tale.

RedLine.png

Do you like posting your Urbex content and photography for FREE on Facebook and YouTube? I like to get some form of reward for my work and every time I create I do just that. Take a look at The Urbex Community on HIVE.

If you want to keep creating for FREE then ignore what you are reading. If you want to be like me and gain something other than BUGGER ALL for your work then click here and learn about posting on the HIVE blockchain.

RedLine.png

TalesLogo.JPG

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, rehive, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Dang, that is a lot of crap for sure. It almost looks like it is a good 10 centimeters thick! The one piece of equipment looked like some kind of hoist. I don't know what they would have been doing with it there though. This was a pretty cool and exciting explore. I enjoyed viewing it.

There was another section that the Hell on Earth guys did but it meant walking through that outdoor courtyard. Their video goes on to say there was some foul smelling stuff in the other area.., I don't think I missed a lot :)

No, it doesn't sound like you did!

Hey. Youre not supposed to be in there

That hole, you crazy crazy dedicated funker!

That was a lot of guano, I don't blame you for not wanting to stand on it!

That hole, you crazy crazy dedicated funker!

It keeps me fit mate, and causes people to laugh. I have another head-first one coming up. I know @anidiotexplores was pissing his side watching me get in that one. That scrawny bastard has no such issues.

I am impressed, it takes much cojones to go grab first into something like that. I like your exit strategy of feet first!

I was swearing profusely trying to get out. Climb on the table, jut my feet through, push a bit, do the twist (else you break your back) and jump hoping you don't twist your ankle. It's all coming back to me.., the trials of youth!

Lol. As you say it keeps you fit but kind not to twist anything. Things don't heal as fast now! :0D

Things don't heal as fast now!

Yeah I know, I get injured often.

Now that is what I call 'making an entrance", the things we have to do to bring joy to our fellow hivers, and @goblinknackers. must win the prize of "best dressed explorer ever"

It keeps us young. Have you done a handstand yet? You should give it a go.., get's your adrenaline racing!

😂 I must remember that !

@tipu curate 🥸

Entry and egress via that picture frame sized space looks like no bloody mean feat! I seriously dunno how you do it, I wouldn't have stood a chance.

I figured it was time to leave and yelled out to @goblinknackers.

...no response...

I thought for a fleeting moment that this was gonna turn in to a very different sort of post at that point.

In many ways it is staggering just how much a place can atrophy and decay in a period as seemingly short as 4 years. The bloody pigeons never let ya down though, their corrosive and destructive effect is ever present.

It's a challenge. I shouldn't be doing this at my age, yet I do. Its also an excuse to be a big kid again.

That's a serious load of shit. Someone should be mining it for guano. Some nice machinery though. You're like some sort of archaeologist.

Sometime you don't know what to expect inside. It could be bare (and often is), and then there's these places. I should have taken more pictures, and zoomed in on the more interesting stuff. You get one chance only.

That's brilliant. The place really doesn't look like it has been abandoned for four years - a hose and a fresh coat of paint might leave the place looking like new!

It was pretty dingy in there, but much like many explores I visit. Going solo was not bad in this one. It might take some cleaning up!

@Slobberchops
I really like your posts. It's great to research the first thing. When you look at the pictures you take, it seems that everything should be given dignity. What are the advantages of using many things in the first mill and it is possible to use them with old motivation.

Lol, you guys are so brave! I’m watching Stranger Things last season right now, and your post made me remember of one of the episodes. You have to make a movie!

As usual, great quality!!

Youre like the doom slayer

Quite a few engineering relics there - maybe you had broken into the tomb of Fred Dibnah

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1576.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I love going on these adventures with you, but I am glad that I can not smell it. Maybe you should consider getting some of those disposable shoe covers, in places, the pigeon poo looked pretty thick.

Maybe you should consider getting some of those disposable shoe covers

I just wipe them on grass after leaving. It comes off easily.

... incredible review of yours !

Friday seems the day of urbex posts, as a coincidence I'm preparing one articles on a much smaller and less colored factory :)

no, there are no specific days for ubex 😉

Thanks you for sharing ! I wish you a good weekend and many futures explorations !

Friday seems the day of urbex posts

It could be a coincidence, I start writing when I feel like it.., not on a specific day!

I wish you a good weekend and many futures explorations !

Thanks.

Nice account remember the Hell on Earth vid. Different with your unique touch enjoyed it 👍🏼

Nice account remember the Hell on Earth vid.

It did make me laugh when he struggled getting through that hole hehe.., they do may entertaining videos. I struggled more!

Did you smile for the CCTV camera?

Another very cool explore. Back in the early 90's I worked in a metal bending shop that had an interior that looked a lot like that. I didn't stay very long - it was a little creepy.

Did you smile for the CCTV camera?

I don't think it was working, but as the yard was full of goods, kept away. I don't want any problems with the owners.

If these walls could speak... they would ask for smoking a cigarette like 40 years back, haha

they would ask for smoking a cigarette

Everyone smoked then (apart from me). I didn't see the point.., no high?

atmospheric, to put it mildly =) You find so many houses like this. I would be scared to go there =)
Good post!

Lmao 🤣
The photos of you guys climbing in the window are hilarious. Head first - What!?! How did that makes sense? 😂

That's a lot of pigeon shit. I feel like walking in it would stir up pigeon shit-dust that you would be breathing in. That can't be healthy lol

I don't generally do handstands, unless it makes sense! Turning around in that confined space was proving troublesome.

Hahaha 😂
I believe you. Still hilarious though.

Oh!!! Look afraid

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @slobberchops! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 27000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 27500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Be ready for the 6th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations @slobberchops! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the highest payout of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Be ready for the 6th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Always quite fascinating to see your exploration of the abandoned places of civilization 👍

Oh man! that pigeon shit hoarding all over the floor, one day there it will be filled up to the roof level. lol

From the outside, the color scheme of the building is interesting. Rock climbing really helped you climb the hole.