What do you think about a Hive Naija meetup?

in Speak Peace4 years ago

image.png

One of the core motivation I had for creating the Nigerian Hive community way back in February was to explore ways to foster camaraderie between each other. I've always felt that a large number of us from this part of the world would benefit from interactions with each other and so far so good, the discord channel has proven this to be true.

I was talking to some of my friends in the community and we shared ideas about the potential of arranging a get together sometime this year. Everyone thought it would be a good idea and shared slightly differing opinions about how it should go down, but it is all in theory now, so nothing has been finalised.

There were a couple of issues or shall I say hurdles to overcome if we are going to arrange a get-together, and top of the list, at least to me, is the location. The community already has 101 members and it would be somewhat difficult to gather everyone in the same place, so we figured that different meetups be held at different parts of the country. I really don't know how that will work but it seems like the only way that we can do something that will be all-inclusive on the same day.

I feel like arranging a get-together is very possible and sometime in SEPTEMBER would actually be cool because it will give everyone enough time to make any arrangements they need to make. I live in Kaduna right now but I'm looking forward to going to Lagos because that's where a lot of the people I interact with reside.

Other than location, we were also talking about arranging some branded merchandise and stuff like that so the get-together will double as an awareness campaign. The whole idea is to have fun and hopefully meet some of your favourite content creators around here. Personally, I intend to get @nonsowrites drunk and steal his wallet key and of course, make fun of @mistakili because he's my bitch in @splinterlands amongst other things.

It is all theoretical now but I think it can be brought to life. We're still open to more ideas and any sort of support to achieve this by September. Do you want something clandestine or like an event? Is September too soon for you? Any ideas about these issues and any other point is totally welcomed right now.

Sort:  

As long as @wolfofnostreet is coming

Hopefully. We might end up attending the one in Abuja though.

Abuja would be nice!!!

I know right? I'm in Kaduna, so it is just like two hours away.

I stay in Niger, Suleja LG..

Suleja is close to Abuja shay?

Yes, it is.

Lagos

Yes I like Lagos, make I come buy you beer then thief your wallet key when you done drunk 😆😆

Una don remove Lagos for equation forgetting say Lagos na center of excellence

Lagos dey na. We dey think about different locations at the same time. Abuja, Lagos, and Akwa Ibom. I go like come Lagos, even though Abuja near me pass. Na to do am in a way way anybody fit attend somewhere.

Lol I know o, I just dey joke. Anyway sha you're right, where people go attend pass na him make sense

We need thousands of people joining our Hive this year

Let’s make it happen

That's the plan man

This is greet. I agree with the idea of meeting in September but I think before we decide to make the meeting, we should get to know how many of us reside in different states. This is contribution:

I live in Akwa Ibom State first we should get to do get together for those of us who reside in Akwa Ibom State and get to plan and have an estimate of how we all can go together and come back together. So I think it should be for all others.

Know how many people reside in your area (get together), make plans, and have an estimate, get back to you with a picture and names of all living in that area, and work towards the September get together.

Thank you @belemo

I like your idea. I don't even like the idea of people traveling long distances, so I was thinking of just having many local meetups in different states, rather than a unified one in one place

That's a good idea. Well, we could also meet together as a family maybe before the year runs out after getting to meet per state and know how many people reside in a particular area for the fun of it, to spice up the community, and for those of us that want to meet new people and faces on Hive.

It all depends on the agreement of others as well.

Yeah. I think we can do clandestine gathering within each location. Nothing special, just normal hangout to interact and stuff.

Great. Abeg me no wan miss out ooo.

We dey together. We go run am

Na so, I dey feel the vibes. Oshe ooo

Yea Dats cool enough, I equally live in akwa ibom state,

Anyway, I don't know when dis post was made or if you guys have already met but I think zoom cloud meeting can help to know more about interested individuals and locations

Wow, that's cool to know. We are yet to meet and when it is time, we will pass the information to you.