My Nigerian independence cake story

in Speak Peace3 years ago (edited)

Cake are made for celebration and they definitely add colour to the event of the day which could range from child dedication to house warming, baby shower, bridal shower, inaugurations, birthdays, weddings, anniversaries, ground breaking achievement and the list goes on.

## Weird

Come to think of it, I have never experienced cake cutting during a burial ceremony.
Although, to me, It is not a bad idea for someone who was aged and fulfilled, impacted many lives while he or she sojourned on earth. The title of such persons obituary would not read


with heavy heart we announce the death of so,so,so.

Rather, it will read thus

**with gratitude to God for a life well spent, we announce the transition to glory of so,so,so. **

For such the burial ceremonies, It is going to be a celebration of life. What is your take on this? Do you think your culture and traditions can accommodate this paradigm shift? Please let me know in the comment section.

Talking about birthdays and anniversaries, a lot of people see different reasons to celebrate their day of joy and so they may decide to throw parties, cut cakes and celebration continues.

In like manner, the independence anniversary of my great country Nigeria is an occasion that should be celebrated by all citizens to show patriotism to their country.

October 1st 1960, Nigeria, a land flowing with milk and Honey disguised in opportunity that are flooded on her streets. Nigeria, the giant of Africa got her independent from British Colonial Rulers that faithful day and in my opinion that the anniversary of Nigeria's independence is worth celebrating with cakes contrary to the opinions of numerous others.

For over seven yes consecutively, I have been in the habit of either I am cooking patriotic meals or I am lucky to have clients who would want an independent day cake without choosing any design. This alone broadens my creative horizon. Giving me the opportunity to conceptualise and create designs from scratch. Guess what am always super excited when I get such orders.
I love my country naturally .0ne thing that keeps me going is not wanting to give customers same style every time this is where original creativity comes into play.

I will humbly like to take you through some of my creations which depicts my love for my country and at the same time the expresssion of myself but before I do that, let me show my national flag in colour green white green so you can better know how to educate me by giving me ideas on how to decorate cake or food in the nearest future.

images.jpeg
ix

You see, on this of independence, I waited for orders but none came however, i had a couple of friends who came visiting so, in my usual manner,i prepared a delicious patriotic meal for us to merry and thank God for our great county Nigeria. The meal was vegetable with assorted meat and rice.it was so delicious. We enjoyed the presentation, we enjoyed the meal.

IMG_20211004_214808_986.JPG

On this year's Independence Day, I had a cancelled order. The client called in to say that he would not be in town for the celebration. oh!this hit me really hard that i wasn't happy about the whole thing and it was really affecting my mood so I had to make these cupcakes to get me back to a lively mood for celebration.

IMG_20211004_214733_332.JPG

A year before this production, I had delivered a simple 8 inches green white green butter cream cake. It was the normal, regular, no sweat, cake production because I did not have enough time to do the extras. So, This time around I had wanted to satisfy myself and at the same time impress my client so I decided to create a map of Nigerian, a map shaped cake it was hectic had many cut outs as waste (though my children deed justices them. You can tell how much they love cakes) but** the finished product was enough compensating**. Can you see that smile on my face? It is more that words can tell. Another point of call is on the board of the cake, I made it with grated coconut dyed with green colour to depict that the land is green just like he song of a Nigerian singer Ty Bello,Nigeria is fertile enough to attract investor

IMG_20211004_221100_484.JPG

Fast forward to this beautiful fondant cake where I put Nigeria up high for the world to see. This was at a period when the world could only see my country as an underdeveloped country full of negativity nobody was saying anything good about Nigeria even Nigerian could easyly deny their own mother land. even if positive things happens the news of it was not selling. So hivers, I got this inspiration to lift Nigeria up so high than the challenges. not that I am not seeing the challenges no, the fact is that if I focus too much on it, my vision will be dimed and I may loose hope of a better tomorrow. If we all (Nigerians) imbibe the mentality that the change begins with us, things will be a lot better.

IMG_20211004_222022_183.JPG

This years independence cake hmmmm, it a signal that there is hope, with all that is happening presently, we can only draw strength from keeping the flag flying. The cake is a vivid illustration that amidst the twist, admit situations that seems screwed up, the flag is still flying. Hope for some of us is not dead. The night maybe dark indeed, but morning will definitely come.

IMG-20211003-WA0004.jpg

Let me take out time to thanks you all for reading through my post. Please I am opened for correction and suggestion on how to grow on this platform. I have to appreciate my client beausese they help me think outside the box, they help me to be creative

Sort:  

Congratulations @kitchenandcraft! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.
You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

Nice picture and posts, but you need to edit a few typos on your post so non English speaking hiveans can easily translate.

A bit room for improvement on your formatting skills.

Well done. You ll definitely get better. We all do.

And great post. At least something beautiful about the green-white-green.

I appriciate this constructive criticism @jaydr will
Sure improve

The cakes are really nice. Great post.

Come to think of it, I have never experienced cake cutting during a burial ceremony. Although, to me, It is not a bad idea for someone who was aged and fulfilled, impacted many lives while he or she sojourned on earth.

I have never seen cake at a burial ceremony before as well and I think it’s something we should consider

Really, i think its not a bad idea @d1homid am glad you are looking in that direction. Thanks for stoping by