Say hi to Sylvia 中興文化創意園區內的 Sylvia

PSX_20200624_013705.jpg

Last time I wrote about an old paper production factory on the East Coast of Taiwan. I just finished editing the video of my visit from last year, and want to show you around so you get a better feel of the site. By the way, don't forget to say hello to Sylvia!!

中興紙廠位於台灣東部的宜蘭,在日治時期盛產各類型紙張,從紙鈔到衛生紙都有,當時的生產量是東南亞之最。後來進口紙張成本較便宜,中興紙廠終於在2001年停止營運。

紙廠的園區在2017被活化成為中興文化創意園區,以舊建築為基地推廣藝術文化,讓我們可以多了解宜蘭過去一段歷史。

宜蘭對出海岸有一個名為龜山島的地方,小島形狀像龜背 。在中興文化創意園區也養了一隻小龜,背上插了一枝旗寫上名字Sylvia,很可愛又搞笑。

影片中我會帶大家遊覽園區,看看昔日風貌和小龜Sylvia 。而我最欣賞,是園區的創意,以剪紙概念融合到破舊建築上,為遊客講解歷史。

端午節快樂!



You can checkout all my travel post on the Pinmapple here or click on Mr Pinmapple below

Sort:  

Culture and Creative Park? :) Well, you didn't name it! Paper Mills seems almost defunct now, don't they? They used to be such a big part of the Industrial Landscape here.

It was a great tour and I do like what they have done with it... Does it still have that paper mill smell? I was wondering if that went away when it was shut down.

Upped and Reposted

!tip

The production stopped many years before it finally closed down, and it's very open here, no smell at all. Actually, I never realised paper mills smell as I've never been to a working one before.

Thanks for the tip!

!ENGAGE 20

I didn't either until I visited a town that had one. I was happy I didn't live near there, however, the mill really built the town up, so there are give and takes.

The park looks amazing, So nice to see them turn the once industrial space into something nice.

Thanks for the engage tokens!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks for the engage tokens!

I grew up near a paper mill in the USA, and that place stunk terribly. I still don't know what chemical or process caused the extreme stink, but it was legendary.

That place definitely is way more old-school than the now shuttered paper mill near where I grew up.

Might be sulphur, thats what this place used to use.

The way things are going, I think your kids may not be handling any paper when they grow up

!ENGAGE 30

Hmmm...not sure if that will be a good or bad thing. Most kids already don't know how to write in cursive. The paper mill was indeed a little fartish-smelling, but there were definitely some extra unknowns that made it horrendous to be within a mile or two of.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We require at least 100 words, but your post has only 72 words.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Good to know Taiwan also has Culture and Creative Parks. I thought it was just a Korean thing to give parks really boring names.

Ha ha! You'd think they could be more creative with the park's names!

yeah, naming the park Sylvia would be a great idea. lol

They should employ you as their PR manager 😊

!ENGAGE 30

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hello Sylvia! :)

I had never seen a paper factory and it was less old, I used to think about the process of how I work in those types of factories and the time it should take to distribute all that paper.

In addition, that factory must have its mysteries, or some other ghost, I say it is old.

Thanks for the tour, I greet a new friend. From Venezuela!

You never know what's lurking in those old buildings 👻

that's very true, many stories and secrets must hide.

🎁 Hi @livinguktaiwan! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

@livinguktaiwan 你好! 我真的喜欢你的工作 😍 您想不想认识委内瑞拉?


Source

我想了解中国一边学习,去年我正要赢得汉语桥比赛。没事, 我知道有一天我会去,因为我喜欢努力工作.

Nunca he estado en Venezuela antes, definitivamente un país que me gustaría visitar algún día. Tal vez le gustaría venir a visitar Taiwán en algún momento, es un país hermoso. Cuídate.

Claro claro que me encantaría! Un amigo mío ya ha visitado Taiwan y más allá de sus paisajes enaltece a su gente y con ella su cultura. A lo que me refiero antes es que lo más probable será que yo logre conocer China primero por los vínculos fuertes que hay entre ellos y Venezuela.

Muchas gracias por hacer una labor tan bonita. Es un honor leerte y ver los tour que haces.

Beautiful video I must commend. How old is Sylvia now? Pls is this

中興紙廠位於台灣東部的宜蘭,在日治時期盛產各類型紙張,從紙鈔到衛生紙都有,當時的生產量是東南亞之最。後來進口紙張成本較便宜,中興紙廠終於在2001年停止營運。

Another translation in your language?

That's a very good question, I don't know how old Sylvia is, I wish I'd asked

I am bilingual in English and Chinese but mainly write in English as it takes me a long time to write in Chinese

Ohh. I think next time you visit you'll ask her directly 😄😄😄
I bet she'll answer

Oh. I thought as much. Thanks for replying. I'm glad you did.

Wooo!! You've traveled quite a bit, that's wonderful, you're like a bird. I know three countries so far. Lol

But I would also like to meet many more. Do you speak Spanish too? Mexico has many beautiful places to visit. Greetings from Mexico.

I wish I spoke Spanish!! It would be so handy for travel, particularly in Latam. I would love to visit Mexico someday, as that is the last 7 wonders of the world country I have yet to visit. In fact I was told Spanish is a relatively easy language to learn and there are many overlaps with Italian. A friend said learning Spanish is a bonus as you're effectively learning 1.5 language 😄

Thank you for dropping by!

Hi! I don't know how easy it is to learn speak Spanish but if you speak Italian it can be easier couse when I watch an Italian movie I can understand a lot of what they're speaking so both languages are similar. I hope you can to visit Mexico soon. Have a happy day! 🤗

In many ways to us bloggers and vloggers a paper mill could seem like a relic of bygone days. As an avid book reader I certainly hope not, in fact I would see that as a tragedy. I wrote recently about how I feel about e-readers and reading media devices... I think that tech is amazing for those who enjoy it but my Daughter said something recently which I have always believed too...

There's just something about the look, feel and even the smell of the pages of a book. I have always massively enjoyed second hand book shops. They have that sustainability aspect of re-using something that has already been loved but the old time feel I adore too.

It is certainly nice to put a face and a voice to your name and I am of the mind to make my first video in the coming week as I do believe it brings another element to the community, the faces and voices help us to connect and engage to a greater degree in my opinion.

Technology really is a double edged sword, isn't it? I think the trick is to use the very best it has to offer whilst maintaining the traditional aspects of life too. It is awesome to get to know a little more about a fellow #Teamuk
member too.

I hope Monday is amazing and leads to an even better week to follow :)