Bicycles 🚲 | 单车

in HIVE CN 中文社区3 years ago (edited)

bikes-4.jpg



@Qurator's Photo Quest for this week is "Low Angle", and here's my entry post. Yesterday I recommended a snack bar in Cambridge, UK, now let's have a look at a street there. I took this photo of the bikes by squatting on the floor, which is apparently some "special" Asian skill? While squatting is commonly seen in many parts of Asia, I didn't realize anything weird about it. Later I got to know from my Western friends that it's pretty hard for them to do this pose, especially doing other things at the same time while squatting there, haha...

Back to the topic of bicycles... In university towns with a long history like Cambridge, bikes are a common transportation vehicle for the students and locals alike. It's the same situation in my alma mater KULeuven in Belgium regarding this. Bikes are convenient for people to navigate on the narrow cobbled streets across the town.

You frequently see young students swooshing by on their bikes like swirling wind, which makes driving on these streets a nightmare. So some locals also go with the flow and switch to bikes. Deserted bikes could always be found in a small river or canal nearby when the students finished their studies there. I remember the local government had to salvage those bikes from the clogged waterways when I was studying in the old town.



bikes-5.jpg



嗨,这次分享的是我在各地拍的单车。题图是在剑桥的街上,从低角度拍的。





Below are a few more photos of bicycles I captured during my travels.


bikes-1.jpg

shot in Los Angeles, USA | 拍于洛杉矶





bikes-3.jpg

shot in London, UK | 拍于伦敦





bikes-1-2.jpg

shot in Phnom Penh, Cambodia | 拍于金边








All content by @itchyfeetdonica
图文 by Donica

Sort:  

真棒!都是相机作品吗?

谢谢🙂 最后那张手机拍的

It's quite true that squatting is a unique Asian skill set. In South Korea, there are two steel bars flanking squat public toilets to help those in need stand up without tripping over. In my birth country Malaysia, especially in dangerous neighborhoods infested by gangsters, it's safer to ride bicycles to school. Cars might be vandalized if owners offended certain powerful people.

That's interesting to know... thanks for the info! And I always admire Malaysian Chinese, you guys have got multilingual language skills and all those varieties of delicious food! =)

Thank you! We are the product of our multicultural exposure.

有心人啊!

Love your bi cycle photography. These are amazing. Keep growing