The Cashless Policy In Nigeria And My Tampered Lifestyle

in Speak Peacelast year

After reading the topic, I had planned to start writing by accusing the Government for everything regarding the cashless policy and the effects it had on the citizens but somehow that thought has left me now that I decided to start writing. Because thinking about the whole thing that happened ever since they declared the new currency to be our legal tender and it's scarcity, things have taken a different direction to what we knew as norm.

I want to blame someone for all that happened but then, what would that help? It has happened already, lessons learnt and we move.

Purple Illustrated Healthy Lifestyle Storyboard.jpg
Image was designed here

The one phrase I'll use to describe my life during the no cash policy period would be "Life on repeat". I was literally doing the same thing every single day except of course a few days where I decided to act like I didn't want to do some of the things I did the day before but still end up doing it at a different time on that same day 😂 I don't want to say someone had a remote on me controlling the way I lived through that period.

Well, I was lucky enough to have left school and gone back home before the policy began but what I didn't like about that period was the fact that I couldn't go out as I had planned to do when I got back from school. You wouldn't believe it that it was until two days ago I got to see my aunt and cousins after promising them that I'll see them last year when I returned from school.

I couldn't get cash to buy stuffs from sellers who preferred cash payment even when they are aware of what was going on, how could I find cash to pay transport workers who obviously you can't do a transfer to. So I stayed at home all through the time of that cashless policy and I was hopeful that I'll add up somehow 🥲 well, that didn't come true but it's fine.

Was there any positive improvement in my spending?

A lot of improvements, I could actually give a rundown of how much I spent during that time because I rarely did since I had no access to cash and I was always at home. Well, dad did most of the hustling to get cash in the house so I never got to use mine... That should explain why my spending habit improved 😂 I couldn't buy stuffs as I liked anymore, no more favourite drinks, snacks or even meal. I just ate whatever I find back then.

But it helped me save my money but not so much as I can't give a calculation of the amount I've spent on data staying at home. When I'm not working, I'm browsing on my phone spending data on anything I could to get entertainment at home. Truth is, I never got tired of living on that repeat but I wanted the no cash policy to end as early as it could for those hustling for their family like my dad, it wasn't easy for him I must say.

One thing I'm very sure of about that period that passed is that it taught me and many others how to manage what we could get, a lot of persons practiced budget including the very rich ones. It actually made me happy to know that the policy didn't affect only the poor class, it was for everyone so long one was a citizen.

It has ended and cash flow is back on even though not fully yet because banks are still frustrating as ever 😏 but we could see the light from where we are now. An evidence? I'm out of our house, I altered my tampered lifestyle lol.

This is my entry to the Hive-naija weekly prompt and I'd love to invite @princessbusayo @nkemakonam89 @balikis95 and @moremoney28 to participate as well, tell us how the no cash policy affected you.

20230102_181802_0000.jpg

Sort:  

Adapting with changing conditions are necessary and it seems hard to change spending habits until you realize that you don't really need to buy a special drink or snack. Years ago my job changed and I was starting again from reduced work so my spending pattern had to cut corners too.
❤️‍

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, I'm glad you can relate to it... Situations happen and some habits just go on break or extinct haha.
Thanks for stopping by ❤️

Firstly, I need to know why my name wasn't the first one mentioned.

Secondly, I need to clarify why you didn't add weight. It is simple. You have a very bad character and bad people like us are cursed to be forever slim. Nothing can help.

On the Scarcity stuff though, let's see what I can come up with cos mehn... The shit was frustrating.

Sorry ma, I will mention you first next time 😂

Oh really? And I'm not planning to become good o
So I'll never add up then 🥲🤣

I'll be looking forward to your frustrating entry 😂

Better do to save yourself the stress of explaining.

That's why I am so proud of you. You always put a smile on my face no doubt.

Awwwnnn. That's a very nice statement. I feel teary already. Oh, dearest Mer🤗🤗

😂😂😂
Crazy girl

Agreed. 😝😝

Merittttttttt....lol
So you were at home during the cash policy palava consuming too much food and making every effort to add up? Hahaha 😂😂😂
Wahala be like wetin again oo 😂

Don't worry, you will add up once you born one child...that is sure and will be natural

Babe, we still dey suffer cashless palava here oo 😂

Our car is bad, and hubby could not go to work two days ago because there was no cash

Here in Lagos, u can get just 2k per day after long hours of queuing

Thanks for the invite

Lol Ehen na
As I didn't see money to go anywhere, na to relax and chop.

Haha make I go marry sharp sharp, I want to add up oooo 😂😂

Yeah, a lot of places are still facing the difficulties 🥲 but like I said, we are seeing the light from where we are in the tunnel hopefully.

You're welcome, looking forward to your entry

I am actually looking forward that day will come we will be having cashless transactions. Yes, the idea sounds good for me but I think this really need a preparations.

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPMueqG8xjuXi5Wk17fV97L3uXBpXU3jfzLwyDwkaqHAxjvbGtfcTVJnEJVDG1XsGTHLduAmBefQSmDJwq5JupBgSZagoNHGN73U8gmxQGeZ.gif

A lot of preparations my dear, it isn't something to adopt too rashly like they have made us do because of election.

Yeah, not that instant as not everyone could adapt with cashless transactions..
What about our oldies? 😬

That's even the most bothersome in all this 🤦‍♀️

Omo. This cashless policy thing affected the lives of so many people. The hunger that swept the land wasn't here. But I'm happy it's over because I can assure it wasn't the best of times for me at all.

Chai! See my fellow junk loving friend. It must have been trying for you.😂🥺 But anyways, things are better for us now to eat what we want ba?

Haha funny girl
So you love junks too, it's not healthy o 🤧

When you stop, I'll stop.😂🤝🏾

Ahhh that means we won't stop 🤧🥲

I am among the "many others" that the cashless policy taught how to live on a budget.

There were certain days I'd just sit at home and when I see one of my brother's friends looking so tired I'm like "you went to look for cash" and their like " I trekked from Canada to sokoto, before I could get cash" . I would just rest because that trekking thing is not for me.

In a way, it was a good thing. Afterall, were supposed to see positivity in all negative things.🌝

Lol funny girl
Even I thought the trekking stress was not for me, after all I enjoyed staying at home 🤧

Yes o, the positive only 🥲

😅😅

See you around lovely ✨

It's funny how this made you spend less, someone was telling me it made them spend more because they kept using mobile transfer for everything, before they knew it, account was empty.

Haha that's true for my dad too
He saved me from spending too much

Overall, I think the cashless policy did you well🙂

So at least when school stress start. Don't complain, cuz u have enjoyed all the enjoyment you should be enjoying 🙃

Haha I recently graduated from school actually 😂
Enjoyment continue I guess

Sebi me I no dey among now, this is 1-1 oh

Lol 1-1 for what?

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 148 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
11


Hey @merit.ahama, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @merit.ahama! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 20500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 21000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
The Hive Gamification Proposal

My life was also on repeat! Totally on repeat but omoh, I still had to ignore a lot. And it wasn't easy. You're right. Who blaming epp? And if we are being honest, Nigerian POS people and the citizens with banking jobs have made our lives hell... 🤧