“Japanese Calligraphy Style T-shirt Design 日本の書道風Tシャツのデザイン”

in Hive JP4 years ago

BEA47928-5894-40CD-B5DE-E27E00A87DD5.jpeg

“Japanese Calligraphy Style T-shirt Design 日本の書道風Tシャツのデザイン”

English and Japanese 日本語と英語です。

I designed a Japanese calligraphy style T-shirt. Mainly, this was for my client. I enjoyed this interesting project.

First of all, I had an request to draw letters on a T-shirt for an Aikido teacher. My client wanted to draw the teacher’s common expression on the gift T-shirt. I searched many ways to draw it on the T-shirt. Some professional calligraphers directly draw on the T-shirt with a calligraphy brush and acrylic ink.

書道風Tシャツのデザインをしました。依頼を受けたのがきっかけでした。このプロジェクトはとても興味深く楽しかったです。

そもそもの始まりは、合気道の先生へTシャツをプレゼントしたいとのことでした。その合気道の先生がいつも言う言葉をTシャツに書道のように書いて欲しいとのこと。わたしはTシャツへの文字の書き方の方法を調べました。プロの書道家の方は書道の筆でアクリルインクなどを使用して直接書くようです。

DF18441F-287D-4703-AAB8-750C168F7114.jpeg
(Digital Design Version デジタルバージョン)

B4AB3E7A-D68D-49E5-BB5D-9A9B6BA9DD27.jpeg

I designed the digital calligraphy style image first. On the other hand, my client prepared everything for the gift. He requested me to draw directly on the T-shirt.

Wow! That was an interesting offer and I thought I have no reason to refuse it. I just didn’t want to mess up the nice T-shirt. Actually, I learned from my mistakes.

当初わたしはデジタルで書道スタイルのデザインをしました。一方で、依頼者の方がこのプレゼントに必要なものを全て準備してくれていました。
Tシャツに直接書いて欲しいとのことでした。

わぁっ!面白い依頼です。断る理由が特にありません。ただ、いいTシャツをダメにしたくありませんでした。実のところ、失敗から学びました。

9C2116BA-0A5E-4AAB-94D2-A427D42BCE17.jpeg

My client is my Japanese student. He is an Aikido teacher and a university professor. He is a very interesting gentleman. His sense is very sharp and cool. That is why, this project was interesting.

He prepared special permanent pens called Tulip. These are ok to draw on fabric. These pens are very good actually. I felt like I was using brush pens. I tried to write the letters first but I changed my mind. I decided to draw the letters. It worked.
And then, I made mistakes. I tested washing my practice T-shirt after I dried the T-shirt and damaged it. OMG! I turned it into a tie dye T-shirt anyway. It looks Wabi-Sabi style I would say. I am glad that wasn’t the gift one. Phew...

依頼者の方はわたしの日本語の生徒さんです。合気道の先生で大学教授です。この方はとても興味深い紳士です。とても鋭くかっこいいセンスの持ち主です。ですから、このプロジェクトは面白かったのです。

Tulipという会社の布ペンを用意してくれました。このペンは良かったです。筆ペンのような感覚でした。初めは文字を書こうとしましたが、文字を描くことに切り替えると上手くいきました。乾かした後、洗った感じを確かめてみたのが間違いです。ぐちゃぐちゃになりました。そんなわけで、失敗したTシャツはタイダイに染めました。わびさびスタイルと呼ぶことにします。本番のTシャツじゃなくて、ホッとしました。

921F336B-6D69-4929-8BA8-5D90F19A7C76.jpeg

1A0F2D65-69B9-4F0B-8BC6-805BE8C264DC.jpeg

I read the pens’ instructions one more time, it said, we have to wait and dry the fabric at least 24 hours. I recommend a week or more. It depends on how you draw though. If you color thicker, you still might have a chance to damage your T-shirt. Some people recommend to use an iron, hair dryer or hair spray as a top coat. I used an iron.

After that mistake, I practiced on my other T-shirt. And then, I completed the actual one. Also, I added the letter Chi(Ki) on the back side around the neck part. I used a classical Kanji character. I really enjoyed this project and I want to continue it! Big appreciation for this opportunity!

もう一度この布ペンについての説明を読み直しました。24時間位乾かしてと書いてありますが、一週間かそれ以上乾かすのをおすすめします。どのようににして描いたかにもよりますが、何度も重ねて色をのせた部分は、どんなに乾かしてもやはり色がにじんでしまうことがあると思います。アイロン、ドライヤー、ヘアスプレーなどでコーティングするという人もいるようです。わたしはアイロンをあてました。

失敗のあとに、自分のTシャツで何度か練習してから本番のTシャツを完成しました。裏の首のあたりには合気道の気である旧字の氣を描きました。この企画を楽しみました。今後も続けたいなと思います。この機会に感謝です。

6D92A5BB-ADA1-40BC-8B2D-05A00B2F972A.jpeg

BCD33DF6-B2AD-4DA8-B9C0-FB9B1FB5DB28.jpeg

1281DBBD-1935-4DCC-AF77-D50DBFD7C690.jpeg

13C01C51-1C21-497E-BEF1-11E436497766.jpeg

About Tulip Tulip products 製品についてはコチラ: https://www.tulipcolor.com/

B8B16762-A3E7-4B2D-9451-7866783A8C5A.jpeg
My Site: https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1/blog

Sort:  

おつかれさまでした!武道の先生からの依頼ってありますよね。私は道場に飾るという板に書いてと太い筆と板を渡されたのを思い出しました😁

えー!やはりそうなんですね。わたし達はみな書道家だと思われるのでしょうか?笑
太い筆で看板もなかなか面白そうですね。緊張しますね。

とても楽しい経験でした。書道は学校でも習った懐かしい思い出があるのと、文字を書くのは好きなのでいい経験をさせてもらいました。

おぉ~!これは面白い企画ですね
「意味?わかる」って・・・面白すぎです^^

面白いリクエストですよね。敬語にしたり、長い文章だとTシャツのデザインとして見た目が悪いので、色々と考えた結果、Does it(that) make sense? が意味わかる?になりました。