Tales of the Urban Explorer: The Staffordshire House

Around July 2020, 'The Staffordshire House' was part of the tour bus special. That is everyone was paying it a visit including me. Nobody appeared to give this one a name, so I have. It's in Staffordshire... a big place.

Fast-forward three months and you never hear about it anymore. Such are the trends of the community. I can guarantee it’s still there but whether it is accessible is another matter.

1_IMG_3932_1.jpg

We arrived around noon on Saturday to find it situated in a suburban area with few pedestrians, and so shuffling through the well-used opening in the bushes was not such a big deal.

If you would happen to be casually walking past the Staffordshire House, you would see trees, thick bushes, and little else. That is how disguised and removed from life it is.

I have heard stories from other explorers about angry neighbours giving them a hard time. Other than said explorers telling them to 'fuck off', that's about the extent of it.

Frankly, I can't see Mr. Neighbour meekly going back inside and ignoring the abuse myself. Living in an (almost) gun-free country does have its advantages.

2_IMG_3933_2.jpg

We saw no such activity that day and with the usual ninja skills applied, I'm quite sure nobody saw us enter though the bushes which is the way I prefer.

As for getting inside, well look at the cover image and you can probably guess how.

3_IMG_3934_3.jpg

The interior was a little sparse and for once not too much of a death-trap. Who knows what the history is or how long it has been empty?

4_IMG_3935_4.jpg

Wallpaper is still attached to the wall and a decent upper storey that is quite solid tells me 2 or 3 years maybe.

5_IMG_3936_5.jpg

It says 1991, but I don’t think all the writing on that has was added at the same time... somehow.

6_IMG_3937_6.jpg

7_IMG_3938_7.jpg

8_IMG_3939_8.jpg

Modern units in the kitchen; I needed to keep my distance from the ones piled up else they were likely to crush me if I blew on them.

9_IMG_3940_9.jpg

So the tin of Quality Street is quite old, none were left inside, lucky I wasn't hungry.

10_IMG_3941_10.jpg

11_IMG_3942_11.jpg

12_IMG_3943_12.jpg

13_IMG_3944_13.jpg

Upstairs contained little in the way of glass in the windows.

14_IMG_3945_14.jpg

15_IMG_3946_15.jpg

16_IMG_3947_16.jpg

17_IMG_3948_17.jpg

Some nice nature creeping in via the windows and a stash of VHS tapes in the corner on the chest of drawers.

18_IMG_3950_18.jpg

How many forms do you need?

19_IMG_3951_19.jpg

So the roof is a little leaky, a little work maybe is needed.

20_IMG_3952_20.jpg

That’s quite a fancy bath in the corner.

21_IMG_3953_21.jpg

22_IMG_3954_22.jpg

This detached house was large and contained another stairway up to the loft area, this one a little more ropey.

23_IMG_3955_23.jpg

24_IMG_3956_24.jpg

It was a lot more DERP'y up there, the roof having a large hole. Bad for a spare bedroom in this state I would say.

25_IMG_3957_25.jpg

26_IMG_3958_26.jpg

So there were a few holes upstairs, it wouldn’t be the same without a little danger.

27_IMG_3959_27.jpg

The cellar contained little, but we checked anyway.

28_IMG_3960_28.jpg

29_IMG_3961_29.jpg

Around the rear of the property was more like a jungle. We quickly gave up looking for anything interesting.

31_IMG_3963_31.jpg

Now, what happened to this caravan? A large wandering hill giant came by not looking where he was stepping?

32_IMG_3964_32.jpg

Not a bad explore. I should have looked a little more closely at the contents. @grindle would have done a better job than me. I don’t think he’s been here yet

RedLine.png

Do you like posting your Urbex content and photography for FREE on Facebook and YouTube? I like to get some form of reward for my work and every time I create I do just that. Take a look at The Urbex Community on HIVE.

If you want to keep creating for FREE then ignore what you are reading. If you want to be like me and gain something other than BUGGER ALL for your work then click here and learn about posting on the HIVE blockchain.

RedLine.png

  • Earn FREE EOS from Coinbase by taking partaking in a simple quiz here
  • Earn currency while you play brewing virtual beer with CryptoBrewMaster
  • Earn currency while you play and become a global Rock Star with Rising Star


CurieCurator.jpg

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, rehive, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Looks like it would have been a nice place in its day. Some 'interesting' wallpaper and odd stained glass. Another property left to rot.

I love thinking about how these places once looked. You can tell by the crown molding and what is left of the rest of the house that it was once a very beautiful place. I hate seeing property like that go to ruin.

It would have been nice one, I noticed the pillars between the front door. Would have loved to have lived here while growing up.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #999.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Nope @slobberchops not been here, not seen it on fb either tbh.
Growing up I had a similar board game but it was by waddingtons, think it was called “Grand Prix” loved that game.
I love the sporty wall paper and Santa smoking a pipe? Shocking. Nice find matey

I wish I could take the credit for finding it. It was 'Jake'd' and then everyone went there. I'm shocked you missed it.

WTF happened to that van!? Hill giant indeed...

No doubts about it, they roam the countryside.

image.png

I like how nature creeps in. It shows the futility of thinking that concrete walls are everything in life

What a trash hole. It is pretty gross how they let it get in such a bad state. I guess with no one around to pick up that is what is going to happen. That definitely is a jungle in the back. That is why you need a machete. Something you can easily conceal in your lower pant leg or something like that. Don't want to accidentally cut off your man bits.

Oh.. been in much worse than this one. One I haven't posted yet.., we were clinging to the walls to get around it was that bad inside! That's the bare walls.., everything else was coming away in our hands. Great fun!

How spectacular! Dude, I loved your post. It makes me nervous to see those pictures and imagine you going into those abandoned places. You're so brave, I'm scared just looking at the pictures. Although I confess that when I read you, I enjoy your adventures so much that I even feel like going on my own trip. But I don't think I have your nerves of steel. Maybe at the first noise I'll run away and scream hahaha 😂🤭

Go with someone else, it is scary alone.. though sometimes I do solo if I have no partner.

Looks like it would have been a nice place at one time, the almost arched ceiling in the hallway I thought was petty cool they way they did that. I have never been a fan of wallpaper but it looked like they liked it a lot a few of the rooms looked like they had several layers. The room that really caught my eye though was the pine plank wall room, that would have been a nice home office room it looked like.

Wallpaper is a little dated now, something from the last century. Most of what I see it just that though!

Thanks for using Ecency!
Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear readers, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency