Walking towards the unknown again

in Speak Peace2 years ago

IMG-20220723-WA0005.jpg

It has been a year since I have been in Anambra Nnewi.

I can't lie it was scary at the beginning and middle but it got easier.

All the talks about kidnappings were especially scary at the beginning. When I was coming here, so many people warned me about Onitsha and how your phone could be taken from your ear while using it, particularly when you are seated next to the window.

Before I came I saw pictures of ritual killings and I think Twitter made things worst.

While staying here the IPOB sit-at-home mandates started. I remember how we repeatedly had to disappoint patients who had their surgery booked on Monday.

Then shopping on Sunday was not such a big deal. Now there are weeks that if you don't make it to the market you will starve.

I was once a victim of this starvation...when call food started having some logistics issues.

Now the town has stabilised...shops open by 4 pm on Mondays and everybody just knows...everyone knows the day of the week too.

Right now my next destination, Leading a hospital and unfinished business in the East has me a little anxious. But I've been past bad times so I'm just anxious...not afraid.

I really don't know how things will go from here but I have to stay hopeful for anything to work...so...

ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif

Get mt merch...Just send me a message so we can start working on it.

ezgif.com-gif-maker (1).gif

Sort:  

Oh man that is some scary stuff! I hope your new location is more safe and you have a good stay there.
!BEER

Thanks...I'm looking forward to it. I'll try my best to be safe.

I left Anambra 5 Months into the crazy sit-at-home. I love some stuff about the craziness of Onitsha as a whole and I always have my roots and early memories there. I travel back there during Xmas and stuff, but for some reasons, the anxiousness that comes with being in Anambra is a very tough one.

Nnewi is not really as crazy as Onitsha, but the craziness is everywhere in Anambra State. Hahah.

Stay safe bro and be cautious. Nigeria as a whole requires high level of cautiousness.

Wise words.

Awh mehn it sucks that I never come out of work to hang out...not even with outher doctors. I'd have loved to chill with other hive members (you being one of the coolest).

My Christmas in Nnewi was spent taking care of sick peopl all day...same thing with new year.

Stay safe too...

Hahah... The job is not easy. You guys spend so much time on duty and it's all for a good cause. Hopefully, in the future, all of us will be able to enjoy a flexible working lifestyle.

GoodLuck Bro.

Yeah...same to you chief

Na everywhere you don go for this nigeria

untitled.gif

Lolzz... Haha. Anambra was my hood until I decided to see what's happening in Oyo State. I'm even more of an Anambralian than my own hometown 😂😂.

Congratulations! Ahhhh...I've heard of the infamous tales of Onitsha. Glad you are unharmed! Thank you for posting in the HiveNaija Community!

Its the wild wild east ma'a. Thank God and be safe too

It's really crazy these days. I stayed in Anambra for over a month in 2019, and it was peaceful back then. Please, be safe.

Thanks, I will. I moved to Ibadan now though


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.


Hey @ebingo, here is a little bit of BEER from @phoenixwren for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more