Sort:  

The keychain app is awesome. I use it on my iPhone now almost daily. You set a passcode pin and then enter your keys for whatever accounts you need to add to it (I have a few accounts I’ve added to it, like my Leo alt among some other token alts) then the keys stay on your phone locally instead of stored on a server somewhere. It’s safer (if one of the services that PeakD or Ecency uses gets hacked for example) but the added benefit is you can add the memo key. Keychain is the only supported key platform that uses memo key to my knowledge. Add the security of saving the keys on my device and inaccessible without the pin and it’s a solid app to have. You also get a browser function in there so you can go to any website or you can go to the hive ones which is cool. I have PeakD, peakmonsters and leofinance loaded up so I don’t have to worry about any transactions needing my active key. I claim account creation tokens on the PeakD site, stake some Leo and check my peakmonsters balances and delegations and make changes without breaking a sweat. Any time you do a transaction like that it asks you to verify. You can even tell it that you don’t want to be prompted for verification and you do whatever you want no sweat.

Ecency is good for everything else you want to do (post, comment, vote) but I really prefer to do anything that requires my active key on the keychain app. I was so happy to learn that they came out with an iOS version for phones! I use it on my laptop every day, so using it on my phone was great.

All you really need is to enter the 3 keys on the app. Active, posting and memo. Then you never have to enter them again. The huge bonus is memo.

Thanks man! I'm the type who needs pictures, thanks for drawing pictures. So you just do transactions in keychain? I don't understand what's so bad about transacting in Ecency.

I went to the App Store, there's only about 500 "keychains." Nerd alert! Got a picture of the one I need?

Ya I’ll hook you up with some screenies in a little bit. The little man just fell asleep so I’m in the interim stage of not moving ll

Putting screenshots here, editing in a minute.

E8D8C50E-4EA7-41B8-838B-F06A0B124A90.png

E1A75EA1-5257-4394-9D15-B0BD874EF216.png

2E6A9E94-4F9E-4A48-B7AD-59871061042D.png

Received. Thank you.

I didn't type "Hive" before it.

Putting screenshots here, editing in a minute.

Here’s the app on the iOS store you should get.

2E6A9E94-4F9E-4A48-B7AD-59871061042D.png

When you have the app you need to add accounts to it by clicking the 3 dots on the top right I think. I forget if it prompts you to do that when you have the app for the first time.

E1A75EA1-5257-4394-9D15-B0BD874EF216.png

Then go to “manage keys” and then add the missing ones. It’s pretty easy!

E8D8C50E-4EA7-41B8-838B-F06A0B124A90.png

Once you have the keys in there, you can go to the browser function by clicking the 3 dots again. Navigate to PeakD.com (I don’t know if Ecency supports things like memo key and account token claiming) and navigate to your wallet. If you want to send me an encrypted memo, send me .001 hive and in the memo text the first letter needs to be # and then a space. Everything after that is encrypted. Similarly, if someone sends you an encrypted memo it will show up with a lock symbol on it if you look at your wallet and the incoming transactions. Click the lock and keychain will prompt you to unlock it using the memo key. Accept and it’s open to you now!

Oh dang I was so close to thinking I had a clue. Encrypted messages?!?

Yeah the memo key is only readable between you and the person you send it to. That’s what’s so awesome about it! It’s still logged on the chain but it can’t be read by anybody else. I’m trying to figure out a way to get that incorporated into the chain more. I have some ideas but don’t know how to code them lol.

You send me a memo, only you and I can read it. Cool shit! I sent you my cell number before since I don’t want others having it. I’ll resend it again so you don’t have to go find it, once you get the thing working.

Ok I have the app. You entered all of your keys in there? It's embarrassing to admit how naive I am to this stuff but entering my keys like that scares me.

All I can do is access PeakD through the key thing? So it's like a PeakD app? What if I use Ecency only? Man I'm sorry if I'm making this more difficult than it is.