A Day in my life: Everyday is a Hustling Day

in Speak Peace4 years ago (edited)

Greetings wonderful people of 9ja! I'm glad I didn't miss this edition like I missed last edition of the writing initiative. Just like I've stated on my title, my regular days are all about hustling.


IMG_20200124_153049.jpg

Just for the records, a little about me and where I reside. My name is Ndianabasi Tom and I live in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria. I'm excited to share with us what my regular day looks like in the city of Uyo, Akwa Ibom State.


Our regular days differ in that we are all involved in different things so, I don't expect mine to look like yours.


Early Morning Hours
I wake up as early as 5am in the morning and then I have a moment of offering thanksgiving prayers to God on behalf of myself, family and friends as well as committing my plans for the new day to God. When brightness must have taken over the day, I then go into doing my morning chores such as washing of plates, pots and other cooking utensils, sweeping of the floor and fetching of water.


Breakfast is ready - Beans, egg, fish


Since we do have a poultry farm, I then go into the pen to feed the chickens with both food and water. Having completed all these chores, I do well to take a shower, eat my breakfast and I'm set to out for hustle. Breakfast could either be; Tea and Bread, Bean Cake and Pap, or garri and soup. I'm not an ajebutter Sha.


Poultry Pen

Next thing to do is to hit the road and board a cab or tricycle (commonly called Keke Napep here) that will take me to the work place since my residential home is quite distant from the office location. On reaching the office, things are set in place and the hustling mode is properly activated.

IMG_20200124_153329.jpg
Walking on the Streets of Uyo


IMG_20200124_153711.jpg

IMG_20200124_153730.jpg
Photo of taxi and cabs in Uyo


Work Begins
By 9am, I must have reached the office to begin work. I work at the Gracefield Creative Resources owned by @Uyobong and like earlier stated, we are into research writing, data analysis, crypto consultancy, computer and internet services plus I am a full time Hivian. So, I am mostly on my laptop doing my jobs except in cases that demand me going elsewhere to do a particular work like direct image printing, book binding, flex printing etc. I get to meet many persons everyday and also make new friends as well being that customers come everyday.


IMG_20200124_155009.jpg

IMG_20200124_155740.jpg
Finished Work


Deep into the afternoon, lunch is being taken to regain more energy to continue working. Meals I take this period could be either Afang Soup, Melon Soup, Atama Soup, Vegetable Soup, White Soup, or Okro Soup with garri or foo foo. These are our local delicacies and there are very delicious and healthy meals.


lunch.png
Lunch is Served - Melon Soup


Evening Hours

00000PORTRAIT_00000_BURST20200809145346615.jpg

These are the hours between 4pm and 6pm. By now, I must have closed from the office for the day and I will be heading home to either attend church services, music concerts, play football or watch the English Premier League, Serie A, Bundesliga, La Liga etc depending on a particular day. Mostly, music concerts are organized on Fridays while the football games are usually on weekends.


IMG_20200124_155151.jpg


However, I try to my make my day interesting and fun-filled by doing either of the above. Remember all work and no play makes jack a dull boy. Sometimes in the evening, I take a stroll with friends and maybe sit out to just chill and gist on how our days were like. It is usually exciting and fun. Some days too, I visit friends and other extended families.


Evening Strolls

00100sPORTRAIT_00100_BURST20200705181045899_COVER.jpg


Night Phase
By 9pm, I must have ended all activities of the day and I will be back home with my family. Dinner too must have been ready and is being served as well. Meals taken as dinner include; Rice and Beans, Porridge Yam, Fried rice, Jollof rice, Coconut rice etc. Having done that, I head to bedroom, pray and thank God for life, watch some TV Series, make some phone calls and eventually fall asleep.


IMG_20200126_143416_9.jpg
Dinner is Served


And that's how my regular days do look like in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State.

Sort:  

Hello @tomlee, this is such creative recycling. This sure helps keep our environment cleaner and less junked up. Thank you for sharing, I am sure many have learned from it.

By the way, I am @lafeedekalarka and I've chosen this post for 100% curation in Hive Cross Culture's curation project.
• You will receive a percentage of the rewards from our curation post.
• And this post would be featured in our next weekly digest article.

Hive Cross culture is a community for a conversation about culture. This can be national, local, community, or personal culture, subculture, or your ideas about culture, language posts, etc. We also invite and support bilingual posts, and are searching for ways to support and grow the local communities on Hive. Come join us in our discord chat if you are interested!

Thank you for coming around. I appreciate

Sometimes it’s nice just to see someone’s daily routine on here because I’ve never been to a lot of places and even in one city there are many lifestyles we don’t see.

Thanks for showing the the food. There is one Bar in Tokyo run by a Nigerian man, he makes excellent Tilapia in some kind of red sauce, and Dodo!

I'm glad you enjoyed the read and I hope you love the Tilapia fish as well..