If I was President for a day I'll try to make everyone do their job

in Speak Peace4 years ago

I hate it here, I really do and if you truly like this country, then you should hate it here as well. I want things to be better but at the same time I'm not stupid, you know? because I don't want to die of course. Like, I want to fix Nigeria, and as an individual, I do what I can to fix up my corner but the truth is that there's something fundamentally wrong with this country and it'll take a "stupid" person to fix.

If I was President for a day, I think I'd be that stupid guy. They'll either kill me or nail me to a cross through propaganda but that's just the price one has to pay. In Nigeria, the small fries are forgotten quite easily because they don't make a big splash but for the big fish? It is a completely different story.

If I was President for a day, my first task will be to cut down the cost of governance and instead of pretending to fight "corruption", I'll just work out ways that we can reduce loopholes in the system. I'm going to run a ruthlessly frugal economy that will starve out all the frauds trying to eat from the "National cake" and will focus exclusively on actually doing shit.

Speaking of the "National Cake", if I'm made President, there will no longer be a cake to even gain from. Each state in the federation will be run as individual businesses by the Governor and all of them will send only a quota to the federal account. People won't have to wait for federal projects anymore because they'll be handling their shit by themselves, kind of like how Lagos functions.

If I was President, I'd focus on power generation and distribution; it is not farfetched to expect the country to be capable of making electricity available to the country. As mundane as this may sound, we still don't have regular electricity and it has really hindered the economic growth of the country.

The system drags you down because of ineptitude, and from someone that's experienced low-level version of it, I must say that cleaning out the rut in the Educational system will be arduous. However, it is very possible if we can find a way to remove the "Nigerian factor" from activities. If we can find a way to cut out politics and self-service, for just doing your job, we'd move forward in the society.

The issues pervading this country are way too many for one man to fix in one life time. However, I believe that the fastest way to fixing this country is by having everybody just do their damn jobs. I don't even mean you should do it well; I'm saying just do it. It would take a stupid man willing to go against the grain to achieve this and yo be honest, he'll probably die in the process.

I haven't even touched on issues like insurgency, poverty, the dwindling economy, our overdependence on imported goods, horrible healthcare and whatnot. Just thinking about it sort of makes me depressed but that's life. At the start of 2020, $1 was 360, but right now, it trades at $1=465, with speculation of a further drop in the near future. It is a mess of a situation that has my head spinning and all could be fixed if people just did their damn jobs.


Sort:  

Yeah, let me just say this country is a messed up country and if we do really love it we have to hate how things are run here.

If everybody do their job especially does leaders then this country would be better.

Cutting the salaries of those leaders is another thing I would do, because a senator in this country is paid more than the president of America itself.

Anyway as you have said, if a man wants to make this country better, he is ready to risk his life for it.

Like, you have to be a very "stupid" person to make that decision.

Yeah that's the point. I don't mind being stupid for a particular purpose.

Same here. That's why I said it in the post. I think Toby misunderstood my previous comment, please can you help me explain to him that I didn't insult you

I just wanted to be neutral that just it so that it won't look like am taking sides but I really understand your article if you are the one to correct this acts you will surely be there but my brother most people have good intentions before getting there but on getting to that power it's another story but as for you if you will be the one to fix all the mess God will take you there

Hoooops I miss understood the message bro

Sure, it is fine. Thanks again brother.

Please have been to so many communities on this platform have never seen this kind of confrontations please friends let's be mindful of the way we talk to each other and the way we respond to questions we are all Nigerians we no how messed the situation his but we should not also bring down the name of our dear country we are born there we are raised there our brothers are there we have uncles there so we don't need to be fighting our self instead let's pray for the leaders and for the country as a whole in other communities on hive they love them self and even help each other to grow up and to learn more God bless you all and God bless Nigeria

I hope you read the post Toby. If you read my post, you will understand what I said.

Lol, I was laughing when I read his comments 😄😂😂

I did and I understand you very well but I only want to address the issue with you guys that what am trying to talk on

Bro Tobi, thanks for the words. It's really nice of you. This shows we still have Nigerians that care for each other.

Anyway, he wasn't insulting me though he was just regarding to a context he talked about in his post.

Read here below

It would take a stupid man willing to go against the grain to achieve this and yo be honest, he'll probably die in the process.

So to what I said I would do if I was to become a president classifies me as that stupid man. He wasn't really given a direct insult.

Thanks again brother, hope you have a nice day 🤗

Nice one jate

Please how can we grow together here

Chat me up on discord starstrings01#8020 and kindly join the hive naija server if you are not there already. 🤗

https://discord.gg/3kxMsaJ

We need to pray more for our dear country and one day God will hear our prayers let's stay positive and also pray for our selfish and greedy leaders for God to touch their mind God bless Nigeria God bless the citizens

I'm tired of praying. I just want concrete work.

Interesting @belemo. This is funny though, National Cake", if I'm made President, there will no longer be a cake to even gain from. But "National cake is the reason why our country is falling. Everybody wants to eat the so-called National cake, so they do what it takes to get a share.

@belemo, take am easy, cool your temper oo. He ko better, nah so poor man they talk.

lol if evrybody does their job, there won't be need for national cake because we'll all be productive and growing the society

Now I haven't been to Nigeria... but seems to me that with the amount of oil exported officially and unofficially the wealth is there to help those in need. Just greed keeping the nation down I suppose. I'm a big fan of Fela Kuti by the way...

Fela Kuti is awesome. He's way before my time but I listen to his music regularly. He was an activist that was spreading his message through songs and fought a good fight.

You're right though; there's just so much greed, it is baffling. People don't want to eat food, they want to be gods on Earth

Yes Fela was and still is incredible. I have nothing but full respect for him. What an amazing life he lived. Setting a great example for all of us. A true freedom fighter. As far as greed. On the last breath of their life I believe that greedy people will regret their actions. Governments are supposed to serve the people but that's a rare thing especially in these times...

I've given up on them and I'm just going to live my best life. Power hungry people are in office, while good people can't get into power because they're not willing to get their hands dirty.

We only have a few years to live on Earth, anyways, all we can do is fix our corner and leave the rest for god

Have the Covid-19 tenderpreneur scandals started yet? Cause they have over here.
I think one thing that surprises me about Nigeria is the electricity issue. I see plenty of people with generators. It must drive you up the wall trying to succeed amidst such limitations.
Electricity, Internet, Water: They are a must.
A revolution is necessary to break these vices that have been entrenched by corrupt politicians.

Posted using Dapplr

It is insane I tell you. Those generators will make you lose your shit man. So damn annoying.