My First Experience with the Nigerian Police

in Speak Peace3 years ago

Many people have got only terrible things to say about the Nigerian police and mine would be in no way different. Since I became self-aware, hardly can I remember having a personal experience involving something positive with the police. From taking bribes, to extorting civilians at gun points, twisting cases to suit their agenda...... their crimes can be mentioned on and on.

Despite all their atrocities, I have never had any personal encounter with the police until this fateful day. It was back in the year 2013, December to be precise. I Was still shuffling between Lagos and Ile-Ife. While my main base was in Lagos, I was about to round up my Master's program at Obafemi Awolowo University.


source: pxhere

I usually put up in my family's house whenever I am in Ife. It was a Sunday morning, just finished preparing a pounded yam for the entire household and about to settle down to devour mine when two strangers - a man and a woman in their middle age - entered into the sitting room.

'Who is Mr. X?' The man asked.

I responded in the affirmative. He brandished an identity card belonging to the Nigerian police.

'Your attention is needed in our station.'

'For what?' I asked.

'When you get to the station'

'Interesting. In that case, can I at least go in and put something on for heading for the station?' I chipped in politely.

At this point, the accompanying policewoman repositioned herself and re-adjusted her body in a manner that shows preparation for battle. She probably thinks I would try to run away or do something silly. Without waiting for an answer, I headed into my room and put a t-shirt on. My dad and step mum questioned the police to give a slight hint of what my crime could hv=ave been but no helpful answer was given. Whatever I am being accused of, I am 100 percent certain I did not do it.

I stepped out and told them to let us head to the station.

'Can I have your phones?' The policeman asked in a rough voice.

I might not know many laws, however, I am damn sure that a policeman randomly asking for my phone is borderline an infringement on my rights.

'On what ground should I submit my phones? Since you have refused to tell me why I need to follow you to the station, I cannot also release my phones to you until I am sure of what is going on.'

It seems the officer knows his boundaries because he never argued with me. While all these was going on, a figure has been at the background who happens to be the mother to my close counsin. Growing up in the same environment, I and my cousins have grown to be found of one another so much so that I call his mum my mum. Not like I have got a biological mother anyway. She died while I was still an infant.

I gained admission to the university a year before my cousin was able to secure his, albeit in different schools. Each time I come home from Lagos, I always try to say hi to his parents even if my cousin is not around. On this particular visit, I have not had the chance to say hi to them only for the mother to show up in our house in the company of policemen - strange.

Getting a bit of my sense back after the initial shock. I faced my cousin's mum -

'Mummy, good morning ma. Hope there is no problem?'

'Well, that is how I see it.' She replied

I got further confused. See what? Several thoughts kept on jumping into my mind. What could be wrong? Why is she with the police? Has my cousin commited a crime and mentioned my name as an accomplice? My fear grew a notch.

'Mummy, please talk to me. Where is A (my cousin)? Hope he is fine? What really happened ma? Why are you with the police?'

I kept on asking all these questions while the police led the way to a standing vehicle. I also noticed that the vehicle belongs to my cousin's mum. My mind just went blank as to what could be the cause of all these.

The journey to the police station took about twenty minutes - even though it seemed like hours to me. My aunt who happens to be the elder sister to my cousin in question joined us along the way. Knowing that my cousin himself is in a far away state about 200 km away, I got extra confused but decided to take it cool. At least, these people cannot kidnap me. When we get to the station, everything will unravel.

What happened at the station? Stay tuned for the second episode of my experience with the Nigerian police.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

The article ended quickly as I read it with excitement. I found myself as if I was watching an action series. I will be waiting for the continuation🕵️🕵️‍♀️

Don't worry. The second episode is coming soon. I'll tag you when it's done.

It will be very good. 🕵️‍♀️I hope there is nothing bad at the end.🙏

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Very smart, to not give up your phone. The clue that they had no right to take it was in the way they asked, 'CAN we have your phone?' This is a trick police use to get evidence and information they don't have the authority to take. Whenever they ask, they don't have the authority.

When they DO have the authority, they order you to give them what they want, or just take it.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Even when they order, you should ask for their warrant. Not just a verbal order

Wahala... This man! You want to kill us with suspense. I wrong now

Lol...second episode tomorrow. Unfailingly