ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST: REMEMBERING THE FALLEN HEROES

in Speak Peace3 years ago

Today makes it one year since the #EndSars protests rocked Nigeria. Youths came out in droves to say no to the constant harassment they were being subjected to by the SPECIAL ANTI-ROBBERY SQUAD(SARS) and the Nigerian police force at large.

ima (1).jpeg
Image source

It’s quite unfortunate that what started out as a peaceful protest was hijacked by some unscrupulous elements and before we could say Jack Robinson, it became a massacre where innocent youths were murdered for demanding for their basic human right.

Despite all that happened, it’s saddening to see that nothing has really changed. Yes, there have introduced new “reforms”, but at the end of the day, “it’s still the same sad story, just another chapter”.

In honor of those who died as a result of the ENDSARS protest, I have written a poem which I titled “ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST”.

ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST

One shot to the head. Dead!
Killed by a man whose heart is as his uniform.
All because of an apple and a tangled hair.
I didn’t know this “friend” was one I ought to have run from.

I am a youth, they call me the future.
A future that will never come. Not anymore.
I had dreams things to hope for.
They cease to exist, now and forever more.

I was the pride of my father, my mother’s joy.
Their ticket out of misery, a hope for a better day.
This isn’t the end of my story, for tomorrow, I die again.

0001-10413085348_20211020_152521_0000.png

May the souls of those who lost their lives to the ENDSARS protests rest in peace, and may their efforts never be in vain.

Sort:  

Congratulations @monioluwa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

A very powerful piece... May their gentle souls rest in peace
We the youths will still stand strong and never lose our voice for freedom.
Thanks for this man