HiveNaija Weekly Prompt: Less is More.

in Speak Peacelast year


Pexels - Mizuno K

Life in a third world country is not impossible. Difficult? Yes. But even first world country citizens deal with their problems. In all parts of the world, there are problems and then there are problem solvers who happen to be the one benefitting of the world’s many gifts; wealth.

I had this thought a long time ago when the heat of the No-Cash policy was still heavy. Hearing the tales of people who had to sleep in banks and watching POS operators slice people open, I was torn between accepting the reality and working a way around it and just plain doing nothing except hope for retribution.

The problem with a country like ours is the fact that people who are given the reigns for leadership are those who understand the significance of power. They understand it from the negative perspective and the people suffer for it. Let’s face it. Our Country is like this right now because it wasn’t given the right foundation.

But I digress. How have I coped in this place with the cashless policy?

Honestly, I coped by turning a blind eye. Yes. I ignored it. I did not live in obliviousness if that is what you’re thinking. I just understood the weight of what I could deal with and what I can’t.
Those who really know me would know how much I love my country, flaws and all. Late nights and sacrifices I made (they might have been little and would probably have no effect) to make a small difference.

When it all came tumbling down (thanks to the brazen face of corruption), I was done. I haven’t lost hope but this is what we all know as self-preservation.

So, most of my transactions occurred from my bank app. For the first time, I understood what the Chinese term “Blackbellied” really meant.

I’ll explain it this way. When we go to a shop with our hard earned cash, we expect to be served. Now, what happens when you don’t have that cash but a substitute that may or may not be accepted? This was my case.

On a norm, I hardly spend. The only things I spend on are data, my hair and food (transportation on occasion). I can’t remember the last time I bought something nice for myself (because my money is going to one great investment or the other). I get most of my wages wired to my account (just how I like it to stop unnecessary spending) from which I deduct percentages and send them to where they ought to be.

But this No-Cash policy put a peg and a huge squash to a lot of it. Not that I am complaining but my brain hurts just thinking about it. It is already hard enough for me now to earn fiat (thank you Nigeria) but then the scarcity of cash (both physical and digital) made me think hard about a lot of things.

Somethings happen...Some people don't. What am I?

I can say with all surety, that unlike how it was supposed to be, this time made me actually see what was missing. Tracking expenses became easier even if it still hurts to think. My conscience played a hefty role in this game. I knew when I was veering off budget and like an alarm, it’d blare and my senses would flare.

I also came to a horrid realization that I was financially illiterate. With a new purpose, I determined to read and study books about money, accounting and whatever else. Do I know what I’m doing? No. But my instincts are gearing me towards this path. So, I’ll take it.

From hindsight, the only thing this No-Cashless policy has given me (just like my country) is heartache. It is really scary how these political stuff affect me beyond reason. Well, just like any citizen, I am on the receiving end of their stick. The question is, what would I do with this experience? Learn or what?


Sort:  

You are learning, not sure what, but you are learning!
That is what one does, always learn from a situation, whether it is good or in this case not so good!
Or like our grannies did, keep your cash in a biscuit tin!
!LUV
!ALIVE

You mean Matilda?

Same feelings. Maybe she's just talented).
!invest_vote

@stdd denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@stdd thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

headache is just a perfect word, I try not to think about it that much.

I spoke with a pos operator today and for the very first time since all of this, cash is available on my street.

A little !luv for the headache.

I never see cash o. I never see...💔. Thanks for the !luv❤️

Don't worry, there should be more cash this week.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @tengolotodo.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Just keep going! I feel that potential).
!invest_vote

Yes siree... 😁😁😁

@stdd denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@stdd thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @deraaa ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

At least there's cash now, finally withdrew yesterday for the first time in a long time

Hello babe. I've been mostly absent from Hive these last few weeks (struggling with so much screen time). But I'm (over)due for a marathon update post and on here thinking about who I miss. I miss you. So I'm here, reading your awesome, heart breaking post. Far out that sounds tough.

Thank you for sharing with us about what's happening with money in Nigeria. It keeps things in perspective for me in this rich first-world country. Yes, everywhere we have problems but some problems are truly far bigger and far more challenging than than elsewhere.

I want you to know that it's totally normal when we are really stressed to oscillate between ignoring (nervous system "freeze") and rapidly taking action to try and fix the problem. I'm glad you're deliberately learning about money and aiming to become financially literate. You're a clever woman. I have no doubt that you'll know more about how to build wealth (in an ethical way) better than most people, even if you have to get creative with the totally messed up system your nation is currently working with.

You can do this. You'll learn. You'll take advantage of ethical opportunities. And you'll probably be teaching others what you've learned soon enough, Miss!

Sending you !LUV love love and a !HUG hug hug. xxx

Thank you so much and I noticed your absence. I was actually gone for a while too and that was a post after a while. And yes, being literate financially is something I am pursuing with all my heart. And I had this bias regarding education, until now when I see that being educated (especially financially) is really critical to who we become.

While it might seem strange that I would need financial literacy training in a rich country, I do. I took had a biased education and I was taught much about debt, not a lot about savings, nothing about investments and never got my head around the power of compounding!

So I took an learning right alongside side you, sister.

!LUV

We are taught the same thing over here only that we are also taught to save. The only good my country did was make Credit Cards impossible and that way, we average and less than average don't get into debts unless you want to.

Got it! Here's to all of us becoming more financially literate, secure and abundant. 🙏🌞🤩 !LUV

Dear @deraaa, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @consciouscat.
(2/3)