Why did I become a vegetarian? / 何でベジタリアンになったのだろう?

in Hive JP3 years ago

Vegetables occupy large part of my plate ... When I saw fried rice was somehow a side and salad was main on my lunch plate, I started thinking why did I became a vegetarian.

0DFF35D8-FD8E-4854-8A60-17044827F8FE_1_105_c.jpeg

I aware of animals, their rights and lives. A talk between two vegans pushed me to make the final decision to become a vegetarian last autumn. (If you are interested in the talk, English caption is available.)

At the same time I doubt I just simply like to eat vegetables, beans and mushrooms. Tomatoes might feel scary when I put them in my blender but I do so. If I had to choose one category of food for my life, I definitely go for vegetables.

Instead of saying "I'm a vegetarian", I like to say "I'm a big veggie fan". I like the colors, variety of texture, seasonal & regional differences, flavors, unique way of growing in fields etc etc. Or to say, somehow I notice my mouth and stomach crave vegetables then I prepare for them ... ?

No conclusion. Still I cannot explain well why I'm a vegetarian ... 😉


お昼ご飯にサラダと炒飯を作ってもりつけたら、サラダがメインで炒飯が副菜みたいになってしまい、そこからなんでベジタリアンになったのか考え始めました。

動物の命や権利も気になるんですよ、実際去年完全にベジタリアンに移行しようと思ったきっかけはビーガンの方2人の命に関する対談でした。

[動物保護活動家 海月ダンテ氏と~命の話をしよう](動物保護活動家 海月ダンテ氏と~命の話をしよう - TOKYO VEG LIFE | YouTube)

ただ、その一方で、ブレンダーでトマトを粉砕して「なんて美味しいトマトソースなんだろう」なんて言いながら食べる自分もいます。トマトにしたらこわいですよね・・・。

2FE4C5A7-7770-43F5-A8CF-8AAAFB0C88DF_1_105_c.jpeg

そこで、単に私は野菜が好きなだけなのではとふと思いました。もちろん動物も大事にしたいです。でも家で飼ったり保護したりするほどではありません。

野菜は、なんていうんだろ、いろいろな色とか形とか、質感とか、季節感や地域の違いや、畑で育つユニークな姿や、その一つ一つに興奮する感じです。さっきはコールラビについて調べていて、ウィンターガーデンで鉢植えで育てようかななんて妄想をたくましくしていました。

そんなこんなで、自分のことなのになんでベジタリアンになったのか理由をうまく説明できません。

まあ、わからないことがあってもいいかな・・・という日曜日のオチ無し投稿でした。